Rachel and Jasper
Member Since 2022
Jasper has really low bg it is 60. I gave high carb food I am currently stalling on his shot and not sure what to do.
Thank you. We haven't been in this situation and I was not sure if i should feed him but i did because I didn't want his numbers dropping any lower waiting fir a response.I'm no expert, so I'm mostly here for moral support.
I assume you're following SLGS? If you are, you wouldn't shoot with a PS that low. Keep testing every 15-20m to make sure that HC is doing its job and getting his numbers up out of the lime greens.
If you are doing TR, I'm not sure you can make a good call on shooting since you've already fed HC, so you won't be able to tell if his numbers were trending up, or if they're just being inflated by food. Either way, test often!
Here's the advice from the sticky: Obviously, since you're using an AT, the 50mg/dL is not your cutoff, so alter that to the AT value (68?).
- Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only. (If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
- Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
- Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
- Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
- Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
Thank you. We haven't been in this situation and I was not sure if i should feed him but i did because I didn't want his numbers dropping any lower waiting fir a response.
Should i feed him some low carb as well? He got a whole can of high carb wich is about the equivalent of his normal breakfast.Okay. I’m back. I know how scary it is to see lime green. Jasper has earned a reduction to 2.0 starting tonight since under 68 on a pet meter. Since you fed some hc I would skip the morning dose.
He seems to have flipped a switch and it’s now going to be important to get some later tests to catch the nadir. It’s very possible he was under 100 on the night of 9/8 and why there was a pink bg the next day. If you can’t set an alarm for later get a +11 or +11.5.
Next time you get a low preshot try feeding lc and testing again in 20-30 minutes as the bg will likely rise enough. There was nothing wrong with feeding hc though. You just want to see if he will rise with lc.
Good he’s on the way up feed. Little lc and test in an hour now. You will need to check a few more times but he will likely rise.
Have you got any tests after that 60? How low since that test and the HC meal?Should i feed him some low carb as well? He got a whole can of high carb wich is about the equivalent of his normal breakfast.
Checking now.Check his bg first.
He is at 143 now. It has been an hour since the AMPS of 60 and 40 minutes since he finished the can of high carb food.Check his bg first.
Now I understand that I could have been more methodical and will try to be next time. I just sorta freaked out.Check his bg first.
Did he rise to 80 and 92 without food?It went up to 80 20 minutes later and 92 after 15 more minutes. I was just about to test again in 5.
OK. You said it was 40 mins since he ate the HC, so I assumed you fed 20 mins after the first test of 60 which was an hour back.No those were both after food. I fed him immediately because I was scared.
Ok I just gave 2 units abd will test in an hour and give him 1 tsp of low carb food at that time.Yes, please do.
Good. Can you please take off the "help please" from your thread title. You can add it back later in you need help later in the day. ThanksOk I just gave 2 units abd will test in an hour and give him 1 tsp of low carb food at that time.
Good. Can you please take off the "help please" from your thread title. You can add it back later in you need help later in the day. Thanks
His AMPS would now be 181. You would record his numbers as "60 @12, 80@+12.25, 92 @+12.5, 143 @+13 and 181 @+13.5" in the AMPS box.
You stack all the numbers in the AMPS cell. Look at the AMPS cell on 9/4 of this SS:How can I add these to the spreadsheet? I wrote it all down but not sure how to add the .5 times to the spreadsheet?
Ok did i do that right?You stack all the numbers in the AMPS cell. Look at the AMPS cell on 9/4 of this SS:
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...VvU2aIJzuXEv1jJ7jbqRSCzbIFuW3_4aNeQyQ/pubhtml
Yes you did.Ok did i do that right?
I figured it out actually! It's the small wins at the moment.Yes you did.Just change the background colour of the cell to lime green. Do you know how to do that?
Yes you did. You're doing great!I figured it out actually! It's the small wins at the moment.
Just did his +1 and it was 218, also gave 1 tsp low carb food.Yes you did. You're doing great!
He might just bounce. I'm off to bed but if you need help later in the cycle, tag @tiffmaxeeJust did his +1 and it was 218, also gave 1 tsp low carb food.
It’s very possible unless he bounces.I figured ypu probably just weren't available, but i just started to worry about tonight. Is it likely his bg will be low again tonight? I guess now I have a better handle on how to deal with it if it is.
Ok and if he is low again. I just stall for 20 minutes and ask for help? Its gunna be pretty late tonight and I just wanted to be prepared incase no one is here to answer questions, I do feel I have a better grasp now if what to do but it seems it can also go differently every time.It’s very possible unless he bounces.
Are you about 45 minutes before pmps? If not joe long until pmps? I suspect he will be in the blues or higher. I will check back.