9/11 Reuben PMPS 195

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 143 +1/171 +2/124 +2.5/110 +3/89

Good job, Alexa. Retest in 30.

Please be sure you go back and read posts as cross posting can result in you missing something :-D
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 143 +1/171 +2/124 +2.5/110 +3/89

Marje and Gracie said:
Good job, Alexa. Retest in 30.

Please be sure you go back and read posts as cross posting can result in you missing something :-D

Will test in 30. Re-reading thread right now :razz: Just google endoscopy etc.. glad you are feeling well Marge, and thank you for being here today! :YMHUG:

Melanie - Glad you think he sounds okay... and good idea on the bupe, thanks! .. and only LC today. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 143 +1/171 +2/124 +2.5/110 +3/89

Back again. You're doing great, Alexa :-D

Marje, I'm glad you're feeling better. When did you change your username to what we all call you anyway? :mrgreen: :lol:

Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 143 +1/171 +2/124 +2.5/110 +3/89

Feeling super....so happy to be here with you :-D :-D :-D

Good job on the LC. Standing by ;-)
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 143 +1/171 +2/124 +2.5/110 +3/89

Great numbers today! Another decrease maybe? Wouldn't that be exciting?

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 143 +1/171 +2/124 +2.5/110 +3/89

Marje and Gracie said:
Feeling super....so happy to be here with you :-D :-D :-D

Good job on the LC. Standing by ;-)

+3.5/91 :thumbup

Well, i think the bean needs their second breffis now, and more ~O) ~O)

This is verrrry mellow so far. Loving it. :razz:

Hi Jane! You all re-adjusted now?

You Ladies ROCK!
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 143 +1/171 +2/124 +2.5/110 +3/89

Well well would ya look at Reuben go?!?! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: I'm lovin that i logged on to see Reuben in blues and greens instead of HI. Keep up the good work Alexa and Reuben :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 143 +1/171 +2/124 +2.5/110 +3/89

MelanieAndRacci said:
Great numbers today! Another decrease maybe? Wouldn't that be exciting?

Melanie & Racci


Anything is possible! :razz: I`m just enjoying having an amazingly mellow, normal morning. I could get used to this!

I just wish Reuben wanted to snuggle..... :cry: I mean, don`t get me wrong, I am beyond happy that he is stable... this is enormous (ANTI-JINX!) but I kinda miss him.....

Patience Grasshopper.... :razz:

How is little Racci?
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 143 +1/171 +2/124 +2.5/110 +3/89 +3.5/9

Jane said:
When did you change your username to what we all call you anyway?
:lol: :lol: :lol: You are so observant!! I changed it this morning to keep from confusing newbies or making them spell out M-A-R-J-O-R-I-E when they are in a panic (not you, Alexa).
Hope you are untwisted, Janie Jane :YMHUG: !!

I'm loving this, Reuben!!! Nice surf so far!!!! Great job, Alexa.
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 143 +1/171 +2/124 +2.5/110 +3/89

Tracy & Leo said:
Well well would ya look at Reuben go?!?! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: I'm lovin that i logged on to see Reuben in blues and greens instead of HI. Keep up the good work Alexa and Reuben :mrgreen:

Hi Tracy!! You really helped him get here; thank you soooo much for sharing your information about FP with us! Thanks for the visit! :razz:
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 143 +1/171 +2/124 +2.5/110 +3/89

reuben'smom said:
Hi Jane! You all re-adjusted now?

Yes, at last! I was feeling all clickety! :mrgreen:

Marje and Gracie said:
Hope you are untwisted, Janie Jane :YMHUG: !!

Oh, I think it'd take more than a doctor to untwist me from my twisted baseline :lol: "Janie Jane" - I LOVE that :mrgreen:

Hugs
Janie Jane
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 143 +1/171 +2/124 +2.5/110 +3/89 +3.5/9

Marje and Gracie said:
I'm loving this, Reuben!!! Nice surf so far!!!! Great job, Alexa.

+4/98 Is it still a surf? I hope? And, I`m just the one poking his poor little ear... he`s the one doing all the work. Maybe that`s why he`s being still. He's concentrating. :razz:
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 143 +1/171 +2/124 +2.5/110 +3/89 +3.5/9

I'd give him an hour. Still surfing, yes. But not sure what he has up his little Reuben sleeve.

I'll check back in an hour, ok? Take a break. :-D
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 143 +1/171 +2/124 +2.5/110 +3/89 +3.5/9

Marje and Gracie said:
I'd give him an hour. Still surfing, yes. But not sure what he has up his little Reuben sleeve.

I'll check back in an hour, ok? Take a break. :-D


Wow, a whole hour! it`s like christmas morning.. what shall I do first?

Since I don`t need to feed him for a drop now - how the heck to I know when to feed him? Hahaha, kinda shows where we've been at! He has always been a free feeder, but I feel like we are seeing benefits from intentional feeding. Any advice? Thaaank you :razz:
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 143 +1/171 +2/124 +2.5/110 +3/89 +3.5/9

I've been lurking - nice job! Hope he keeps up the surf!

Marje - thanks for talking more about shooting green. I was confused about the second bounce too, and wondered if that is normal, or the Lantus just not acting as long as 12 hours for a particular cat? If no food is available after +10, could that contribute?

And the microwave story - hilarious! I'm glad I got a spare monitor. I had just planned to get a spare battery but figured I get the whole thing. Now I'm glad I did because I use a sock too!

Jane - excellent BOS graphic! You need to keep that one around for frequent use!
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 143 +1/171 +2/124 +2.5/110 +3/89 +3.5/9

He's at a very safe number right now. How do you feel about not feeding him to see what he'll do? He could drop because he hasn't hit his nadir yet....probably. If you don't feed him now, you might have to bring him up but it's also a good chance to see what he'll do on his own.

What do you think? If you want to do that and it makes you more comfortable, you can test him at +4.5.
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 143 +1/171 +2/124 +2.5/110 +3/89 +3.5/9

Hmm. I'd hold off food until you test again. Again - great chance to collect data in what he does with this kind of scenario. You know he responds well to carbs if he should need a bump. What do you think?
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 143 +1/171 +2/124 +2.5/110 +3/89 +3.5/9

Alexa, having him stable at such an early stage and in green and blue numbers is just so good and advanced, I don't think you realize how well you two are doing! Excellent! You should be very proud of yourselves. :-D

Racci seems better than yesterday but hard to tell. I'm going to wake her now for her test. She was high this morning, 160, but she also ate not that long before. Usually she's high when she doesn't feel good but I may have just raised it too much too. When you're shaving increases & decreases it's so hard to get the right amount! Racci is so sensitive at this dose! She also seems to be changing her nadir now too, confusing matters further. ohmygod_smile It would be nice if she would surf like Reuben is now. :lol:

Jane, I'm glad you're all unclicked! I didn't notice Marje's name change! I think I need an unclicking too. :razz: I'm all clicked up!!

Melanie and Racci
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 143 +1/171 +2/124 +2.5/110 +3/89 +3.5/9

Marje and Janie-Jane - I`m not worried at all about the BG numbers. I just feel badly because he seems/is hungry. I would love to see what we can do not feeding him. He wont`starve. Haha.. Maybe just a sip of tuna water wouldn`t affect bg, and make him happy?

Melanie - thanks for the perspective :razz :YMHUG:
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 143 +1/171 +2/124 +2.5/110 +3/89 +3.5/9

Wow, a whole hour! it`s like christmas morning.. what shall I do first?

"Best line of the day" nominee! :lol:

Looks like I missed all the fun, but I'll be here for 3 hours or so if anyone needs a break. Then I'll be digging up a turtle nest and counting eggs.

Carl
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 143 +1/171 +2/124 +2.5/110 +3/89 +3.5/9

+5/109 .......So glad I didn`t feed him!!


Hi Carl! I`m happy to see you, and you made me laugh really hard with the nomination! :lol: Turtle egg counting. Very, very cool :razz:
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 143 +1/171 +2/124 +3/89 +4/98 +5/109

Marje and Gracie said:
D-O-N'-T confused_cat

? :?: Âż


Sorry I fell asleep!


+6/123
+7/133

He must be really hungry by now, has not eaten since ,,,, hmmm,,, a loooong time ago!
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 143 +1/171 +2/124 +3/89 +4/98 +5/109

Reuben decided to keep heading up today and make +3 his nadir, huh? They all pull changes like that on us sometimes. Is it +6 yet now?

It is +5.5 for Racci now and she was last 42 so I've been busy with her and have to test again in a few minutes. I'm finally eating lunch. I guess it's her turn today. She must have been jealous of the attention. :razz: I'm glad both Marje and Jane were here so I didn't have to worry about splitting the time. That made it easy.

I'll be back to check on Reuben's progress.

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 143 +1/171 +2/124 +3/89 +4/98 +5/109

I think Marje was telling Reuben not to b-o-u-n-c-e...

He's coming up, but slow and easy, so it looks like a good day :smile:

Carl
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 143 +1/171 +2/124 +3/89 +4/98 +5/109

Just fed him 1T LC - we'll see what that looks like in an hour.

Carl - thanks! hahaa, cute.

Melanie - gosh, you`ve been busy! thanks for helping us out.

I will be gone from +8.5 to +10.5. I'll feed him before I go at +8.5. How many Tablespoons of food do you guys call a meal? We former free feeders dont know these things ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 143 +1/171 +2/124 +3/89 +4/98 +5/109

Melanie - yes it`s +7.5 right now. I posted the readings up above. I`m leaving in an hour. See above -Alexa
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 143 +1/171 +2/124 +3/89 +4/98 +5/109

When I fed Bob, a meal was a 3oz can of Fancy Feast. A snack (twice a day between meals) was 1/4 can of Friskees Pates which is almost half a can of FF. I never went as far as figuring out how many tea or table spoons that was though.

Carl
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 143 +1/171 +2/124 +3/89 +4/98 +5/109

I don't think of it in terms of amount of tablespoons equates to a meal. Gracie gets a certain amount of calories/day. Those are divided into four feedings for her curve AND she gets a snack of boiled chicken breast just to tide her over but not give her a lot of carbs. That's her cycle to cycle feeding. If she acts like she is absolutely starving, I might give her just a bit more food but that is rare that she is hungry unless her numbers are coming down fast.

So you need to figure out how much Reuben gets in a cycle and the best way to feed it. Sorry......the old trial and error. But keep in mind that any feeding at or after his nadir will slow down the effects of the insulin. That's why I give Gracie the boiled chicken breast....virtually no carbs so it doesn't affect her BG.
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 143 +1/171 +2/124 +3/89 +4/98 +5/109

Marje and Carl -

Thank you sooo much. His LC food is 1-2% carbs if I understand correctly, so hopefully we aren`t doing too much alteration of bg.

Marjorie, you say ''....divided into four feedings for her curve ...'' ; what is the division and why?

thaaaaaaank you :-)
- Alexa
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 143 +1/171 +2/124 +3/89 +4/98 +5/109

To tie in to what Marje said, I also was managing Bob's diet based on calories, and the cans/styles/flavors I fed added up to 250-275 calories a day for him. That put a couple of needed pounds back on him, and then kept him there (vet wanted him at 13.5 to 14.0 pounds). Today, he eats the same amounts and he's been within an ounce of two of 14 lbs for the past year.

Carl
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 143 +1/171 +2/124 +3/89 +4/98 +5/109

Hi Alexa, Looks like I missed most of a very exciting day for you and Reuben! His numbers look really good! :mrgreen: This is waaaay better than getting HI. :-D I kinda lost track, did you feel him only LC today? I hope Reuben is feeling better even if he is pretty quiet.
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 143 +1/171 +2/124 +3/89 +4/98 +5/109

Carl & Bob said:
To tie in to what Marje said, I also was managing Bob's diet based on calories, and the cans/styles/flavors I fed added up to 250-275 calories a day for him. That put a couple of needed pounds back on him, and then kept him there (vet wanted him at 13.5 to 14.0 pounds). Today, he eats the same amounts and he's been within an ounce of two of 14 lbs for the past year.

Carl

That`s great for us to know Carl, thank you. Yeah, I really need to keep Reuben`s weight up too; he`s gained some and is doing well, so I need to keep that going. Lisa Pierson who invented the food he eatssays she feeds 170 grams a day to her cats, so I just measured that out. It`s about a half a cup. I assume '170 grams a day' means every 24 hours... I was thinking of shaving a little off that 170 grams to leave room for testing treats too. Anyway, I'll leave a little out for him when i walk out the door in a few minutes.

See you guys when I get back. Keep an eye on Reuben for me :-)

-Alexa
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 143 +1/171 +2/124 +3/89 +4/98 +5/109

Alexa

Oopss....that is four feedings per cycle. Gracie is on levemir and she often nadirs really late .....like at PS. That is why you sometimes see me shooting 50s. And she also will get a second dip after her shot many times. So I feed her at PS, and then at +2 and +3 because if she's still coming down, it helps me with those numbers. If her cycle is a normal one where she then onsets at +4, I give the insulin a couple hours to work and then feed her the fourth meal at around +6....but that is a moveable meal depending on what her cycle is doing that day. If it looks like she might want to nadir later (+11 or +12), I'll give that meal at +8 or +9. I generally divide her allotted calories per cycle into four even portions. Again...It's just knowing her and recognizing when she might decide to nadir that cycle.

There are times (like last night) when she decides to really come down fast so we may have to feed a little extra to manage those low numbers.
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 143 +1/171 +2/124 +3/89 +4/98 +5/109

Racci was also a free feeder all her life too, so it took us a long time to get into the swing of things and we are still working out the meals. She eats about 3 - 3 1/3oz cans a day which = the right amount of calories for her. It breaks down to about 1-2 tsp ea for roughly 4-5 meals and 2 larger meals about 3-4 tsp a day depending on how hungry she is I'm still not very exact about it and Racci is not a great eater so some days she eats well and others she doesn't want to eat so eats less. I'm feeding a diet based on less than she weighs hoping to get her weight down.

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 143 +3/89 +11/158

+11/158 :thumbup


Thank you Bob, Marje and Melanie for the great explanations of how you feed, I realllly appreciate it. My first reaction is:Whoa, I have no idea how to feed my cat!! So I suppose first, just knowing how much food he needs - and then giving some to him for the shot, and then at onset (or a little before if one knows when it will be?) and then 2 more times until a little before nadir (oh mysterious elusive delightful nadir how we love you) depending how he is reacting to the insulin - and then not again (ideally) until the next shot, sounds like a plan. Did I get the general idea? The testing treats are safe tuna and jocoqui/greek yoguort like Leslie gave Jasper.

Reuben was in disagreement with ear poking when i got home just now, rubbing my hand away, and then the blood dot off his ear away, with his little paw.... a.d.o.r.a.b.l.e.... a little hard to get a bg reading but hey, we managed!

Okay, time to ready to shooooooooooot again.

Hi Leslie - yeah! Looks like maybe he`s outgrowing getting HI? Great to see you as always!! Hope all is well at The Falls :-D

- Alexa
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 143 +3/89 +11/158

Yes, Alexa, you did get the general idea! A lot of it will come with experimentation, until you find the right combination, and as you learn when the onset and nadir are.
For me it was a little bit easier, because I used PZI, and I didn't have to consider a depot or dose carryover. Bob's nadir was fairly consistent between +5 and +6. And I also had the advantage of being able to adjust his dose "as needed". In some ways it was easier, but in other ways, not so much, because there really wasn't any protocol for me to follow.

Carl
 
This is how I see YOU and Reuben...

funny-pictures-kitten-has-a-good-roller-coaster-picture.jpg


Hope tonight is a little less stressful! Good night!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top