9/11 Miss Kitty AMPS 298 +3 239 +8 182 +10 237 PMPS 262

Status
Not open for further replies.

april925

Member Since 2011
yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=51940

Not as nice of a start as yesterday, but not too bad either. This is what I don't get though, it's so much higher than yesterday. Is this a bounce from yesterday? Are all the bounces what makes her fructosamine test look bad? When does the bouncing stop and she just stays even? I know every cat is different, but has it taken this long for other cats to get regulated? So I started her back on 2 units, then I give her three days to either increase again or decrease, correct?
 
Re: 9/11 Miss Kitty AMPS 298

This is indeed a bounce from yesterday, and if this is the highest she goes, not a bad bounce at all.
A bounce can take up to 72 hours to clear. They stop when the liver stops panicking over lower than accustomed to numbers and/or fast drops.
No telling how long it takes for regulation and yes, ECID. BK took about 19-20 months before he got regulated, and at 21 months he went OTJ.
Yes, you want to give this dose 6 cycles and then evaluate for increase. A decrease is earned by going below 50 for a newly (less than 1 year) diagnosed cat and below 40 for a long term diabetic.
 
Re: 9/11 Miss Kitty AMPS 298

Thanks, that makes me feel better. The vets act like this is too long for a cat to not be regulated. She still is not even a year diabetic, will be in December that I first started giving the insulin. This is not a bad high number and she is going down a bit, at +3 she's at 239.
 
Re: 9/11 Miss Kitty AMPS 298 +3 239 +8 182

I imagine it depends on the vet's experience.

my vet was shocked and thrilled when Binks went OTJ.

i'm sure she won't be nearly as thrilled to find we're back on :shock:

nice blues!

celi & binks
 
Re: 9/11 Miss Kitty AMPS 298 +3 239 +8 182

We call it Liver Training School (LTS). Some of our kitties are exemplary students, while others have been in remedial classes for awhile!! :lol: :lol: :lol: Looks like you guys started about the same time we did. :-D :-D :-D Willie had some other health issues, but once we got those resolved in February, I did my best to be fairly aggressive with his dosing. Overall, I'm pleased with where we're at... recently, he's gotten a little bouncy, but those bounces are into the mid blues... can't really complain about that!! Stick with the protocol and Miss Kitty will get there. Even if she never achieves remission, keeping her in healing range for as much of the day as possible yields lots of positive benefits for her other organs as well. And look at our birthday girl Mocha Jo Latte... I think she went OTJ at 21 months. It definitely can be done!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top