9/12 Lando AMPS 141 ; +1 147; +2.5 124 ; +4.5 99; +5.5 120

Did he eat a little? If not, see if you can get him to?
He ate a bit ( not as interested this am) maybe a tablespoon of low carb and 5 pure bites chicken?
Fed him right after the test

VRiGipHj68qBMR3NA
 
Last edited:
Does he like the pure bites? Perfect as an after test treat.
Its the only thing motivating him to eat! Ha i have been using it as a meal coaxer. I just hope he doesnt get turned off of them any time soon ( if he feels yucky while eating a food, he will stop eating it [ i think thats what happened with the kd])
I have thrown out sooooo much food
 
He needs to adjust to normal numbers. Once you learn his patterns you will know when to feed and when it’s safe to leave. At the beginning it’s more intensive. It’s also giving the best chance to go into remission.

Your signature says pancreas issues. Was he diagnosed with pancreatitis? I ask because of that and the appetite issues. Max had chronic pancreatitis and I think that eventually caused the diabetes. In fact a pancreatitis board I am on is what made me check for sugar in his urine. I was thinking he was getting ckd.
 
He needs to adjust to normal numbers. Once you learn his patterns you will know when to feed and when it’s safe to leave. At the beginning it’s more intensive. It’s also giving the best chance to go into remission.

Your signature says pancreas issues. Was he diagnosed with pancreatitis? I ask because of that and the appetite issues. Max had chronic pancreatitis and I think that eventually caused the diabetes. In fact a pancreatitis board I am on is what made me check for sugar in his urine. I was thinking he was getting ckd.
Haha darn i didnt delete the sad sausage fast enough ;) yes lando was diagnosed with pancreatitis a year to two ago. I read a little of what you are talking about re: pancreas and diabetes being linked. Yes!
Re: my sad sausage moment. Understood about the “early days” and discovering the patterns in the bg behavior. Also, i shouldnt ask WHY?!? All i have to do is look at that KD and how quickly i took him off of it :coffee::banghead: . Soooo i should text in a text edit program before i unleash on everyone ;) i am about to test again in 30 m
 
He needs to adjust to normal numbers. Once you learn his patterns you will know when to feed and when it’s safe to leave. At the beginning it’s more intensive. It’s also giving the best chance to go into remission.

Your signature says pancreas issues. Was he diagnosed with pancreatitis? I ask because of that and the appetite issues. Max had chronic pancreatitis and I think that eventually caused the diabetes. In fact a pancreatitis board I am on is what made me check for sugar in his urine. I was thinking he was getting ckd.
Poor Max, it must stink to feel bad and not want to eat.
 
Max got ondansetron at the first sign of inappetence. So he ate well once I figured that out. Until I figured tge right dose for him he got cyproheptadine as an appetite stimulant. It works really well. I felt bad giving it twice daily at first because his ondansetron was too low though.
 
Max got ondansetron at the first sign of inappetence. So he ate well once I figured that out. Until I figured tge right dose for him he got cyproheptadine as an appetite stimulant. It works really well. I felt bad giving it twice daily at first because his ondansetron was too low though.
Good for Max :bighug:! Hmmm my vet never suggested anything other than b12 shots and sub q fluids for lando :( perhaps hes been in off and on pain this whole time? Ugh. I have a follow up check in in a few weeks scheduled. Maybe i mention ondanstertron ? Or is it a similar anti nausea like cerenia?
 
Good for Max :bighug:! Hmmm my vet never suggested anything other than b12 shots and sub q fluids for lando :( perhaps hes been in off and on pain this whole time? Ugh. I have a follow up check in in a few weeks scheduled. Maybe i mention ondanstertron ? Or is it a similar anti nausea like cerenia?

Ondansetron is a human RX nausea medication that works really well for cats. Cerenia works in a different way and often works best for vomiting. Max also got oral buprenorphine when he had a bad episode. Chronic pancreatitis comes and goes.
I think you can take a break from testing.
 
Haha darn i didnt delete the sad sausage fast enough ;) yes lando was diagnosed with pancreatitis a year to two ago. I read a little of what you are talking about re: pancreas and diabetes being linked. Yes!
Re: my sad sausage moment. Understood about the “early days” and discovering the patterns in the bg behavior. Also, i shouldnt ask WHY?!? All i have to do is look at that KD and how quickly i took him off of it :coffee::banghead: . Soooo i should text in a text edit program before i unleash on everyone ;) i am about to test again in 30 m
Once you hit send the message goes out to anyone who previously responded. It’s removed from the condo only when deleted but too late for those who already replied. I’ve corrected bad typos many times but they already have gone out.
 
Ondansetron is a human RX nausea medication that works really well for cats. Cerenia works in a different way and often works best for vomiting. Max also got oral buprenorphine when he had a bad episode.
I think you can take a break from testing.
Thanks for the info on rx and, again, for holding my hand. Lando will be so happy his poor ear can heal for a bit, and i will pretty much rinse repeat for tonight. I think i have a pretty good couple of runs to give me the tools to handle tonight.
I probably will token dose only if the numbers are below 140 tonight AND his appetite doesnt pep up.
thank you again!
 
Once you hit send the message goes out to anyone who previously responded. It’s removed from the condo only when deleted but too late for those who already replied. I’ve corrected bad typos many times but they already have gone out.
Well, keeping in mind before i throw another temper tantrum ;)
 
Back
Top