9/11 Jean Luc PMPS 239 +3.25 439

Status
Not open for further replies.

snorton

Active Member
Jean Luc 9/10

Well, not restfull sleep last night after all. Jean Luc woke me up with a hair ball at ~ +8. Tested and he was 488 so pretty much a high flat night. This morning the meter was wonky 1st reading 596 / second reading 496. Second reading more in line with his "normal", so that is what I put in the s/s. These readings were only 5 minutes apart. This morning he ate a little bit and had a bit of loose stool. I guess he is still in recovery mode from the hair ball, loose stool, and bouncing. His appetite wasn't up to par during breakfast. Went ahead a gave him the 1.5U and left the usual food amounts. Would really like to figure this out. Everytime I think he is starting to level out (either high or low) he throws a curve ball and I have to rethink the plan. Vet was concerned about pancreatitis and did the specific enzyme test. It can back normal. She also said his teeth have a tiny amount of gingivitis, but nothing that should affect his sugars.

I'd appreciate some dosing advice / general advice from folks on the board. Is this normal? Is he progressing like he should?

Crossing paws he will be back to his happy self when I get home. nailbite_smile
 
Re: 9/11 Jean Luc AMPS 496 - Advice Requested

I don't think we have stopped by before and wanted to say hello and welcome you. Poor Jean Luc and poor you on the hairball in the middle of the night. It looks like Jean Luc could be bounceing from the blues at PMPS. It will take awhile for Jean Luc's body to get used to lower numbers and the bouncing to stop. Hang in there! It is a true test of patience with FD. Have a great day!!
 
Re: 9/11 Jean Luc AMPS 496 - Advice Requested

If JL had a positive pancreatitis test, how was he tested? Was this a spec fPL or the in-office Snap fPL? Or, did the vet base the diagnosis on lipase levels? If the latter, it's unreliable. If the appropriate test was run, what's being done to treat the pancreatitis? This is a painful condition and requires at minimum, pain meds.

I would go ahead and increase Jean Luc's dose to 1.75u. I'd encourage you to think about dose increases every 3 days. You don't want to let JL sit in high numbers overly long. As long as you're not seeing the bounce break at shot time tonight, it should be OK to increase.
 
Re: 9/11 Jean Luc AMPS 496 - Advice Requested

According to invoice, it was the Snap Fpl-Feline test which was normal.
What would BG level be to consider the bounce broken?
 
Re: 9/11 Jean Luc AMPS 496 - Advice Requested

Hi guys .. I don't have much advice for you guys .. Just lots of support for you cause I know it is hard seeing our kitties up so high without knowing the reasons why .. I have fingers crossed jean luc decides to come down for you today .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 9/11 Jean Luc AMPS 496 - Advice Requested

Normally you would see them coming down into very low yellow, blue, or green when the bounce has cleared.
 
Re: 9/11 Jean Luc AMPS 496 - Advice Requested

Pmps 239; however, he ate very minimal food today while I was at work. He doesn't seem to have an appetite tonight either. I hand fed him 1/2 can of ff classic turkey before giving him his shot of 1.5U.

Any thoughts if this in-appetite is related to yesterday's events?

I am scared now that he may have dropped really, really low yesterday. He was feeling fine yesterday morning. Chasing strings and jumping on posts. Then last night sluggish, sleeping, not overly hungry. Today, not much food eaten and sleeping when we got home. I had to remove him from his bed. He normally greets us as we walk in the door. I have not found any more vomit or hair balls.
 
Re: 9/11 Jean Luc AMPS 496 - Advice Requested

On the snap test....was he fasted? There is no "normal". There's a negative and a positive. So she said he was "negative"?

If he did come down lower yesterday, it could possibly have caused him to feel somewhat lethargic. They get used to high numbers and when the numbers come down, they have to get used to how differently they feel.

However, having said that, you know Jean Luc. If you are worried about him, perhaps another vet visit is in order. It's really difficult to say if the way he is feeling is attributable to numbers. Yes, numbers "can" affect how he feels....but we don't know if they are.
 
Re: 9/11 Jean Luc PMPS 239 - scared now, little food eaten

Lab work reads- SNAPshot Dx fPL - Normal. Vet said that was good, so I am fairly certain result was negative with this test. His last meal was 6 hours prior to test.
 
Re: 9/11 Jean Luc PMPS 239 - scared now, little food eaten

I know this answer doesn't suffice, but how they act depending on their BG numbers is different for each cat. I have seen people say that their kitty acts more energetic at the same BG ranges that other people say their cats are more lethargic.
I think what might "mess them up" and make them feel lousy is the wide swings in numbers? Before he started insulin, although he was diabetic, his BG numbers didn't go from high to low to high to low and back again. They weren't "good numbers" but they were "normal" to JL. You said yesteday morning he was energetic and seemed to feel good. That was probably in the 200s? The swing from however low he went yesterday to how high he went last night (though unavoidable), must confuse the heck out of his body, I would think.
Some kitties will eat like little pigs when they are in the lower (green) numbers, and it seems that they know they are low, and they know food will bring them up. But I've also seen people say that they see their cat acting that way, and test them, and find the numbers are in the 300s, and not low at all.

I think that some days they just feel like eating, and some days they don't. If the inappetance lasts all day and all night, I'd be concerned that something beyond just his BG numbers might be going on. Could be any number of things though, from teeth problems, to upset stomach to constipation...

His PMPS number does look nice,
Carl
 
Re: 9/11 Jean Luc PMPS 239 - scared now, little food eaten

Lab work reads- SNAPshot Dx fPL - Normal. Vet said that was good, so I am fairly certain result was negative with this test. His last meal was 6 hours prior to test.
 
Re: 9/11 Jean Luc PMPS 239 - scared now, little food eaten

Lab work reads- SNAPshot Dx fPL - Normal. Vet said that was good, so I am fairly certain result was negative with this test. His last meal was 6 hours prior to test.
 
Re: 9/11 Jean Luc PMPS 239 - scared now, little food eaten

Thanks for the thoughts.

I will continue to monitor him and spoil him by bringing him the food to his bed. Perhaps, that will perk him up! Peculiar little guy.....

I guess the dose increase will wait a couple of days. He isn't constipated. Poop in LB with little urine.
 
Re: 9/11 Jean Luc PMPS 239 - scared now, little food eaten

Have you checked his ketones today? I'd be sure to do that.
 
Re: 9/11 Jean Luc PMPS 239 +3 439

+3 439

He has kept down 1 can ff turkey between pmps and +3.5. Hand fed remainder of ff can at +3 - +3 .25.

Please send some healing happy vines.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top