9/11 Faraday AMPS 151, +2 97, +5 84, PMPS 158, +2 113, +3.5 74

I know with reductions there is not a set number of cycles before one determines reduction failure, but when do I need to consider this as a possibility? Yesterday saw a nadir of at least 60, which I’m happy with, but with these high PS#s I’m getting nervous, especially since his nadir was in the 80s today as far as I could tell.

Maybe just putting this out into the universe will make this a better looking cycle tonight?
 
When looking to see if a reduction failed, you are looking for a couple things. First, after the bounce is over (length of time is specific to the cat), does he return to green nadirs? Second, once the depot of the higher dose wears off (can be 4-6 cycles), are you still getting good nadirs. Today was cycle 4, so you are seeing green nadirs now, probably on the strength of the 1.25 units depot/dose. When a dose is showing you nadirs under 100, we typically hold the dose 10 cycles before evaluating it. Patience.
 
When looking to see if a reduction failed, you are looking for a couple things. First, after the bounce is over (length of time is specific to the cat), does he return to green nadirs? Second, once the depot of the higher dose wears off (can be 4-6 cycles), are you still getting good nadirs. Today was cycle 4, so you are seeing green nadirs now, probably on the strength of the 1.25 units depot/dose. When a dose is showing you nadirs under 100, we typically hold the dose 10 cycles before evaluating it. Patience.

Thank-you! I just want to make sure I’m giving him the best chance I can. Seeing these higher numbers again is un-nerving!
 
Hi Cali! I was just looking at Faraday's SS ("reading the tea leaves" of other cats' SS is becoming a hobby -- one more piece of evidence that I am losing it :p) and I noticed that you had held the doses at 1.25 and 1.5 for about a month each instead of reducing after 3-5 days. Was there a Faraday-specific reason for that? Just trying to learn all that I can now so as to have a better handle on things when Chispa's SS starts filling in with those pretty blues and greens.

(And btw, what is it with that boy and the dishwasher soundproofing? Really, Faraday??! Lol)
 
Hi Cali! I was just looking at Faraday's SS ("reading the tea leaves" of other cats' SS is becoming a hobby -- one more piece of evidence that I am losing it :p) and I noticed that you had held the doses at 1.25 and 1.5 for about a month each instead of reducing after 3-5 days. Was there a Faraday-specific reason for that? Just trying to learn all that I can now so as to have a better handle on things when Chispa's SS starts filling in with those pretty blues and greens.

(And btw, what is it with that boy and the dishwasher soundproofing? Really, Faraday??! Lol)

I will answer this question to the best of my ability. My summer dosing is pretty messed up though, because of the variety of trips I went on, so I'm going to throw that out as not being proper TR. So between 6/8 and 8/2 - ignore that, because it's a weird combination of trying to do TR but also a majority of vacation dosing.

Generally speaking, when there are nadirs under 100, the advice is to hold the dosing for 10 cycles to see what's what. So when he first started seeing green, I held for 10 cycles, and then when he crept up and up over the next six or so cycles (5/4-5/6), I increased to 1.25. That dose led him to at least one nadir under and 100 within the first 6 cycles, which calls for an 8-10 cycle hold.

Going back to 5/10, that was the first time he saw nadirs in the low 60s. With nadirs in the 50s/low 60s, there's not really a lot of room for increase, as you don't want to push the nadirs below 50. So we held 1.25 for a solid 10 cycles after/including that 5/10 low nadir before going up to 1.5.

With 1.5 we saw good nadirs (low 50s and 60s), so again there wasn't any room for increase, thus holding. He obviously did some bouncing in there, but kept returning to nadirs in the 50s. He was also starting to see consistent PMPSs in the greens, and the AMPSs tend to be the last to fall in line, so it was really just holding to see what would happen with those. But again, having nadirs in the 50s and 60s really means you can't comfortably increase, which is why up through 6/3 he just stayed there.

You can see we tried a not-strictly-by-the-book reduction on 6/3, since he was pretty close to being within a meter variance of green, but that didn't stick, as the nadirs started creeping back up to the 70s and higher.

So back to 1.5 we went, which seemed to be his happy dose up until I started my out of town shenanigans.

After all my summer travel was over, we went back up to 1.5 (which you can see we did quickly since it was really his last "good" dose) on 8/2. Since then we've had lots of 50s and 60s nadirs, which keeps him solidly at that dose (no room for increase!) while we wait for the PS#s to fall into line and get us either that magical week in green/near-green or the reduction that he earned by going under 50 for the first time nearly 5 weeks on that dose. The bolded is why I didn't decrease any earlier, because you need to meet one of these two criteria (at least for newly diagnosed diabetics, it's different for long-term kitties).

I hope this helps! And I have a problem with verbosity, so I apologize ;-)
 
Thank you so much --- this really helps. I don't know why it's been so hard to wrap my head around the protocol, and of course being a relative newbie, I am terrified of doing something wrong. I'll continue to lean on the bountiful collective wisdom of the group, which we are so lucky to have.

Faraday really seems to like those blues and greens. Good boy.:cat: Chispa, take note!
 
Back
Top