9/11 Klinger AMPS 518; PMPS 532

Status
Not open for further replies.
hi marcy, whew, some high #'s...what did you shoot? also not to reiterate if you've been thru all this already but what are you feeding?
 
Switched him from FF kitten to FF classic about a week ago.
Thinking about trying 3.25u's again tomorrow.
I'm getting discouraged. Maybe prozinc isn't the insulin for him??? Maybe there's something else wrong with him??? He doesn't have a UTI, just got those results back.
Maybe a different food - wellness or sophisticat
I just don't know.
 
I wonder if maybe he hit good #s overnight last night, and today is a liver-rebellion cycle? Hard to say really, but sometimes an ugly-high cycle can be from that.

He does respond ok to PZI IMO, you know that from the high doses he was on before, I think it's just a matter of finding the dose that works, without overdoing it like earlier. That said, there's nothing wrong either with trying another insulin if you aren't getting results in a reasonable timeframe.

The problem with switching is it's basically a do-over, and you may end up with an added stretch of higher #s as you build up the dose on the new insulin. If you haven't already, you might look at Angela & Blackie's SS. She tried both PZI & Lantus, and is finally getting good results now (YAY!!!). I suspect Blackie would have done fine on PZI at a higher dose, but hard to say for sure.

One benefit of Lantus is there is a clear protocol to follow, and more people on the Lantus forum than here to help walk you through it. So to my mind, those aspects make it appealing, especially when you have a kitty with atypical patterns, or confusing #s. But on the other hand there are some minuses IMO to using other insulins, and also you could basically expect several weeks of higher #s before making progress. It may be that he needs a dose like, say (just picking a # here) 4u. If that were the case, you may be close to a breakthrough on PZI, and switching insulins would put you back at a lower dose & building back up.

If it were me, I would probably post on Health and ask for eyes on the SS, and suggestions as to whether or not to stick with PZI. If you do that, be sure to put "PZI" in your subject line so you'll hopefully get some PZIers or former PZIers taking a look at his #s. You can also post in the other insulin forums to ask if people think switching is a good idea.
 
joanna i was thinking the same thing...klinger was doing better on the higher doses. i was almost shying away from getting involved, shame on me. this is one tricky cat.
shall we all take it on and make klinger our project kitty, like we've done before.
we can all commit to watching the #'s, the doses and comment.
me, you and robin.
let's pull this kitty thru
klinger's mommie, what's your name?
are you willing to post every day?
lori
 
side note joanna, she started on lantus and moved to pzi
 
oh oops, my bad! so doesn't look like there is a magic answer there in a switch

yeah, the #s look best to me actually on 7u, but a bit uneven, almost like maybe 6.5 or something would be good - of course I wouldn't jump right up to that, and frankly 7u scares the h*eck out of me!!! what I wondered earlier was if there was a rebound pattern and the 7u was shooting through that - I was hoping with a lower dose some better #s would appear if the rebound started settling down. So far doesn't really look that way though, so I'm guessing it may end up taking a dose back in that vicinity (no 7.5 though!!!!) to make progress.

I wonder if an acro test is in order? I don't know where the line is for that? But I do think that changes shooting strategies a bit, maybe I'll pop a PM to an Acro mom for eyes, hmmm.

I started a new job recently and don't have the time I once did to hang out here - I've been finding it tough to get here daily, and pretty much pooped out by the new schedule (ah, the days of sleeping in, will you ever come back? :YMSIGH: ), so don't count on me much for now for any daily close following along & advising. But I will definitely check in on everyone when I can...
 
just want you to know i was thinking exactly like you..acro, and whoa on 7U.
i also have been spending my time on 'health; with newbie's but i'd like to take this on and you and robin were the one's who worked together before.
just keep an eye and i will too. i like to help the especially difficult cases.
lori
 
Thanks for looking at his ss. He threw me a 204 AMPS today (9/12). I've posted on health to get some more eyes on his #'s.
He is tricky. I don't want this to take up your time, but if you could take a look at his #'s every once in a while and let me know if I'm doing something wrong, that would be helpful.
I looked at A & B's ss yesterday afternoon too. Funny. Gave me some hope for my little guy.
Thanks again,
Marcy
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top