9/11 Reuben PMPS 195

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alexa and Reuben

Member Since 2012
9/10 Condo

Good Monring All,,,,,This is Exciting. Do I shoot??? Thaaaaaaaank Youuuuu!

9/10 RECAP

AMPS 173 ------2T 5:1/LC:HC

(+.75) 166 ------3/4t 7:1/LC:HC
(+1.5) 145 ------(cat safe) tuna testing treat
(+1.75) -------------1t LC
(+2) 100 ------- 2t LC
(+2.5) ------------.25t gravy (had to put it in his mouth-won`t eat)
(2.75) 52 ---------.25t gravy 1 drop honey in the mouth again. Spilled coffee on the meter right after this test. It's not going! OMG!
(3.0) 46-----------2? drops honey with .75t food --- Took meter apart and dried w/blow dryer. I hope it's reading correctly
(3.25) 46------------hooooraaaaaaaaay no food, drinking water --- I think the meter is right -the number matches his behavior. fingers crossed.
(3.5) 53-------------oh YEAH baby! now i can have breakfast! --- not worrying about the meter so much now. no memory though, have to remember reading.
(3.75) 58------------okay, now just kinda surf buddy, okay? I didn`t give you Thaaaaat much banana split :-9
(4.5) 71-------------he`s sleeping. fingers crossed we level out here...
(5.5) 110-----------still sleeping - he now sleeps thru ear testing, just like people said he would back when I thought I would N_E_V_E_R be able to ear test
(5.45) -----------------0.1ml bupe. 7h45m since last dose. keeping up on it and overlapping by 15 min. he is relaxed. it's going well.
(6.5) 107--------------look at that. rise stops after bupe.... hmmmmm ///I let him free feed LC lunch (didn't see how much he ate)
Bean Fell Asleep and missed +7.5
(+8) 82---------------free fed LC lunch #2
(8.5) 92---------------don't know if that 82 was rising or falling, but the 92 makes me think maybe it was rising
(+9) 107--------------- tuna test treat. learning about food spikes. i think. not sure what yet, but! haha
(10) 156---------------gave .055ml bupe@+4 from last dose (0.10ml)
(11) 162
PMPS 192--------------He free fed LC dinner/jocoqui/labne for testing treat (lebanese thick cultured milk)
(+1) 174--------------5T tuna 'water' made from cat-safe tuna frappe'd in blender w)H20 (canned albacore from costco)
(+2) 176...............he does like his flat night time curves. the bean truly appreciates this. getting ready for bed :-) --- .05ml bupe
(+3) 135
(+4) 113
(+5) 104
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 88 STALLING -- DO I SHOOT???

Hi Alexa

How long have you stalled so far? Have you withheld food while stalling? (Would you have plenty of supplies, strips, etc. IF you were to shoot?)

Jane
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 88 STALLING -- DO I SHOOT???

Jane said:
Hi Alexa

How long have you stalled so far? Have you withheld food while stalling? (Would you have plenty of supplies, strips, etc. IF you were to shoot?)

Jane

Hi Jane - I have fed him, ohmygod_smile , his super LC breakfast (sorrrrryyyy) and I have supplies.

Alexa
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 88 STALLING -- DO I SHOOT???

How long have you stalled for, so far?

Normally when it's the *very first* green pre-shot, we suggest stalling and seeing what the cat does.
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 88 STALLING -- DO I SHOOT???

I would suggest stalling until (+12.5), so until you've waited 30 minutes. Then re-test BG, and post it. We'll take it from there, ok?

Have you re-read the Dealing with Low Pre-shots etc. sticky?

I won't be able to stay online for very long right now, and I see there aren't many folks online at the moment, so that's a factor too, in your decision making. Let's see where he is at (+12.5), though with the food he's had, it may be hard to tell whether it's a food spike or a safe rise...

Jane
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 88 STALLING -- DO I SHOOT???

Jane said:
How long have you stalled for, so far?

Normally when it's the *very first* green pre-shot, we suggest stalling and seeing what the cat does.


I have stalled 20 minutes so far. I think I need more strips, I only have 16 left. I`ll call the pharmacy right now and make sure I can have some delivered.

How often should I test him right now?

and WHOA, I wasn`t even awake yet! I think I need ~O) ~O) ~O) ~O) and breakfast, we need some bean strength for this!!

Thank you for being here right now Jane!

Alexa
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 88 STALLING -- DO I SHOOT???

You're welcome, Alexa. You saw my other post too, yes?

16 strips - yikes. When will you know if the pharmacy can deliver more, and by when could they deliver (if they can)?

If I can't find anyone to keep you company this cycle, you'd be on your own until someone else comes online...

Also: You did see my long post last night, right? I was wondering then, and still am now, why you did not reduce last night already?

Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 88 STALLING -- DO I SHOOT???

Good morning, Alexa!! I'm here for a little while and then I go off to work.

Could you put your +12.5 in your subject line when you get the test?
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 88 STALLING -- DO I SHOOT???

Jane said:
You're welcome, Alexa. You saw my other post too, yes?

16 strips - yikes. When will you know if the pharmacy can deliver more, and by when could they deliver (if they can)?

If I can't find anyone to keep you company this cycle, you'd be on your own until someone else comes online...

Also: You did see my long post last night, right? I was wondering then, and still am now, why you did not reduce last night already?

Hugs
Jane

Yes, I just read both posts. 2 boxes of strips will be here in maximum 1 hour.

I have read the sticky.

Yes I read your long post from last night, what specifically do I need to be reviewing from it?

Why didn`t I decrease last night? That's a really good question. I don`t know. Nervous. Confused. Not thinking clearly. I`m sorry ohmygod_smile

I'll test him now. It will be 45 since last test.
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 88 STALLING -- DO I SHOOT???

I would stay but I'm at work... does "a late dose acts like a reduction " factor into the equation?
carl
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 88 STALLING -- DO I SHOOT???

Yes, Carl, it does. At the moment, I'm looking to see if someone can keep Alexa company for longer than half an hour. I'm leaving the house in half an hour, so is Michelle, and Sienne is also leaving for work soon, and you are *at* work :mrgreen: We'll find a solution.

Alexa, thanks for replying. I just wanted to make sure you read the posts. Yes, I was asking because of the dose you shot last night (i.e. not the reduced one).

At this point, I'm leaning towards stainguntil (+13) - barring a significant rise at (+12.75) - and then shooting the rediced dose earned yesterday (2.0u), since the 1 hour stall will act as a "second" once-off redux. Sienne, Carl - thoughts on this? Keeping in mind Alexa would most likely be on her own for at least a few hours.

Alexa, your thoughts on this?

Hugs
Jane

EDITED TO ADD: Ah, I see Alexa has posted the (+12.75) and it's in the 130s... 40 points in 45 minutes, but then it's probably from the food, mostly...
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 88 STALLING +12.75/132

Argh, i just wrote a post and lost it.
Hi Sienne and Carl, :razz:
Jane, what are the reasons *not* to shoot? That I would be on my own?
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 88 STALLING +12.75/132

reuben'smom said:
Argh, i just wrote a post and lost it. Hi Sienne and Carl, :razz: Jane, what are the reasons *not* to shoot? That I would be on my own?

Yes, ALexa. If you are not comfortable shooting now (at, say, 1 hour stalled time), you can stall longer. You always have the *option* to skip, although to me that is not warranted now. It's your first green pre-shot, so it's a bit scary and no one can be sure what Reuben will do. But even so, I would suggest shooting the 2.0u at (+13). Let's see what the rest thinks.

Cons: You'd probably be alone. (I can check in after a couple of hours, but I'll be gone until then.) You may run out of strips if you can't get more, which really could be dangerous IF he did drop low.

Pros: No progress lost. Insulin shot last night wearing off means he'll rise a bit more before onset of new shot this morning, which helps with keeping him a bit safer. Gives you GREAT credit on the BOS-front. :lol: Gives you good data.

Would YOU be happy doing that, ALexa?
Jane
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 88 STALLING +12.75/132

I think it should be OK to shoot. If you're going to be feeding Reuben more of his breakfast (and if you weren't planning on it, it's a bonus for Reuben!) that will give his numbers a boost. In addition, you have a hour or two for onset. Reuben can drop early, so I would get a +1 test, or even a +0.5 test to see if numbers are dropping. It's OK to wait a little longer, too, and see if numbers continue to rise.

Remember, you're shooting 2.0u and your PMPS will be 12-hours from whatever time you shoot this morning.
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 88 STALLING +12.75/132

I agree with your logic, jane, but I'm still a lantus newbie.
carl
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 88 STALLING +12.75/132

Sorryy, I lost connection --

The strips arrived. We have strips and BOS.

I'm shooting now.

BRB
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 88 STALLING +12.75/132

reuben'smom said:
Sorryy, I lost connection -- The strips arrived. We have strips and BOS. I'm shooting now. BRB

We're in sync, Alexa! My internet chucked me out too, just now! Here's a little congratulatory image:

griffins_balls_of_steel.jpg


Let me see if I can reschedule my appointment, ok? I'm on the phone with my chiro now.
Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 88 STALLING +12.75/132

Done. I didn't retest bg before the shot. was I supposed to?

So now my header should read

9/11 Reuben AMPS 132

Correct?
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 88 STALLING +12.75/132

Yes re-test would have been good. Do it right now, k? Right now :mrgreen:

Header should read whatever the "pre-"shot number is. We'll still call it pre-shot since it's 2 minutes post-shot only :lol:
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 132

Good morning gang,

I'll be on in about an hour or so for as long as you need me. I have to start getting ready for racci's meds and food now and then give them but we've already done the lb routine so it might take less time. At any rate, I can be here if Alexa needs me as soon as I finish with Racci's meds due in an hour and am here now. Let me know and I'll plan accordingly.

Hugs,
Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 88 STALLING +12.75/132

Jane said:
Yes re-test would have been good. Do it right now, k? Right now :mrgreen:

Header should read whatever the "pre-"shot number is. We'll still call it pre-shot since it's 2 minutes post-shot only :lol:


Opsss, okay, done.

If you can`t reschedule your app't (and thank you, that is so sweeet!) I really think we`re okay, so don`t worry alrright?
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 132

MelanieAndRacci said:
Good morning gang,

I'll be on in about an hour or so for as long as you need me. I have to start getting ready for racci's meds and food now and then give them but we've already done the lb routine so it might take less time. At any rate, I can be here if Alexa needs me as soon as I finish with Racci's meds due in an hour and am here now. Let me know and I'll plan accordingly.

Hugs,
Melanie & Racci


Thanks Melanie! scritches to Racci cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 143

Ladies, I sweet-talked my chiro into seeing me an hour later. Pretty useful to be good with words. Ok, and flattery. :mrgreen:

Alexa, I'll be here until Melanie can take over for a bit, ok? THANKS, Melanie!!

Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 143

Hi guys .. wow, no advice from me but how exciting! Congrats on shooting such an awesome number .. fingers crossed this leads into a nice sweet surf for you guys! have a great day!
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 143

Alexa

Sienne asked me to check in and let you know I'm around to help you out if you need it. I'm going to read through your condo. You are getting at +1, correct? I'll be looking for it :-D
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 143

Jane said:
Ladies, I sweet-talked my chiro into seeing me an hour later. Pretty useful to be good with words. Ok, and flattery. :mrgreen:

Alexa, I'll be here until Melanie can take over for a bit, ok? THANKS, Melanie!!

Hugs
Jane

:-D hahaa, thanks jane :-D


Devon - gonna give it our best shot! thanks for the support :YMHUG: -Alexa
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 143

Perfect Jane. :razz:

Great shooting, Alex. I'll see you in about an hour. Going to take care of my girl now, who's sitting at my feet staring at me as if to say ' come on already mom, it's time!' :lol:

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 143

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Alexa

Sienne asked me to check in and let you know I'm around to help you out if you need it. I'm going to read through your condo. You are getting at +1, correct? I'll be looking for it :-D


Great Marje - So glad you`re here! Yes, the +1 is coming up in a few minutes. The shooting technique you described the other night is really helping :razz: thank you!

Melanie - see you in a bit!
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 143

Alexa

Liz, Melanie, and Jane made a lot of good points in yesterday's condo and, at the risk of being terribly repetitive, I'd just like to summarize:

1. The goal is remission for Reuben and you need to keep him safe. If he earns a reduction, you should give it to him the very next cycle unless he skyrockets into pink by PS. Then you could shoot through the bounce once and give the reduction the next cycle.

2. Let him earn his reductions by not overcarbing him to keep him above 50 artificially. That is different from keeping him safe. When Reuben's toes dip into green on a cycle, feed him two good tsps of LC, retest in 30, and if he hasn't slowed, do it again. The goal is to get him to surf the 50s on his regular food. If he doesn't, and he dips below 50, bring him up, and reduce his dose. I think you did a great job yesterday. I could tell you were thinking it through...very nice!

3. I don't get too wrapped up in Gracie's nadir...ever. It moves a lot. Especially as her dose comes down. I know, as a new member, that I was focused on nadir because it let me know when she might start coming up. But kitties can wobble and if you let up too soon because you think they are past nadir, you could miss a low number. when we look at your SS, we are looking at waves of action over the last several cycles. Anything more than a couple weeks at most is past history so we focus on the cycles as waves of action...not just one cycle alone.

4. Reuben is leading the dance :-D

Looking for your +1 shortly....if you shot a food spike, he could come down. Remember next time...no food between +10 and +12 (unless he is in the 30s) and no food while stalling. If he's in the 40s, you don't feed, retest in 15, and post for help.
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 143 +1/171

Nice +1.....maybe a food spike so how about a +2? See you in an hour. Grab some ~O) ~O) ~O)

BTW...I had to laugh about the meter in the coffee because it reminded me when we were new and I had had an all nighter with Gracie. Ni got up for her AMPS and was so bleary eyed that instead of putting her rice sock in the microwave to warm it...I put her meter :shock: :shock: not pretty. I was standing with my nose against the door when CVS opened at 7 so I could get a new meter....and I was only 15 mins late for her shot :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 143 +1/171

:lol: I love that story, Marje!

Alexa, and Ladies - I'm off to get my bones reshuffled :mrgreen: I'll check in later when I'm back. Good luck, Alexa! Hope Reuben is a good boy for you!

Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 143 +1/171

Okay Jane, thanks for everything, see you later!

Rhiannon - Thank you! :YMHUG:

Marge - Thank you for the comments, I appreciate it so much. You answered big questions I had, and I feel much more confident now. And I loved your meter story! Yeah, after that I`m going to buy a back up meter and batteries now for Sure!

See you at +2 :razz:
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 143 +1/171

Alexa,

Wow, Wow, Wow! Reuben is really coming along nicely!!! You are such a great bean!

Marjorie wrote:
BTW...I had to laugh about the meter in the coffee because it reminded me when we were new and I had had an all nighter with Gracie. Ni got up for her AMPS and was so bleary eyed that instead of putting her rice sock in the microwave to warm it...I put her meter not pretty.

OMG!
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 143 +1/171

Hi Alexa, Jane, Marje!

I'm back. I just have to finish reading this condo and put Racci's up for the day, both things that will have me right here. :razz:

How are you feeling Marje?

Alex, how does Reuben feel today?

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 143 +1/171

How's the +2 looking?

Melanie...I'm great! Slept off all the anesthesia and I'm doing super...thank you for asking. :-D

Always a good idea to have a backup meter. I have two....besides our little Testaholics Anonymous, we also have Glucometer Addicts Anonymous :lol:

And Alexa...you are next on my list for shooting a safe green number on time :-D resistance is futile!
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 143 +1/171 +2/124

As I suspected. Ok..show time! He's going to keep you busy today.

I would get a +2.5 and see if you need to start slowing him down a bit. I'll be here so just post, ok?
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 143 +1/171 +2/124

+2/124

Hi Melanie - I wish I knew how Reuben feels. He is relaxed right now and is dozing in the spot where he has been for 2 days - on a blankety bed the bookshelf right next to my command central station on the couch. The location is convenient. :razz: But I have no idea why he does nothing except eat and sleep, and doesn`t move from this spot (except to use the LB). All the P's are in place (LB situation seems to be resolved, although the LB is still on the bed haha out of a desire not to upset his routine right now and possibly create a problem). He eats like a horse, purrs if I pet him a lot (purring does not come easy these days), and physically everything seems to be fine. Maybe this is just his way of dealing with being poked allll the time, and being kept inside. Sometimes he has felt angry about the poking, so i guess it`s possible... Anyway, we need to visit the vet. I need to not be worrying all the time about this, and to be able to fully enjoy what he`s doing with the bg's, kwim?

Sorry for the ramble!!

I haven`t refreshed the bupe since last night; maybe he won`t need any today- I'll just have to be vigilant for the pre-warning signs that he needs some.

Dale - Nice to see you! Thanks for support :razz:
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 143 +1/171 +2/124

Marjorie and Gracie said:
As I suspected. Ok..show time! He's going to keep you busy today.

I would get a +2.5 and see if you need to start slowing him down a bit. I'll be here so just post, ok?

Okay, testing in 5 min :razz:
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 143 +1/171

Marjorie and Gracie said:
How's the +2 looking?

Melanie...I'm great! Slept off all the anesthesia and I'm doing super...thank you for asking. :-D

Always a good idea to have a backup meter. I have two....besides our little Testaholics Anonymous, we also have Glucometer Addicts Anonymous :lol:

And Alexa...you are next on my list for shooting a safe green number on time :-D resistance is futile!

Marje - I`m sorry, what did you have anesthesia for? I`m glad you're doing well though!

Testaholics and glucometer Addicts... hahaaa I`m laughing so hard!

''next on my list for shooting a safe green number on time :-D resistance is futile!'' ....... this means I must shoot the next green number i get on time?
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 143 +1/171 +2/124

I hope he will perk up today and not be upset about not going outside.

I had my last test yesterday...endoscopy ...and the propofol made me groggy all day. But today ...perfect :-D

We like for you to gradually learn to shoot the full dose on time for any number above 50 if you will be home and are rested and if you have all the supplies. If your next green PS is 50, I will ask you to stall. But if your next green PS is what you got today, you could shoot it as long as you have not fed in the last two hours. and you should always have assistance the first time you shoot a green PS. So...there are a lot of conditions to shooting your first green number with current full dose on time. That is why I said "safe". :-D
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 143 +1/171 +2/124 +2.5/110

Good number but his rate of descent is about 25/hour currently. Will he be ok with a +3 to catch his onset?

On Dales question about shooting a dropping number. First, is it a true dropping number or a second dip? Because your last test last night was at +4, we don't know if he went lower. I think it is wise to not stop testing until you have two rising numbers so when Gracie was on lantus, I would sleep test until I had two rising numbers. That way I knew how low she got. Why is it important? Two reasons....one is to keep him safe. Second is so you know the nadir so you can figure out if the PS is dropping or a second dip.

A second dip is when kitty reaches his nadir, comes up, and then goes back down again at the end of the cycle. The dip will not be lower than the nadir. Second dips are safe to shoot as the kitty should then start to rise again. As Reuben did today.

A dropping number tends to occur when they are clearing a bounce and the BG just comes down all day to PS where it is the lowest. Shooting a dropping number can be a great way to take advantage of overlap if you know your cat and know how to deal with those numbers because he will likely continue to drop right up to onset of the next cycle. So shooting dropping numbers needs to be done with caution and assistance.

See the diff?
 
Re: 9/11 Reuben AMPS 143 +1/171 +2/124 +2.5/110

Hi Alexa,

Reuben sounds like he feels well today. I would not stop the bupe right away but instead, maybe go with more space in between doses again. I think you should stop it gradually so as not to cause a problem since it is habit forming and it has helped him so much.

I love that +2! I knew that 2u at the most was probably all he needed for good numbers. Marje is probably right and he will go into the green again. Alexa, you haven't given any hc today yet, have you?

I'm glad you're feeling okay Marje. I hate getting colonoscopies or endoscopies. Drinking that horrible stuff and not being able to eat or drink before or after for a period. Ugh!

Melanie & Racci
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top