DebG
Member Since 2016
yesterdays Condohttp://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...93-5-252-9-5-319-pmps-268-3-214-7-182.164764/
Well 7.5 it is!!!!
Sun & surf safely today kitties
Well 7.5 it is!!!!
Sun & surf safely today kitties





.Can I please ask for some brainstorming![]()
With giving him the higher doses can that cause his numbers to rise like this? What happens if I try going back down the dosing scale?
Darn I sure was hoping for better news. For tonight's dose do you think it would be ok to try a new pen?
Sounds like I need to put back on the patience pantsdesperate beans doing desperate things.
![]()





I'm not Jill but I'll offer an opinion. First, you are seeing NDW today. Put on the patience pants for the day. Second, you have followed the protocol, increasing in safe amounts and are testing plenty. It's very difficult to get over dosed when you do that. I have seen many a caregiver "reset" back to a lower dose and yet to see that work IF the caregiver had been increasing according to the protocol. Worst case I've seen ketones happen. Back when Neko's acro tumor stopped shrinking and started back up again, I even tried reducing myself. I lasted all of four cycles before biting the bullet and going up instead. Last year Neko started the year around 2 units dose and ended up going up to 7. Starting late July last year it was someone switched out the cat and I was chasing up the numbers. I know how frustrating it is. But if you've been increasing safely and te doing a good job testing, then you aren't missing the lows.Wow ! He sounds like Fritz, he has long time asthma , DX Feb 2016 FD and he's scheduled for a Cardo & Im apt. . I need to add he is 28lbs and going up the scale. He eats what a 14lb would eat. I make his raw food, rabbit, venison and quail all low in fat. Nothing seems to help.Someday I hope he will figure this out. He is a long term diabetic who missed months in the middle of not getting any treatment. This year he has battled pancreatitis, asthma, and heart disease. So I've been taking it slow with him.
and the beans, this FD has changed our livesIn almost every respect - Deb I really hope you get some answers and can turn this aroundthis FD has changed our lives


Wow ! He sounds like Fritz, he has long time asthma , DX Feb 2016 FD and he's scheduled for a Cardo & Im apt. . I need to add he is 28lbs and going up the scale. He eats what a 14lb would eat. I make his raw food, rabbit, venison and quail all low in fat. Nothing seems to help.
I'm sorry that you and Smokey have been battling so many things. Just one issue is hard enough. My heart aches for all our furbabies struggling
and the beans, this FD has changed our lives
. So I should just keep following protocol (that is proven).



.Marilyn thank you for steering me back to the roots of this FD! It just scares me to see Fritz when he was regulated and doing well at 4 units and now all the way up to 7.5. Iv'e heard a kitty needs what a kitty needs. It's not in my control....I trust the protocol. It has worked for us even when Polly was such an enigma to me. Easy? Nope. Frustrating? Yes. But as my mantra through all those tough months/year claimed: we would just keep plugging along. It's all we could do.
Please keep us apprised of the homemade cooked food - I keep toying with the idea but will wait until I hear how it goes for you, Paula
@Jill & Alex (GA) can you take a look at Fritz's SS to see if you think there is any indication of too much insulin causing the mystery?
I'm not seeing any indication of Fritz being over dose.Deb -I'm not Jill but I'll offer an opinion. First, you are seeing NDW today. Put on the patience pants for the day. Second, you have followed the protocol, increasing in safe amounts and are testing plenty. It's very difficult to get over dosed when you do that. I have seen many a caregiver "reset" back to a lower dose and yet to see that work IF the caregiver had been increasing according to the protocol. Worst case I've seen ketones happen. Back when Neko's acro tumor stopped shrinking and started back up again, I even tried reducing myself. I lasted all of four cycles before biting the bullet and going up instead. Last year Neko started the year around 2 units dose and ended up going up to 7. Starting late July last year it was someone switched out the cat and I was chasing up the numbers. I know how frustrating it is. But if you've been increasing safely and te doing a good job testing, then you aren't missing the lows.
No, as much as we try, we aren't in control... maddening, isn't it!It's not in my control....
I'm not a quitter!
Some cats need more insulin than others. All we can do is remain flexible by not becoming attached to a dose and give them whatever they need.


I've read that there can be false positives and false negatives for the IGF-1 test. It's not a perfect test. Newly diabetic acromegalic cats can test normal for IGF-1 (false negative). Maybe something to discuss with the IM vet when you see him/her. I'm glad you got an earlier appointment.I know you've tested for iaa and acro, so we know it's not those.
