Shannon & Chewy
Member Since 2022
This is my first post so please beg my pardon if I do this incorrectly. I need some dosing help. I'm not sure if my spreadsheet will post correctly so here is the info. I'm using Alpha Trak meter. Chewy was diagnosed at the end of July. Vet started him at 2 units, 2x Lantus. First Glucose curve (8/11) was: AMPS 326 +2 363 +4 405 +6 500 +8 423 +10 327.
Dose was increased to 3 units, 2x (but we also changed him to another kidney diet - Blue Buffalo since he was not eating well). Second Glucose curve (8/29): AMPS 444 +2 171 +4 515 +6 507 +8 519 +10 513
Vet decided to keep him at 3 units since we changed his diet and his nadir was 171 (which I'm thinking may have been a false reading given latest curve done today (numbers in subject line). Chewy, a picky eater, is now eating very well (about 1/2 can + dry a day). I know dry is bad but he has never been a big can eater and there is only one kidney diet he tolerates (even refuses homemade and raw food).
My vet seems to want to change doses by full units and to test every 10-14 days. It's hard for me to test during the work week so I have been doing it over the weekend. Besides Kidney disease, Chewy has stable hyperthyroidism which is being treated with a pill (2.5 mg) 2x a day. He has put back on about a pound of weight he lost but is still drinking/urinating a lot. He is acting fine otherwise. He tolerates shots and ear pricks well.
From my reading, I know that dose changes should not be in whole units and should come more frequently. I ordered some stringers with half-markings but they have not arrived yet. My vet will call me tomorrow about the latest curve and I'm sure he will want to move Chewy to 4 units. Does anyone have any suggestions?
Thank you for any help you can offer, Shannon
Dose was increased to 3 units, 2x (but we also changed him to another kidney diet - Blue Buffalo since he was not eating well). Second Glucose curve (8/29): AMPS 444 +2 171 +4 515 +6 507 +8 519 +10 513
Vet decided to keep him at 3 units since we changed his diet and his nadir was 171 (which I'm thinking may have been a false reading given latest curve done today (numbers in subject line). Chewy, a picky eater, is now eating very well (about 1/2 can + dry a day). I know dry is bad but he has never been a big can eater and there is only one kidney diet he tolerates (even refuses homemade and raw food).
My vet seems to want to change doses by full units and to test every 10-14 days. It's hard for me to test during the work week so I have been doing it over the weekend. Besides Kidney disease, Chewy has stable hyperthyroidism which is being treated with a pill (2.5 mg) 2x a day. He has put back on about a pound of weight he lost but is still drinking/urinating a lot. He is acting fine otherwise. He tolerates shots and ear pricks well.
From my reading, I know that dose changes should not be in whole units and should come more frequently. I ordered some stringers with half-markings but they have not arrived yet. My vet will call me tomorrow about the latest curve and I'm sure he will want to move Chewy to 4 units. Does anyone have any suggestions?
Thank you for any help you can offer, Shannon
