9/11 Chewy AMPS 474 +2 583 +4 582 +6 624 +8 523 +10 626

Shannon & Chewy

Member Since 2022
This is my first post so please beg my pardon if I do this incorrectly. I need some dosing help. I'm not sure if my spreadsheet will post correctly so here is the info. I'm using Alpha Trak meter. Chewy was diagnosed at the end of July. Vet started him at 2 units, 2x Lantus. First Glucose curve (8/11) was: AMPS 326 +2 363 +4 405 +6 500 +8 423 +10 327.

Dose was increased to 3 units, 2x (but we also changed him to another kidney diet - Blue Buffalo since he was not eating well). Second Glucose curve (8/29): AMPS 444 +2 171 +4 515 +6 507 +8 519 +10 513

Vet decided to keep him at 3 units since we changed his diet and his nadir was 171 (which I'm thinking may have been a false reading given latest curve done today (numbers in subject line). Chewy, a picky eater, is now eating very well (about 1/2 can + dry a day). I know dry is bad but he has never been a big can eater and there is only one kidney diet he tolerates (even refuses homemade and raw food).

My vet seems to want to change doses by full units and to test every 10-14 days. It's hard for me to test during the work week so I have been doing it over the weekend. Besides Kidney disease, Chewy has stable hyperthyroidism which is being treated with a pill (2.5 mg) 2x a day. He has put back on about a pound of weight he lost but is still drinking/urinating a lot. He is acting fine otherwise. He tolerates shots and ear pricks well.

From my reading, I know that dose changes should not be in whole units and should come more frequently. I ordered some stringers with half-markings but they have not arrived yet. My vet will call me tomorrow about the latest curve and I'm sure he will want to move Chewy to 4 units. Does anyone have any suggestions?

Thank you for any help you can offer, Shannon
 
Hello and welcome. We ask new people, when they first sign up, to post on the Feline Health forum, in order to get you set up for posting on this forum. Good to see you have the spreadsheet, but there are a few other things we'd like to know about Chewy that you can put in your signature. This post is a good one for you: New? How You Can Help Us Help You! After that, read the Sticky Notes at the top of this forum, starting with the New to the Group one for definitions. Especially the bit about bouncing.

If you are feeding dry or high carb food, you have to follow SLGS (start low go slow) dosing method, instead of TR as listed in your spreadsheet. And you'll still need to add more data to the spreadsheet.


2 units was too high a dose to start, jumping up to 3 units again too much of an increase. Going to 4 units would be a bad move at this point in time. You simply do not have enough data to say whether this dose is too low, or too high. Even people who work full time will test before each and every shot, to make sure it's safe to do so. Getting tests, as you can, on weekends, before you go to bed, as you leave the house or arrive back home, will fill in the data we need to help you with what to do with the dose. Many cats go lower at night, your spreadsheet is missing a lot of data with no tests at night. We determine how to change the dose based on how low the dose takes the cat. Getting a test just before you go to bed, if it's at least 2 hours after shot time, can be very helpful.

When do you expect the half unit marked syringes? If in the US, Walmart sells their Relion brand with half unit markings.
 
Welcome Shannon and Chewy
I see you are feeding Blue Buffalo KD Dry food did you know that the carbs

are very high for a diabetic cat
I found this on the Chewy site


what are the levels of carbohydrates, calcium, protein, and magnesium on a dry matter basis?
This variety contains approximately 39% Carbohydrate content on an as-fed basis (42.8% on a dry matter basis), 0.5-0.9% Calcium content on an as-fed basis (0.54-0.98% on a dry matter basis), 26% Protein content on an as-fed basis (28.5% on a dry matter basis) and 0.12% Magnesium content on an as-fed...more

Is this what you are feeding?
Blue Buffalo Natural Veterinary Diet K+M Kidney + Mobility Support Grain-Free Dry Cat Food, 7-lb bag

The wet food you noted in your profile is that also Blue Buffalo Wet , it's probably high carbs also


I couldn't find anything about it

If you can fill out your signature that would be great , Wendy gave you the link above in blue
I see you put all the information in your profile page under information , we need to see it in your signature it's at the end of everyone's post in gray ,do you see it.

You definitely need to be testing after his PMPS dose

I see you work is it possible to get another test in before you leave for work and when you get home from work?

Your SS says you are following TR , if you plan to stay with the dry food you need to change it to SLGS but that Blue Buffalo Dry is way to high in carbs

You need to be testing him everyday it's the only way to keep Chewy safe . Wendy has given you excellent information

Here is the lantus site so you can read all the yellow stickys
 
Last edited:
You say your cat has kidney disease
Here is a list of wet foods that are low carb and low phosphorus

weruva has low carb and low phospherous wet food
With weruva foods
You want the metabolizable energy profile percentage of carbs to be less than 10%, and the phosphorus which Weruva lists in Minerals to be less than 250 mg per 100 cals. So you have to look at two different places in the Weruva charts.
https://weruva.com



YOU WANT CARBS UNDER 10% AND PHOSPHORUS IDEALLY LOW 200's OR LESS

Go to this thread , there are a lot of weruva foods listed here in post #3 , post numbers are to the left
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/kidney-disease.262271/#post-2940026

Also
https://www.soulisticpet.com/nutritional-information-pate
I think you look under the same two places like in the Weruva to get the carbs and phosphorus %

If Chewy likes Pate here are the weruva pages
Take a look here https://weruva.com/nutrition-landing/pates-ni/
 
Thank you to everyone for the advice. I will update my signature line and go post on Feline Health forum. I am feeding Blue Buffalo Natural Veterinary Diet K+M Kidney + Mobility Support Grain-Free Dry Cat Food. I recently purchased some Weruva canned based on a food list I found here so I will give that a try. My half-mark syringes are delayed in transit so I will try Walmart. Do you think I should lower the dose and start over? Chewy is currently 14 lb 2 oz.
 
Back
Top