9/12 Charms is back!! Need advice!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sam and Charms

Member Since 2013
Hi everyone! We missed all of you! We are back but under stress. Trying to hold down the fort here. My husbands injury became complicated, required surgery, so needless to say it has been crazy hectic here. He is going to need two more months of recovery!!! I may need some recovery of my own!
I reduced Charms dose to a "safe" amount in August, so I would not worry about him dropping low and not having my attention. I want to get him back on track , so I slowly raised the dose and had a wild night last night. I shot some low numbers ,even a 69 , while I was on my own but last night was scary. I updated Charms SS so please take a look and let me know what to do next.

I felt he earned a reduction after last nights 31, but because he is on such a high dose I reduced it by .5 . I hope that is all right. Let me know what you think and what I should be looking for . I shot the 85 this morning. Not sure if I was awake enough to make a good decision. But I knew I would be home all day. he is a little high. Is that a bounce from last nights low? I need a refresher!!!! I really want to get Charms into remission! Or at least get him to a normal amount of insulin. My large animal vet made a visit here in August, horses, dogs and cats all needed shots - she said I will never get Charms into remission! LETS PROVE HER WRONG!!!!!!!

PS Found a tiny kitten stuck in the wall of my barn! I have no idea where he came from. I trap and spay/neuter anything that even walks onto my property! So anyway he is awesome, cute adorable. A little skittish , but doing incredibly well. Purrs when I just look at him! Charms has a new brother. That makes an even dozen . I will have to update my signature! It has been so depressing here that I feel he is a gift! The only drawback was that Charms got into his kitten Chow!! Sneaky naughty Charms.

Here are yesterdays BG:
AMPS 158
+2 102
+4 52
+4.5 54
+5.5 59
+6 54
+7 57
+8 70
PMPS 122
+2 127
+3 82
+4 68
+5 67
+7.5 33/31
+7.75 44
+8 61
+8.5 101

Today I reduced the dose from 8.5 to 8
AMPS 85, +2 120, +4 163, +6 133, +7 177

I am glad to be back but, hope I can keep up with everything! - Sam
 
Hi Sam, I've missed you and Charms. :YMHUG: Charm's SS is looking pretty good lately. Great job shooting those low numbers. :-D Sending tons of healing vines for DH. Two months is gonna seem like a long time at the beginning.

Regarding the reduction, you did exactly the right thing by reducing by .5. Over 5 units, we suggest increases by .5 (unless just tweaking) and deductions the same. Especially with a number in the 30's. That screams reduction. You must be exhausted today. :shock: Good thing he is bouncing today, you could probably get a nap in now. With the slightly higher dose and matching depot, you might get a couple of active cycles yet. That is just the larger depot talking so stick to the 8 U dose. BTW, for larger doses, one technique that can be used to drain a depot is to do a reduced dose (maybe half) for one cycle, then start the new lower dose. You may not need that technique, but it's something to keep in your back pocket if you find you end up really having to work to keep Charms up after reductions.

Cool on the even dozen! Kittens can be so much fun and keep the other cats on their toes. How is Charms doing/feeling?
 
Welcome back Charms! We missed you and Sam, but understand completely that your mommabean Sam needed to take care of her DH.

Fantastic numbers, I remember when you had all those awful highs at the beginning of the switch to Lantus. But it looks like Charms is doing well now.
 
I think Wendy said it all.

I hope your DH is mending and everyone is settling in to the routine of having him at home recuperating. Congrats on the kitten.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top