9/11 Toby's PMS+505+3=366

Status
Not open for further replies.

Peg and Toby

Member Since 2014
Toby got a couple yellows last night we,ll see how it goes .Today he is calming down now. Out in his pen watching squirrels and birds. Wish us luck. Peg and Toby
 
Re: 9/11 Toby's AMS=361+3=253

Happy Happy!!!! Toby tested neg. for Ketones again to day. No blood in urine. Eating like a horse. We even got yellow at +3
a 253. Hope things go well today. Peg and Toby
 
Re: 9/11 Toby's AMS=361+3=253+6.5=89

Toby has dropped to 89 at 12.30 pm He is being tested with relion prime when should I start to worry . Should I test in 30 min.
to see if he is going lower? Should I start to give him any kero syrup? Peg and Toby
 
Re: 9/11 Toby's AMS=361+3=253+6.5=81=7.5=108

Toby's looking great today. :mrgreen: You need to worry if he gets below 50 on the Relion Prime or other human glucometer. That's when we use the high carb food or karo. It is often helpful to feed a tsp or two of low carb food when kitty first hits green in the cycle. That helps them surf. If you see an 80's (on Levemir) you might test an hour later. Test more frequently (1/2 hour) if you see a number below that. For Neko, I have enough data on how she is on Lev that I only test more frequently if she's lower than that, but you are still learning Toby's patterns.

Anything from 50-120 is in normal number range and helps heal the pancreas. Go Toby! :-D Fantastic news on the no ketones too. :cool:
 
Re: 9/11 Toby's AMS=361+3=253+6.5=81=7.5=108

Guess I kind of panicked. When i saw them low numbers. At +8 we are now at 279. I know he is feeling better because he helped me with the laundry today. Jumped into basket and would grab at the clothes as i tried to fold them. Hasn't done that in a while. Hope he keeps improving. Will be good to have my old Toby back. Peg and Toby
 
Re: 9/11 Toby's AMS=361+3=253+6.5=81=7.5=108

Guess I kind of panicked
Typical reaction - I know it well. :lol: It took us two months before our first green and I remember how worried I was the first times I saw it. Now I crave greens, but that comes with experience and you will get there with understanding Toby's cycles on Levemir.

It's been a while since Toby saw green, you might get a bit of a bounce today. Neko went black after her first green. :roll: But at least you know the this dose has potential and it'll be interesting to see how long it takes Toby to get over the bounce and where he goes after the bounce is over.

I love hearing stories of how the old behaviors start coming back. :-D
 
Re: 9/11 Toby's AMS=361+3=253+6.5=81=7.5=108

i suspect most all of us panicked with the first green numbers. Or if not at the first appearance of green, then when the cat first went below 50. I think i gave punkin about 1/2 can of high carb food the first time he went under 50. :mrgreen: sent him quickly back up into higher numbers. :lol: the thing with Feline Diabetes, is you almost always run into the same situation again, so you get to try it a second time.

Toby's been so used to higher numbers that it's not surprised that he only stuck his toe into the green zone and then immediately zoomed up from it. Don't worry - he'll come down again, but it may take up to 3 days for that to happen. I think i've already given you the link on bouncing, but if not, just say so and i'll get it for you.

Incredibly great to hear he doesn't have any ketones now and is feeling better. that's super! keep up what you're doing. It will likely take him a little while to get used to good numbers. Your goal is to try to help him stay under 120 for as long as possible when he first gets there. Wendy's suggestion of 2 tsp of low carb can help him stay in green numbers longer.

he'll get there! you're doing great, peg!
 
Re: 9/11 Toby's PMS+505

Guess Toby Did bounce. Figured he would bounce but, hoping not so high. He had a good day though. Does this mean the Ketones can come back? Am hoping this bounce doesn't last long. Do you hold food two hrs. before preshots . Like the other insulin? Peg and Toby
 
Re: 9/11 Toby's PMS+505

yes, it's best not to feed in the 2 hrs prior to the shot, unless there is a compelling reason to do so. If you do, then you need to be aware the preshot number has carbs influencing and raising it.

even with the high from the bounce, you want to hold the dose while the bounce clears.

i don't know what influence this has on the ketone situation. you should still be checking anyway.
 
Re: 9/11 Toby's PMS+505

THat is quite the bounce...but wahoo on negative ketones and eating like a horse!!! Hopefully the bounce will be cleared in short order. Have a great evening, guys!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top