9/12 Coco AMPS 173 +3 85 + 6 86 +11 135 Out of Remission?

Coco's Mum

Member Since 2020
Hi there,
So our Coco had been in remission since April 3rd and this week after she pee'd outside her litterbox I figured I had better do a spot check of her BG. She was at 317. We had no insulin (lantus) in the house so called the vet for more. Someone on the message board suggested checking for a UTI but the vet couldn't see her until tomorrow and they asked that I do a curve over the weekend (doing one today - full numbers on my spreadsheet). She'll go in tomorrow morning.

I'd love another set of eyes on her spreadsheet for the curve and her #'s since Thursday before I speak to the vet tomorrow. She's not been very supportive (when I asked her in February about 'no shoot' when her AMPS or PMPS number is low she said that I should regardless). I chose to start her at 1 unit and I know the vet will give me a hard time because her dose in February was 2 units. I think based on her numbers on her curve that's ok another opinion would be great.

Thanks!
 
Hi. It doesn’t look like you followed either of our dosing methods. We would have taken off insulin more gradually and would have gone down to .10 and then a drop dose. We find that leads to a strong remission.

Since you did the pmbg has she eaten? If not pick up the food until +3 or +4 and see if the bg comes down. I am puzzled. Above you wrote that you don’t have insulin but you dosed .50 and 1.0. She needs the same dose both cycles. The depot will take at least 6 cycles to build.
 
Hi there, I didn't have any insulin but was able to pick some up Friday night so that was her first dose since April 3rd. Should I still give her 1 unit even if she's at a no-shoot #? That's the reason I gave her a half dose as I was worried about her getting too low. Tonight she was at 7.9 (142) on a human meter. She ate at that time and I gave her the shot.

She doesn't have access to food except at feeding times so I can easily check her again at +3 or +4.
 
I would have waited to give insulin but if you do give it I would start very low, and give the same both cycles. I think 1.0 is too much. Are you going to follow one of our methods? If she has a uti or needs a dental it might explain the numbers. Why don’t you let her eat except at feeding times? I’d get a +1 and +2.
 
Ok that's very helpful, thanks. I'll go back and look at the two methods again. We can't allow any free feeding unfortunately because she's a little piglet and we're always fighting the battle of the bulge with her. Thanks again.
 
Do you have an auto feeder? Many of us find feeding about 3 small neals the first half of the cycle works well.
 
Back
Top