9/11 Ozy AMPS-120,PMPS-381 help with fluids please

Status
Not open for further replies.

donaleen and Ozy

Member Since 2013
Yesterday http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=104167

Lots of testing last night. I didn't want to miss a below 50. He made it to 54. I tried not to overfeed cuz I didn't want to miss the below 50. I considered cheating and saying he made it to 49. But I didn't. I am a bit sleep deprived and don't know if I can do another night like the last two I had some great company and support and that helped keep me awake. Thanks Dale and Wendy.

I am very pleased that the last FOUR cycles have been in normal glucose ranges. That helps tremendously. It would probably be more cycles than that if I hadn't wimped out three nights ago and done a token dose.

I think the B12 injections and the Zobaline are both helping him, too. Oh Zobaline, won't you be true. Okay, clearly sleep deprived....

I shot at 120 today without blinking an eye.
 
Re: 9/11 Ozy AMPS-120

Great shooting and great numbers!

And you can see what's happening here. When the numbers get more stable and flat, it gets easier with less drama.

The beauty of shooting low to stay low. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/11 Ozy AMPS-120

Hi guys .. those long sleepless nights are so hard .. but look at ozy's numbers! Soon, you'll be shooting low 60's without batting an eye :mrgreen: have a great day!
 
Re: 9/11 Ozy AMPS-120

Last night Dale said soon I'd be shooting under a 100 and now Peter says 60...that gave me pause. It's so nice he isn't bouncing. And he is feeling pretty good but not moving around much or playing.
 
Re: 9/11 Ozy AMPS-120

Ozy is looking great, Donaleen! See how fast you're getting comfortable with this - your signature still says no shoot below 150, but here you are :-D You're doing a wonderful job and it's showing in Ozy's numbers. Dale is right - while shooting lower is hard at first, it really does end up resulting in less drama!
 
Re: 9/11 Ozy AMPS-120

Thanks Angela and Amy.

His side where I gave him his injections smells like Lantus. The needle seemed a little wonky to me. It didn't slip right in like those small needles usually do. It was more like the bigger needles I use for his B12; there was some resistance to piercing the skin. There was no wetness or anything after the injection. I hope he got his dose...
 
Re: 9/11 Ozy AMPS-120

Great leveling off, Donaleen, Ozy looks wonderful! I'm so happy he's settling in for you on this dose! Even though he hasn't had a reduction, he's been in that healing range a long time which is so beneficial! Congratulations (& hope you can sneak in some I-) )!
 
Re: 9/11 Ozy AMPS-120,+2-159,+4-183

No longer looks like yesterday. He is higher than he has been in for a while. Could be a bad shot this morning. Could be a bounce. Could be pancreatitis. Any one of those things could cause his glucose to go up. I would prefer it be one of the first two but... I did give him Bupe because he seemed like he was in pain. Must be time to try subcutaneous fluids again.
 
Re: 9/11 Ozy AMPS-120,+2-159,+4-183

Great job last night Donaleen! Looks like you might be able to get a nap in today. I hope he feels better soon.
 
Re: 9/11 Ozy AMPS-120,+2-159,+4-183

Thanks. It was because I felt more confident. I may have overfed his low and prevented a decrease but he is high today anywat. I felt like you were all with me. Thanks for all you've shared.

I am not usually a napper. When sleep deprived, I feel crappy all morning and then in the afternoon it becomes a good time to take information in. So, I am reading through much of the advice I have read in various posts (mine and others) as well as special topics. I am making my own notes; that is how I digest information. TMI.

donaleen
 
Re: 9/11 Ozy AMPS-120,+2-159,+4-183,+6-281

Well, he is almost hot pink now. He is going up like a rocket...Is this a bounce? Is this an unsuccessful AM shot (I mentioned that the needle didn't slip through the skin like it usually does. I pulled it out the first time because it felt wrong...but the second time was the same way. There wasn't any wetness where I shot. Ozy wasn't jumpy about the shot. But later he smelled like Lantus.

I did think he was feeling poorly this morning and I gave him some bupe. This afternoon he is pretty playful and frisky for him. Still not liking to move much. But into kick and bite and batting at things that move.
 
Re: 9/11 Ozy AMPS-120,+2-159,+4-183,+6-281,+10-358,PMPS-381

We picked up the subQ fluids and successfully gave him 50ml a couple of days ago, though it wasn't easy. We haven't managed it since and I think he could use some with his high numbers.

We do fine with testing, insulin shots and B12 injections. But he is drawing the line at subQ fluids. I've watched several videos where the cat is just fine with it. Ozy is not fine with it... need some advice on subQ fluids and a cat who is more than a bit difficult.

thanks
donaleen
 
Re: 9/11 Ozy AMPS-120,+2-159,+4-183,+6-281,+10-358,PMPS-381

Hi Donaleen - sorry, I've never done the sub-qs, but I just though I should suggest you might want to go back to your first post and put a mention of that question in your subject line so that the people who can give you some helpful tips will notice what your question is specifically about (you could take out some of the AM cycle's numbers to make room).

Have a good evening! I hope Ozy is back in nice numbers by the morning - maybe it was just a fur shot this morning.
 
I don't know if you've seen this video we made on how to give subq fluids. Gus is the ideal for this but one of our other cats was not this calm. When we started, the two of us would do it together with one petting her, singing to her, calming her and the other giving the fluids. Shortly, she got used to it and we could each do it alone.

It's very possible you gave a fur shot if you smelled insulin. That could be the reason for his pink numbers.

Hope he feels ok and will come back down. You've been doing great with him.
 
Thanks Marje... still need some help. This is a very clear and well done video. But, the hard part is getting Ozy started. He mostly wants to lie on his side, making between his shoulders harder to access. Also, rather than purring he growled the whole time we did it and was quite jumpy. I need help with getting him through that part of the process. I spent a long time yesterday trying to get him situated but he caught on and was out of there as soon as I was ready to go with the needle.

I am thinking of trying to making a "hug machine" like Temple Grandin made for herself. Autistic people find them very calming.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hug_machine

Has anyone tried that?

His numbers have been in the 300's the last 24 hours and I think some fluids are in order.

Thoughts? Suggestions?
 
I had to give fluids to two of my civvies, and both initially were drama queens about it. They both got over it, though one took longer than the other. One I *know* was full of it because she fussed before I even inserted the needle :roll:. Is he jumping over the needle insertion, or just doesn't want to be restrained, or both? A smaller needle obviously hurts less, but it takes longer to push the fluids in.

I also used a different method than most, because it was how I was taught by the vet technician. I used a 50 mL syringe to draw up the fluids, and then attached a butterfly needle. I pushed the fluids out of the syringe into the cat rather than relying on a gravity drip. I have many leftover butterfly sets if you wish to try it this way.

MJ
 
Here is how it goes. I try to put him in position with his back pointing up. He flops on his side. We struggle with that for a bit. Long enough for him to become pissed off. Then I try to insert the needle and cannot manage to keep him still enough to get the needle in and he gets even more agitated. Growling (uncharacteristic), wiggling, batting at me. even biting.

I've tried several spots (sofas, floor) but have not found anything that works.

We have a cardboard box that our stove top came in. It is one of his comfort spots. He likes the close confinement of that box. The box wouldn't give me access for this process but maybe we can built something that would do the trick. I guess there is something comforting about having one's sides squeezed. Supposedly works with all mammals.
 
I've had to give fluids to a lot of my cats and the first bit of advice I have is to make sure the fluids are warm. Most cats find it uncomfortable to have cold fluid put under their skin. Jesse growled at me when the fluids were cold. I've tried sitting the bag in hot water but the water seems to cool before the bag is warmed. I now heat the bag (without the line) in the microwave - I sit the bag in a bowl so the fluid doesn't leak out.

I'm having to give Jesse fluids now and he fights me. I put him in his carrier that has a hinged top - that way he can't go forward or backward. He will usually sit correctly, but I have also put blankets on each side of him so he can't lay down. The very best thing I invested in is a stand to hold the fluid bag. Here's the one I bought - only $25 and free shipping http://www.amazon.com/Economy-I-V-Pole-Removable-Hook/dp/B000IDTD8O/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20. My old vet gave me the secondary lines which are only 30" long making it very easy to hold the bag up while I was holding the needle. But 70-80" ones I get online are impossible. Having the bag on the stand straightens out the line and the fluids flow pretty fast. I use 20 guage needles.
 
Thanks Amy, MJ and Carolyn. Glad to hear it can get better. Switching to today's condo to report on today and what I am trying....
 
Thanks Amy, MJ and Carolyn. Glad to hear it can get better. Switching to today's condo to report on today and what I am trying....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top