9/11 Doodle AMPS 161 +4/50 +5/44 +9.5/84 PMPS 128 +5/92

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 9/11 Doodle +7/52 what a surprise

Jennifer had dropped me a PM asking about dose reductions based on the discussion in Doodle's condo yesterday. I thought that I had remembered something about Doodle being more than a year from diagnosis. The TR Protocol sticky notes the following:

Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. See additional notes in the next paragraph about drops into the 20s and 30s. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
 
Re: 9/11 Doodle +7/52 what a surprise

According to this then, he should NOT have gotten the past 2 reductions? Someone else posted this but I did not know what a long term diabetic was and I assumed it meant many years (although Doodle has been on for quite some time).

Now the issue I am going to run into is I will be gone next week for 3 days and he will only be getting 1 shot per day with no one to test during the day so I would not want to increase his insulin now.
 
Re: 9/11 Doodle AMPS 161

My fiance will be at work 12 hour days. He will only be able to get one shot in at night. With his numbers so low I'd be afraid for my vet to give 2 shots because Doodle would be alone all night there or my fiance to give a shot and then be gone for 12 hours with no one there to test.

Is there anything else I can do? (no there are no petsitters to give 2 shots)
 
Re: 9/11 Doodle AMPS 161 +4/50 +5/44 +9.5/84

can your fiance give the shots just before and after work? if his dose was reduced, it might not matter so much if it wasn't exactly 12/12.

probably it would be a good idea for us to take a peek at his ss the day before you go and come up with an idea for a vacation dose, since he won't be tested.

sorry, i didn't remember he'd been diabetic for so long. so this would mean that the 44 wouldn't be a reduction today. you would keep the 3.0u dose tonight. although it is interesting that he has held the past 2 reductions and here he is with another test in the 40's. you'll want to watch carefully because maybe something's changed in him. if he needs the reductions you'll want to take them, even if he is a longer-term diabetic.
 
Re: 9/11 Doodle AMPS 161 +4/50 +5/44 +9.5/84

I was just going to edit my post because I sent you a PM Julie, but you already answered.

Here is the "interesting" thing to me. He's never really been given insulin "properly" (at least not according to LL/TR). Before I got him he was only getting insulin once a day and then with the other group I was basically giving him insulin once a day also because they told me not to shoot if he was under 150. It was VERY difficult for me to test so many times just to see if I could shoot and then be home 12 hours after because the shot time was never the same. A few months of that and I came back here because I knew it was not the plan I could follow/understand. This is really the first time he is on a 12/12 shot routine as well as very low carb food. In FL he was on DM wet and dry and whatever treats the volunteers snuck in. So now I'm a little nervous. I will have a petsitter come in during the day around noon but DF won't be home until around 8pm and leaves at 7am.
 
Re: 9/11 Doodle AMPS 161 +4/50 +5/44 +9.5/84

could he shoot at 7am and 8pm? if the dose is reduced, that might work. it's not perfect, but hey, ya work with what you've got!

well, for whatever he went through before, he's doing extremely well now on the Lantus. Perhaps even now his pancreas will heal. we'll have to see - not one of those things that can be predicted.

sienne has lots of experience with vacation doses. When she travels, Gabby won't let anyone test. Let's just take a look before you go and see where he is at then.
 
Re: 9/11 Doodle AMPS 161 +4/50 +5/44 +9.5/84

Ok, I will keep the 3u tonight and see how it goes the next few days.
Thanks to both you and Sienne for checking in :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top