9/11 Harvey AMPS 338, +1 350, +2 349, +7 338, +9 315

BonnieBT

Member Since 2021
This morning makes Harvey's sixth cycle with 6 units. We've seen yellow a couple of times, but nothing to write home about. I haven't been around today to scan his Libre every hour, but judging from his graph, he maybe got down to 300 at about the +4 or +5 mark.

My plan is to bump him up to 6.5 this evening. Is it normal to have to go this high? It just feels like so much insulin with not much effect.
 
My plan is to bump him up to 6.5 this evening. Is it normal to have to go this high? It just feels like so much insulin with not much effect.
Good plan on the increase. As for is it normal - it is less common. The majority of cats don't need as high a dose, but what dose a cat needs depends on the cat. Some cats have secondary endocrine conditions that mean they need higher doses. My girl got up to 8.75 units, we've got some here on more. When people's cats get up 6.0 units, and on all wet food, we suggest that they get their cat tested for two conditions to start. They are called acromegaly, which is caused by a benign tumour on the pituitary gland that causes excess growth hormone to be output, and in turn causes the diabetes. The second condition is called insulin auto antibodies, or IAA. My girl Neko had both. Cats can be on smaller doses with these condition, but if they are on 6 units and above, there is a good chance one or the other is present. Acromegaly is reasonably common, 20-25% of diabetic cats has it.

To test for these conditions, the vet draws blood which is sent to Michigan State University, the only place in North America that tests for the conditions. The reason for testing is that there might be treatments, and some changes to dosing strategy. And it's good to know what to expect. The excess growth hormone has some side effects. Both conditions cause insulin resistance, so it can feel like you are shooting water until you get closer to a good dose. You do have to keep on those increases, so keep increasing every six cycles until you see under 200 again.
 
Thank you for sharing all that! We go back to the vet on Thursday for placement of his new Libre, and I am going to ask that she test him.

I just scanned him, and he’s 275 and trending down at PM +5. I got so excited when I saw that!
 
Back
Top