9/11 Polly AMPS 220+11=266 PMPS=293 SRT done! Pix

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marilyn and Sheldon

Member Since 2014
yesterday

Recap 9/10

187 AMPS
120 +9
141 +10
118 +11
148 PMPS
194 +1
245 +2

Polly's stretched out beside me as I sit on the bed with the computer. She's tired. Last night her tiredness concerned me 'til I popped a frozen entree in the microwave. Huh, food? You got food. Hey, where you going with that? Can I have some? Then she followed me around the room begging. I'd get up, move. Miss SleepyEyes would be right at my heals. Tired, yes. But food trumps tired in Miss Polly's world.

Amazingly resilient little girl, this PollyDoodle.

Met with IM for final consult before leaving CSU with Polly late this afternoon. Took away a report, from diagnosis through exams, radiation, and other stuff I can't remember now. I just know that the report answered all of the questions I had written down so I'd remember to ask them. Dr. Fitzpatrick was very thorough and detailed. (Polly has some organomegaly (kidneys), broad facial features...no surprises, there)

They found an enlarged thyroid during the CT but her T-4 levels are fine. Just advised to check thyroid regularly as I have always done. Also found a grade 1 heart murmur during the echo. Again nothing of much concern, just something to keep an eye on.

Fred, the super sweet student who was pretty much a go-for, shadow with Dr. Fitzpatrick, brought Polly to me; I looked in her carrier and she was all dressed up to go home:



"Hug me. I had radiation therapy at Colorado State University."

I asked for a larger bandana, one that said "Hug me. My cat had radiation therapy at Colorado State University." They didn't have any. :-x

Can't say enough kind, positive, highly recommending things about CSU Vet Hospital. And the people who work there. I don't know what results we'll get, but I do know I'm extraordinarily glad we came here and gave SRT a try. An incredible experience. (and it came in dollar-wise well below my expectations, and below the estimates quoted back in August when I called, and even below the estimate they gave me Monday when we started this process.)

We'll hang out here tomorrow and tomorrow night. Should be cold and snowy. Leave for Grand Jct. Saturday morning when it's supposed to be warm and sunny. Be home Sunday afternoon.

From me, From Miss Polly Thank you LL


Marilyn and Polly
 
oh marilyn, what a great report! i'm so glad you're done, and if i'm this glad, i can only imagine how glad you feel. i'm sure you're ready to head home.

i read through your condo yesterday and saw a mention of Dr. LaRue. What was her first name? I think we saw her too.

Polly's been through the worst of it, she'll only get better now.

the one thing i would flag is about the thyroid. I kept getting punkin's total t-4 done and unfortunately, it kept registering in the normal range. You want to get the breakdown of T3 and T4, and free T4. I think that's the combo. You want the breakdown, anyway. Punkin's total was low normal, but when we finally did the breakout, one of his was way low and we'd missed it. He'd been losing his hair like crazy for several months (orange hair is so fine it floats . . . and it somehow always aims for your mouth!), but i hadn't picked up on it.

As Wendy said yesterday, Punkin's dose dropped dramatically even in the first few days. Within a week he was about 12u, down from 15.5u. When i saw him having lower than typical preshots, we played "dialing for doses" as we laughingly called it, dropping the first shot by 50% and returning with the next shot to a new, reduced dose. And honestly, there is no science to guide you on this. We just reduced "some." Just mentioning it so you can think ahead of time and be prepared when it happens for polly.

my fingers, toes, legs and arms are all contorted cuz i've got them crossed in hopes that Polly will go OTJ. cat_pet_icon
 
Wonderful report....congrats on completing Polly's SRT! I love her bandana...how cute is that?? Work that SRT, Polly!!! Sending safe travel prayers for your journey home!!!
 
Yay! You and Polly made it through! What a great report. I love how thorough the vet teaching hospitals are. And the people there seem to care so much - they really want to help. I'm glad it was a good experience for you and Polly seems to be suffering no ill effects (anti-jinx). Now you can just relax and rest tomorrow, cuddle with Polly and watch it snow, then drive home refreshed on Saturday.

Sending relaxing vines and advanced safe travel vine!
 
Yeah! You and Polly are done!!!! :-D :-D Today is our 109th week since SRT. You might find it interesting to track the time.

What a cool scarf for Miss Polly - wish they had them when we were there. The only souvenir I have is her carrier luggage tag - which is still on the cat carrier. Give Polly lots of hugs from me too.

Hypothyroidism is one of the common side effects of the radiation. I was told to get the thyroid tests every 3 months for the first year. Hypothyroidism is relatively easily treated with medication. I too am hoping for OTJ for you. They told us it would happen within the first 18 months if it happened, but Grayson who went to SRT 3 weeks before us (so over two years ago) has recently been dropping down and is now at .5U. :cool: As usual, cats will do this in their own time frame.

Snow! :shock: :shock: Safe travels back. :YMHUG:
 
Yay Polly!!! I too have all my extremities crossed for her! She looks so cute in her bandana. I hope you get to relax and enjoy the next couple days! You both deserve it.
 
Congratulations to you two! What an awesome adventure for you and Miss Polly! Thank you so much for bringing us with you. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top