9/12 Blackie pmps 94 +1 96 +2 76 +3 58 +4 46 +4.5 44

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ele & Blackie (GA)

Member Since 2009
Good Morning, LL
Blackie had some nice numbers last night and I was expecting a bounce this morning, but just look at that amps! I'm going to check at +1 and then hopefully give fluids then.
pmps 112
+1 118 LC
+2 85 2 tsp 16%
+3 56 19% gravy w/LC
+3.5 62 LC
+4 55 LC
+4.5 63
+5 78
+6 100 LC
amps 150

WCR: Blackie is feeling fine. After his shot last night, he hung out with me on the grass while I threw frisbee for the droolers. He also got some lap time last night between tests and he went outside this morning before breffis. He's eating well and most P's are in place.

Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=24686
 
Re: 9/12 Blackie amps 150 +1 141 +2 103

Hi Blackie, You've got some good numbers going, and nice slower drops than someone I know!! Have a good surf today.

Ella (& Stu)
Hey Blackie,
See you later at the OJT parties.
Stu
 
Re: 9/12 Blackie amps 150 +1 141 +2 103 +3 59

So much for slowing the drop. ohmygod_smile I fed LC w/19% gravy again and I'll check again in half hour.
 
Re: 9/12 Blackie amps 150 +1 141 +2 103 +3 59

Good Ol Blackie, keeping you on your toes! :mrgreen:

Hey Ele,
Would it be possible to get a test in before you give fluids (+1), and again around +2 or +3 for a few days? I see on your ss you do fluids at +1, but no tests. We dont really know if blackie is having any added response due to the fluids or just natural drops. I hate to see you keep putting off or skipping fluids. He needs them for a reason. I know its tricky. I ran into that problem at times, too. I think you will see much more influence if you do them all at once (100ml), rather than 50ml 2x/day and find yourself in the situation of needing to skip/delay more often.

I was thinking it would be great to give them around +10 or +11. But, it doesnt look like you are around during that time frame? So, first how about some before/after tests to see if it even matters when you give them. :-D
 
Re: 9/12 Blackie amps 150 +1 141 +2 103 +3 59

Kewl Blackie, You're coming to Stu's scuba lessons too! -- Tess

WAKE UP, Ele! The furballs are moving today! Nice numbers lately.
 
Re: 9/12 Blackie amps 150 +1 141 +2 103 +3 59 +3.5 55

Good idea, Caroline. I have been getting some +1's before fluids and +2's after, but I haven't been consistent. When I put a number in the same box with the fluids it means I did the check before the fluids. It is not possible for me to give fluids at +10 or +11. During the week I don't get home until about half hour before shot time and I would have to get up 1 or 2 hours earlier in the morning to do the +10 & +11. I absolutly do not like skipping the fluids. I know how much Blackie needs them and until these drops recently, I never skipped them. Thanks for the suggestions and for checking on us.
 
Re: 9/12 Blackie pmps 94 +1 96 +2 76

Once again I did not give fluids. But I did slightly decrease Blackie's dose to 4.5 units. I know these surfs are beautiful, but if they prevent me from giving fluids, they are not good for Blackie. I've been looking at the times that I gave fluids and did +1 & +2 checks and comparing to the same times when I didn't give fluids and I don't see a huge difference. But it does seem to make the drop a little steeper. With the pmps and +1 tonight I just didn't want to risk giving fluids. I will give them in the morning and will get the before and after tests.

So far I have only been feeding LC since pmps. I'll check again at +3 and see if I need to add some HC gravy.
 
Re: 9/12 Blackie pmps 94 +1 96 +2 76

What % carb is Blackie's usual food? You may want to think about using a LC food that's a bit higher in carbs on a regular basis to bump Blackie up early in the cycle when you need to offset both a sharp drop and the fluids. Another alternative may be to divide up Blackie's meals into 3 - 4 servings and feed at pre-shot, +1, +2, and +3.
 
Re: 9/12 Blackie pmps 94 +1 96 +2 76 +3 58

Thanks for the idea about using the food, Sienne. I've been thinking on the same lines. Blackie eats mostly 4% Wellness and I mix in a small amount of Merrick 5%. This is his LC. I thought about upping the carbs and lowering protein, as it may help a little with his kidneys, but I need to do more research.
 
Re: 9/12 Blackie pmps 94 +1 96 +2 76 +3 58 +4 46

I fed about 2 tsp LC with about 1.5 tsp 19% gravy at the +4. I'll stay up a while and see what's going on before I start setting alarms to go to bed.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top