9/12 Cobb AMPS 87 +5.5 41 +9.5 45 +11.5 57 PMPS(+12.5) 62

Status
Not open for further replies.

Suzanne & Cobb(GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday

Hey Rusty, Great party at the lagoon man! You're making it hard for me to want to leave. I ventured out a bit last night, checked things out on the blue floor, but I got lonely without ya! So I figured I'd check back in this morning and see what you've got cookin' for today. Anything exciting on the agenda?

Cobb


Yep. Looks like Cobb is loving life in the lagoon! :-D

Happy Friday all!

~Suzanne
 
Re: 9/12 Cobb AMPS 87

Wow, Suzanne. Cobb's not the only one loving his life at the lagoon. The whole LL cheering section is loving this. You go, Cobb!!!!

Marilyn and Polly
 
Re: 9/12 Cobb AMPS 87

Yep. Looks like Cobb is loving life in the lagoon! :-D

Ummm....understatement of the day, I think! :lol: :mrgreen:

How's Matty doing? (Yes...I want Matty updates, too.)

Have a great day, Suzanne!
 
Re: 9/12 Cobb AMPS 87

Shelly & Jersey said:
How's Matty doing? (Yes...I want Matty updates, too.)

Matty updates?? I can always provide those! :smile:

Matty is doing really well! Both yesterday and today I dropped him off at daycare and he ran down the hall towards his classroom. He walked in, sat down at the table, no protest when I left. It's cool :sniff: whatever :sniff:

He almost has a full set of teeth. He has the final four poking through right now. I hope that's it so we can finally get into a good bedtime routine without pain!

I love how he's starting to really understand us. Not necessarily obeying, but he understands. :lol: Apparenty the sofa is a great piece of furniture to climb. We had one fall last week so he's a tad more careful now. But still climbing...
 
Re: 9/12 Cobb AMPS 87 +5.5 41 +6 43 +7 52

Too much partying in the lagoon, Cobb! You aren't that tall and are in TOO deep!

Matt fed Cobb 3 or 4 pieces of Evo Diabetic dry food at +6. Apparently we have no HC wet food in the house. That will be rectified on my way on in a few hours. I'll stop by and stock up. Apparently we need it...
 
Re: 9/12 Cobb AMPS 87 +5.5 41 +6 43 +7 52

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :cool:
Good catch Matt. Might want to get a half dozen or so cans of HC. :-D
You can always do karo, honey, or syrup on LC.
 
Re: 9/12 Cobb AMPS 87 +5.5 41 +6 43 +7 52

Uncharted territory for you, this lagoon thing, eh? But a lovely change! How nice that Matty is helping with Cobb. Can't train 'em too young.

Looks like Cobb is almost done with this dose. :mrgreen:

Awww, sorry Mama, but your baby is growing up! It's a good thing that he's happy to go to daycare - you wouldn't really want him to be screaming and crying for you as you leave, would you?

(Psst, Matty, maybe you should make a half-hearted attempt to keep Mama there - stop and look back a couple of times as you're running into daycare - make Mama feel like you'll miss her! ;-) )
 
Re: 9/12 Cobb AMPS 87 +5.5 41 +6 43 +7 52

It sure is amazing how much Cobb is loving the lev. I'm so happy for you two.
 
Re: 9/12 Cobb AMPS 87 +5.5 41 +6 43 +7 52 +9.5 45

Hmmm....

Matt found some prescription food that the vet gave us when Cobb was first diagnosed with diabetes. "Low carb" at 13% per Dr. Lisa's list. Really? Low carb?? But he's giving him a spoonful of that now to see if we can get this number up. Shot time is in 2.5 hours... nailbite_smile I dislike it when he is this low at shot time.
 
Re: 9/12 Cobb AMPS 87 +5.5 41 +6 43 +7 52 +9.5 45

From what I have read many cats nadir at shot time. I hope some lev users will come on to reassure you.
 
Re: 9/12 Cobb AMPS 87 +5.5 41 +6 43 +7 52 +9.5 45

Neko nadired at PS time today. It's quite common. If you are nervous about the depot, you can always shoot a reduced dose. Maybe somewhere between half and full dose tonight?

Acros can have working pancreas. I don't mess around with 'MC and go straight to HC.
 
Re: 9/12 Cobb AMPS 87 +5.5 41 +6 43 +7 52 +9.5 45

I don't want to do a reduced dose too much. I feel like it throws him off too much. I'm going to back it down to 21.5 tonight and see how he does on that.
 
Re: 9/12 Cobb AMPS 87 +5.5 41 +9.5 45 +11.5 57 PMPS(+12.5) 6

So I shaved a little bit off Cobb's dose tonight...he got 21.75u. I don't know if it's the Lev, the tumor waning, the IAA breaking...I wish I knew which it was!

Does an acrocat with IAA have a working pancreas?? I know no one can answer this question...but it's been tossing around in my head.

Is a cat with IAA always diabetic? Can an acrocat be insulin resistant without actually having diabetes? Here's why I think that's an important question to ask...if the cat has both acro AND diabetes, that means their pancreas isn't working properly, whereas a true acrocat does have a working pancreas, right? If Cobb is/was just diabetic, staying under 120 could mean his pancreas could heal and he'd be a diet controlled diabetic. Now if Cobb has both (acro and FD), would staying under 120 still allow his pancreas to heal and the FD part of the equation be addressed? Then say 10u of insulin goes to addressing the growth hormone output and 10u goes to addressing the FD, if the pancreas heals, then his insulin needs would drop, right?

I realize no one knows how much insulin goes to address which disease or how that works. My brain has been trying to compartmentalism the two disease and figure out if one can be eliminated with insulin while managing the second. (This is how my brain works, don't hate me!)

Does all of that make sense?

Again, I realize no one knows the answer to any of these questions. Just something I'm thinking about...
 
Re: 9/12 Cobb AMPS 87 +5.5 41 +9.5 45 +11.5 57 PMPS(+12.5) 6

Excellent questions Suzanne. An acrocat with IAA can have a working pancreas. I've seen cycles where it looks like Neko's pancreas is kicking in. Think of the IAA like an allergy to injected insulin - no rhyme nor reason why one cat or the other has that allergy and it's not related to a pancreas working or not. The extra IGF-1 created by the excess growth hormone output by the pituitary tumor competes with the bodies own natural insulin. It is possible that being in a state of glucose toxicity too long has tired out the beta cells to the point that FD is added to the mix. Such a cat could have a "tired" pancreas, including acrocats that do not have IAA.

I too struggle with the same question. How much should I keep Neko in healing numbers vs. just under renal threshold? What happens if she's spending lots of time in green and her pancreas kicks in? What's keeping her diabetic now? Is it FD like you describe or some remnant of the pituitary tumor still hard at work. For Cobb, you also have to be careful about what happens when the IAA breaks. It can be a wild ride. At one point we were doing two or more reductions a week.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top