9/11,Chuck,AMPS 381,+7.5 50/54,+8 56,+8.5 60,+9 51,+9.6 53,10¼ 69,PMPS 74*,+1 136,+4 316,+7 408

Status
Not open for further replies.
+9.6 spoon of friskies

Hopefully he will surf til PMPS so I don't have to feed him after +10.

I am surprised he's not half way to the Moon already after all the friskies and the drop off Karo.
 
Should I keep the dose at 17?
He got a fat 17 this morning... Not doing that again. I'm expecting a bounce but hopefully the "fat" part of it went into Depot this morning and will help keep the bounce from going to the Moon.
 
I can't help with dosing because Chuck is a high-dose kitty. I do wonder why you fattened the 17 units if he saw lime green on 9/6 and a nice 66 on 9/9. There wasn't much room to increase.

I hope someone else can chip in with dosing advice. :bighug:
 
I'd be inclined to reduce to 16.5u tonight. Although he is considered a long term diabetic so if you're waiting for 3 drops below 50 before reducing it's your call. I wouldn't be comfortable with that having a former IAA high-doser kitty myself but consider me a chicken. The "f" today didn't influence todays cycle and also agree there wasn't really room for the increase. Luckily though, you certainly watch him enough. Hope he surfs and even gives you a little rise into PMPS. He broke the bounce today in kitty fashion which he may have extra momentum.

I can try to check back around your PMPS to see how he's doing.
 
I agree with Karen on dose. I never did the long term diabetic thing. What is causing Chuck's need for higher doses can turn on a dime and suddenly mean he needs less insulin. It's not like a healing pancreas that needs extra support. Plus you have a larger depot in play, which I treat very cautiously. @Doodles & Karen I wouldn't call you chicken, safety is job 1. :bighug: Having an overfull large depot is no fun. If those Friskies are high carb, he is being particularly stubborn about coming up. Give the boy his reduction. You can always go back up if you need.
 
Option 1, shoot new dose. Option 2, do a half or 2/3 dose to drain the depot a little and new dose tomorrow. A variation on either option, wait 20'or so minutes and see if he is coming up before shooting. What is the monitoring situation like tonight?
 
I can monitor as close as needed tonight.
Think 16 units would be safe enough? I might see how much he actually eats and go from there.
We usually test at 2:45 then shoot at 3. I tested at 3 and we are now 15 mins past shot time.
 
Just retested and got 58.
I'm all confused... I gave him his food. I'll see how much he eats and shoot 15 or 16.
Three extra drop of insulin was to help bring him out of the 300s. I wasn't home this morning and DH thought it would be a rerun of yesterday's high numbers so he didn't stay up to test at +2. We might have caught it earlier if he did... Shoulda, woulda, coulda.
He's eaten almost half of his 4.5 oz dinner so I'm going to give him the shot at 3:30.
 
The friskies is low carb. 5% or around there. After +6 I was worried I'd send him to the Moon with HC.
 
I tested 20 mins after he started eating to see if he was responding to the food. He was up to 74 from his food. I gave him 16 units and will monitor carefully. He's still eating his dinner which is normal. He eats a little over half then comes back in an hour to finish it off.
 
PMPS 74*food influenced*
16 units at +12.6ish
+1 136
For anyone who doesn't know yet(lurkers, new beans, people passing through): Don't copy my methods or dosing.
 
Ugh. Looks I should have stuck with 17 units... But hindsight is 20/20. Better safe than sorry. We'll see what the second half of his cycle brings.
 
Ugh. Looks I should have stuck with 17 units
It's just a bounce. Going from the 300's to 50's in 7 hours is enough to trigger that. Try to ignore the ugly pink and give him a bit to shake it out. Worse case you go back up. Better safe then sorry when dealing with a large depot IMHO.
 
With Lantus (or Levemir) you are always asking, how low can this dose take my cat. Ignore the bounces and your Prozinc training. :bighug: Bounces are what allow you to get some sleep.
 
That darn ProZinc programming!
He's playing outside so maybe a bit of exercise will help too.
 
Should we go back to 17 in the morning?
It is a good dose for him as long as I don't screw it up by adding a drop.
If not 17 I think we should give 16.5 units vs 16. I just wanted to drain his depot a bit. This bounce will certainly get that done.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top