9/12 (need dose advice) Copernicus AMPS=362 +6=222 PMPS=223 +2=193 +7=137 +11= 185

Looks like he's slowwwwly sliiiiiiding down from that 500 the other day. And that slow sliding pattern that he tends to follow is your friend, in terms of information about where his numbers are going. The drop to the 60s on p.m. 9/10 shouldn't have come as too much of a surprise since he was sliding down to that number all day. Your +2/+3 will probably give you a big hint about which direction he's taking.

Keep it steady and SAFE, Copernicus!
 
Looks like he's slowwwwly sliiiiiiding down from that 500 the other day. And that slow sliding pattern that he tends to follow is your friend, in terms of information about where his numbers are going. The drop to the 60s on p.m. 9/10 shouldn't have come as too much of a surprise since he was sliding down to that number all day. Your +2/+3 will probably give you a big hint about which direction he's taking.

Keep it steady and SAFE, Copernicus!
What could I have done about the sliding down the other day? Before it got to the 66.
 
What could I have done about the sliding down the other day? Before it got to the 66.
Here's the link to your last post: 9/10 Copernicus (NEED EYES PLEASE) AMPS=230 on AT: +4=127, +7=119 +10=131 PMPS=68/66

I'm going to preface this by saying that Copernicus is an acromegaly cat, a condition I know very little about. I defer to Wendy and the other experts on the board to weigh in on that condition and how to manage it. If it were Jude (who doesn't have acromegaly), I wouldn't have done anything because those numbers are normal for him--though the 60s are a bit lower for a preshot for Jude, I've shot him at that. But, I'm shooting 3.75 units, and you're shooting ~20 units, which is a big difference. When I see Jude breaking a bounce, especially at shot time, I test more frequently than normal and have the hc/mc ready to feed him in case that bounce combined with the insulin creates a dangerous downward momentum (which it can). Again, he doesn't have acromegaly, and maybe the decision for Copernicus would be different.

I'm not saying that you did anything wrong with Copernicus when you saw those lower numbers. He is a complicated cat with a lot of issues. I think I read that he was struggling with constipation and nausea that day?? So, you had that to contend with on top of everything else. Had his numbers continued to go down after the ~20 unit shot, you would not have been able to get food into him to boost him!

The only point I was trying to make is that he does tend to offer you some fairly predictable patterns, which can be a good thing.
 
Here's the link to your last post: 9/10 Copernicus (NEED EYES PLEASE) AMPS=230 on AT: +4=127, +7=119 +10=131 PMPS=68/66

I'm going to preface this by saying that Copernicus is an acromegaly cat, a condition I know very little about. I defer to Wendy and the other experts on the board to weigh in on that condition and how to manage it. If it were Jude (who doesn't have acromegaly), I wouldn't have done anything because those numbers are normal for him--though the 60s are a bit lower for a preshot for Jude, I've shot him at that. But, I'm shooting 3.75 units, and you're shooting ~20 units, which is a big difference. When I see Jude breaking a bounce, especially at shot time, I test more frequently than normal and have the hc/mc ready to feed him in case that bounce combined with the insulin creates a dangerous downward momentum (which it can). Again, he doesn't have acromegaly, and maybe the decision for Copernicus would be different.

I'm not saying that you did anything wrong with Copernicus when you saw those lower numbers. He is a complicated cat with a lot of issues. I think I read that he was struggling with constipation and nausea that day?? So, you had that to contend with on top of everything else. Had his numbers continued to go down after the ~20 unit shot, you would not have been able to get food into him to boost him!

The only point I was trying to make is that he does tend to offer you some fairly predictable patterns, which can be a good thing.
Thanks, I forgot to put my PP! Yeah, I'm not shooting a 66 on a pet meter.
 
And somebody is continuing to slowly slide down. It will be interesting to see where he ends up this cycle. What time zone are you on Krista? And what time is his AMPS?
 
I'm EST. It's 8pm. We shoot at 1am in 5 hours. I think 10pm for Wendy. I can get a +10, but I don't know why when I go to tag Wendy she doesn't come up.
 
Ok does she do acro dosing? Maybe it doesn't matter but I always get referred to Wendy.
Hopefully Wendy will weigh in with acro advice about "what if," prior to the AMPS, but, if not, Bhooma has often been a very good advisor to me and others on the board. Wendy is certainly our resident acro advisor, but just in case she isn't available, I'm just trying to get some resources lined up for you so that you're not alone in the middle of the night.
 
Hopefully Wendy will weigh in with acro advice about "what if," prior to the AMPS, but, if not, Bhooma has often been a very good advisor to me and others on the board. Wendy is certainly our resident acro advisor, but just in case she isn't available, I'm just trying to get some resources lined up for you so that you're not alone in the middle of the night.
Thank you
 
We used to shoot at 8am. We are only doing 1 am because we are walking back from me shooting his hypo late. One thought is if he is under 150, I could see if he comes up and shoot 18 hours instead of 12. Wendy said something about this in my previous post. But it's too soon to guess where he will be.
 
We shoot at 1am in 5 hours. I think 10pm for Wendy.
I am on PDT.
What could I have done about the sliding down the other day? Before it got to the 66.
Perhaps also gotten a +11 test, cause sometime between +10 and +12 he took a dive. If Neko was lower and still going down at +10, I'd give her a little bit higher carb food to see if I could prop her up. Ideally you want that to be 2 hours before the shot so you don't have an food influenced PS. But worst case you give it at +11 and delay PS by an hour.
But it's too soon to guess where he will be.
Exactly. 137 is a nice nadir if that's his lowest point.
One thought is if he is under 150, I could see if he comes up and shoot 18 hours instead of 12
If he's on his way up to 150, another option is to shoot if you can monitor. But I guess that will be middle of the night. You'd still have to try to get a +2 or +3 to see if he's going down. Lots of people with acros shoot low blues, even greens, but the first couple times you want to do it when you can monitor. The lovely thing about Lantus is that the lower number you shoot, the flatter the cycle. We call shooting a green a gift.
 
I am on PDT.

Perhaps also gotten a +11 test, cause sometime between +10 and +12 he took a dive. If Neko was lower and still going down at +10, I'd give her a little bit higher carb food to see if I could prop her up. Ideally you want that to be 2 hours before the shot so you don't have an food influenced PS. But worst case you give it at +11 and delay PS by an hour.

Exactly. 137 is a nice nadir if that's his lowest point.

If he's on his way up to 150, another option is to shoot if you can monitor. But I guess that will be middle of the night. You'd still have to try to get a +2 or +3 to see if he's going down. Lots of people with acros shoot low blues, even greens, but the first couple times you want to do it when you can monitor. The lovely thing about Lantus is that the lower number you shoot, the flatter the cycle. We call shooting a green a gift.
Hmm well green is uncharted territory. I'm sure I would eventually get comfortable to shooting green if he had a lot of them, but probably not yet. On 8/3, he went hypo after shooting a blue.
 
I am on PDT.

Perhaps also gotten a +11 test, cause sometime between +10 and +12 he took a dive. If Neko was lower and still going down at +10, I'd give her a little bit higher carb food to see if I could prop her up. Ideally you want that to be 2 hours before the shot so you don't have an food influenced PS. But worst case you give it at +11 and delay PS by an hour.

Exactly. 137 is a nice nadir if that's his lowest point.

If he's on his way up to 150, another option is to shoot if you can monitor. But I guess that will be middle of the night. You'd still have to try to get a +2 or +3 to see if he's going down. Lots of people with acros shoot low blues, even greens, but the first couple times you want to do it when you can monitor. The lovely thing about Lantus is that the lower number you shoot, the flatter the cycle. We call shooting a green a gift.
I fed him at 10 and his +11 is 165 on the AlphaTrak. It may be hard to monitor him middle of the night. I can plan to monitor, but I'm still sleep deprived from the other night. What's the alternative?
 
I can plan to monitor, but I'm still sleep deprived from the other night. What's the alternative?
When you normally get up in the morning, what + time would that be? Alternatives are delaying until he's high enough you feel like shooting, skipping, shooting a reduced dose - though the first part of that cycle could be active due to the depot or he could bounce, just shooting the full dose and getting a +2 and going from there. You also talked about getting back on your regular schedule with a longer time between shots.
On 8/3, he went hypo after shooting a blue.
On 8/2 PM, he had an almost solid blue cycle after shooting a blue.
 
When you normally get up in the morning, what + time would that be? Alternatives are delaying until he's high enough you feel like shooting, skipping, shooting a reduced dose - though the first part of that cycle could be active due to the depot or he could bounce, just shooting the full dose and getting a +2 and going from there. You also talked about getting back on your regular schedule with a longer time between shots.

On 8/2 PM, he had an almost solid blue cycle after shooting a blue.
Maybe a +7 in the a.m.
 
We did 20. I will try and stay up to test. I know you are here just for the cat advice, but I cannot keep doing this up at all hours of the night. I have to figure something else out.
 
You have several options given to you. You have to balance your health too. You have to take care of you to take care of Copernicus. He did get over yesterday's ugly numbers pretty quickly, in spite of the reduced and delayed dose. That does give you some flexibility. The hardest part of this journey is learning what works for your cat. Experiment and gather data.

Do you have an autofeeder for him that he will eat from? That helped me a lot.
 
I keep saying if I flare then I can't take care of him but it's like all I can do is focus on him. I stopped using the auto feeder because when it would go off he would jump off the bed or table instead of using his stairs and assistive devices we set up for him. That's one way he made his legs worse by jumping from high places. I know he's going to be in rough shape today. With those blues, he barely slept, he walked the full length of the house several times, and jumped up and down a lot because he was so hungry. He went to bed limping after all that.
 
So he rose to 250 at +3. I have always said he's super sensitive to carbs. Could this be just from a. Teaspoon of tiki cat silver instead of his no carb weruva low phos? Maybe pain?
 
Back
Top