9/12 Jack's AMPS 141 Gave .5

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey Kevin,

Jack is looking good! Julie and Wendy are two of our best! They really helped me, and still help me, with Cobb.

The 141 isn't unexpected. Sometimes a cat can bounce when they see normal numbers because their body perceives those numbers as too low since it is now used to a higher BG. But if 141 is the bounce, that isn't all that bad. Cobb would sometimes drop into normal numbers and skyrocket into the 300s.

You did a great job during your baptism by fire last night!!

By the way, you made me laugh at your blue or pink Confirm decision. I thought the same thing. Cobb is a boy, but we have a pink meter because it's the only color they had when I went to buy it! :lol: Otherwise, I would have stuck with the blue meter since he's a boy. I really like the Confirm, and usually take advantage of the Buy 4, Get One free deal from ADW. It's always nice to have a stock of strips for those unexpected, and inconvenient, times when the cat decides to go too low on you. Cobb likes doing it on Sunday mornings and holidays. :roll:

Anyway, ask lots of questions. You'll learn everything you never knew you wanted to know about feline diabetes on here!

~Suzanne
 
Hope you got some sleep last night! Jack may very well drop back into green today and surf along. Just keep holding the dose and looking for a 68.

what is the carb value of the DM chow treats you're giving him, do you know? I think you might want to have some regular cat food with gravy - it's something you can control and we can be certain of the carb value. The best list of cat food with the carb content is on http://www.catinfo.org. IT's helpful to have a gravy food that has over 20% or so carbs. If you don't have any high carb cat food you can give a teaspoon of the regular low carb and add a drop of honey, karo syrup, maple syrup, or pancake syrup to the food.

I just want you to be prepared before you need it. When he goes below 68, you give him one teaspoon of gravy, or the tsp of low carb+drop of sugar syrup (above), post here and put something in your subject line that you need help. You're going to wait 20ish minutes and retest. Hopefully someone will see your "help" and guide you through it. It's certainly possible to do on your own, but it's easier with someone experienced guiding you.

DON'T PANIC! or HOW TO HANDLE LOW NUMBERS

First, try to not panic. Post to the Lantus Insulin Support Group or on the Health Board. Make sure your subject line indicates you are concerned about a possible hypo and/or add the 911 icon to the first post in your condo. People who are experienced in dealing with low numbers will be there to help. After posting, remember to refresh your browser periodically to see if people have replied.

It’s important to recognize that just because your cat may be experiencing low BG numbers doesn’t mean that your kitty is critically hypoglycemic. Many cats will have low numbers and never have symptoms. It’s important, though, to bring those numbers up into a safe range. ALWAYS make sure you have a stock of test strips, high carb (HC) canned food that contains gravy and is over 15% carb such as Fancy Feast grilled, marinated, or Gravy Lovers varieties (see Dr. Lisa's Cat Food Nutritional Composition List for a full list of options), and/or a simple sugar solution such as Karo/corn syrup, honey, maple syrup, etc.

If your cat is experiencing symptoms, especially if those symptoms are severe, you need to rub Karo syrup, honey, or maple syrup on the gums or, if symptoms are very severe, administer rectally and get your cat to the nearest 24-hour emergency facility. Take the bottle of syrup with you to administer on the way if necessary. (Note that it is rare that we see episodes of symptomatic hypoglycemia with Lantus and even rarer to see severe symptoms. But, you need to know what to do should they occur.)

The symptoms to be concerned about include but are not limited to:
staggering, uncoordinated movements, 'drunken' walk, wobbling, balance problems
ataxia - usually lack of muscular coordination, but maybe changes in head and neck movements
disorientation (yowling, walking in circles, etc.)
twitching
stupor
convulsions or seizures
coma
If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)

Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only.
(If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
DO NOT become complacent. If number have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out.

In the case of an accidental overdose or should there be symptoms of hypoglycemia, even if you have caught this in the early stages, you may need to monitor for literally 16 or more hours. Lantus and Levemir are long acting types of insulin. This means if your cat is over dose, you will need to stay alert for hours in order to closely monitor and to keep your cat safe.

Please post your numbers. Those people who are helping you will not abandon you. In fact, they are staying up with you. The experienced people will even work in shifts to make sure your cat is safe and you have the support you need. Remember to refresh your browser to see new posts and keep posting so we know all is well.

~ written by Sienne and Gabby

For Samantha, you want to be testing her every 3 hours during her first few days on Lantus. Don't assume that a higher preshot means that she can't go low - she can.
 
Hi Julie and Suzanne,

Very little sleep but enough to start the day with a big cup of coffee in hand.

Thank you for sharing the information about bouncing and for Samantha the testing schedule.

Looks like by his +5/95 that we will be still surfing in the green lagoon..atta boy Jack.

Going to Petco to see if the FD Chicken will be something Jack will eat.

Here is the information about the DM chows. How do I figure out the carb value?
Crude Protein (Min) 51.0%
Crude Fat (Min) 15.0%
Crude Fiber (Max) 3.0%
Moisture (Max) 12.0%
Vitamin A (Min) 18,000 IU/kg
Vitamin E (Min) 100 IU/kg
Carbohydrate* (Max) 18.0%

Thanks
 
i'm not sure if you can figure out by the package or not. are they dried and crunchy, like dry cat food? If so, they probably are high carb and you'd want to think hard about when to use them.

if he doesn't like the freeze dried meats (although lots of cats seem to love them), you can try simmering or baking chicken breasts. I cooked them for punkin, diced them in tiny 1/2" cubes, and gave him those for pokey treats, or in the second half of the cycle if he was starving. You can keep a couple tablespoons in the fridge and the rest in the freezer. That's pretty convenient and zero carbs.
 
Samantha's looking great - 160 today is super. As she gets more shots of the Lantus, we'll be able to see better how it's working in her, but for now, it's great.

Jack - one thought i'm having is that Jack's doing so well, but his preshots are the highest point in the cycle right now. That's typical. In a cat that's moving towards OTJ and showing signs of a sputtering pancreas, which Jack is, sometimes you can lower those preshots by giving one teaspoon (literally) of low carb cat food at +9 in both the am/pm cycles.

That little bite of food can be enough to stimulate the pancreas to put out a little bit of insulin, bringing down the preshot numbers 3 hours later. It's pretty cool and works very well. The goal of getting the cat into the 68-160AT range is that he can heal there, so bringing down the higher preshots is important if we can do it. I don't think i'd set an alarm for it, but a lot of people put out a timed feeder and set it to go off at 4am, or whatever the +9 is.

Samantha isn't to that phase yet, however, and i think you said they are together overnight. so it might not be possible. But when it is, it's worth trying. Good to make notes in your ss of what you're trying - that's very helpful.
 
Hi Kevin,

Hope you're having a great weekend! Sorry to reply to an older thread, but I didn't see a new one from you yet today. I was checking in on you, Jack, and Samantha and saw that Samantha fell below 50 last night (on the ReliOn meter). Per the TR protocol, that calls for a .25 unit reduction in dose.

Reducing the dose:

If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. See additional notes in the next paragraph about drops into the 20s and 30s. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

I just wanted to mention it in case you didn't know. :-D

Shelly
 
good catch on that shelly! i absolutely agree. You'll want to reduce her to 0.75u tonight, kevin. the fact that she's gone below 50 this early (ie, before the first week on Lantus is even done) before her Lantus depot has "filled" probably suggests that she may have other reductions coming. you'll want to be vigilant. she may not need insulin for too long.

by the way, can you pick one meter for a spreadsheet and stick with it? the number "flow" isn't "accurate" if you're switching between 2 different types of meters. If you want the other meter on there, maybe put a couple more columns to the right side of the comments and add the other meter's numbers over there. thanks!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top