9/11..Checkers~...pmps/408+1/320~+2/214...+3/170 +4/160

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barb & Checkers (GA)

Member Since 2009
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=24615
Good Morning All,
Checkers is unusually active, and silly, this morning. He jumped up on the testing table as soon as I came into room, like he couldn't wait to get his day started. It's amazing how they know their routine. :smile:
:-D Got some cute video clips of him and little Clancy mock-fighting over cube. None of the three have gone for naps yet. Maybe the crisp cool air.
He got dosecrease this morning. Raised from 2.25, to 2.50. After I see how he is reacting, if at all, I can plan my day.
Hope everyone has a good day. :smile:
 
Re: 9/11..Checkers amps/411~+1/411

Good morning Barb! Good luck with the dosecrease! Mannie got one yesterday. Hey Checkers - red is ugly, so back down you go, OK? Have a great Caturday!!
 
Re: 9/11..Checkers amps/411~+1/411

hey, checkers! i got a dosecrease this morning too...and i'm feeling pretty good. have a great day!

binks
 
Re: 9/11..Checkers amps/411~+1/411

Happy Caturday to u both--Hope you come down there Checkers!!!!!! Cut That out!! HUGS!!-Congrats on dose crease!
 
Re: 9/11..Checkers amps/411~+1/411...+2/259

Slow descents are good, but he can't be trusted, and I wanna go out. Whaaaa!
I would love to show off my boy, but I don't know where to put video, to post link. I use Photobucket, but it's too slow. In order to send a 30 second clip to my sis, I have to put it on CD and snail mail it. Can't even send it by email, with dialup.
Guess I'll ask my DIL, the 'puter guru.
 
Re: 9/11..Checkers amps/411~+1/411

Gee, I think we kitties better watch out. Lots of dosecreases yesterday. The beans aren't messing around any more. Get back down Checkers! They mean business. -- Tess

Those numbers are a little spooky today, Tess had an "11" number too and I didn't think about it until I saw Checkers.
 
Re: 9/11..Checkers +3/202..+4/102..+5/87..food advice please

amps/411~+ dose increased from 2.25 to 2.50
1/411...
+2/259
+3/202
+4/102
+5/87
I would SO like to see him surf green, and not sure how to feed to do so.
Anyone have advice....haven't fed the +5 yet.
Pleeeeeeeeeze :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/11..Checkers +3/202..+4/102..+5/87..food advice please

Feed a little LC with arm water...a mini meal is smaller than a normal meal, maybe 1 or 2 teaspoons. You will have to gather data on how much you feed and the result. Then you will be able to adjust once you see how he does.

Some kitties do well with a mini meal every hour until the surf is going nicely. With some, the LC isn't enough to hold them some days. It really depends on how their BGs react to the LC.

If the LC isn't enough to bring them up or keep them surfing, then you need to use the MC but try the LC and see how he manages it.
 
Re: 9/11..Checkers +3/202..+4/102..+5/87..food advice please

well - if this were Mannie, I'd be feeding a 10% MC food, probably would have done that at +4 )just cuz he's had such a drop today), definitely at +5. I usually give him a very small amount, not even a full teaspoon. With this I have been able to keep him from dropping more, and maintain the surf. I'd check again in 30 minutes, see where we are at, and adjust the food if needed: lower %, higher %, or none at all. It's taken a little experimenting to know how he will respond... Good luck!

And pat is right too - I have found with Mannie that LC is not enough - he's a diver, and just needs more.
 
Re: 9/11..Checkers +3/202..+4/102..+5/87.. advice please

Oh yeah, I hope you heard Sienne and Pat and fed Checkers. That is quite a drop from 411.
Can't wait to hear how the food influenced him.
 
Re: 9/11..Checkers +3/202..+4/102..+5/87.. advice please

Sienne, I did feed snack at +1.....he still dropped to 259 at +2
I did not make notations at +2 and +3
At +4, he had lc and bit of tuna.
Pat and Michelle, I fed one teaspoon 10% at that 87, because I don't think he reacts to LC. I'll find out soon enough.
thank you.
 
Re: 9/11..Checkers +3/202..+4/102..+5/87.. advice please

Good luck! My kitty also wasn't influenced very much by LC and I often had to feed a lot of HC to make a difference. Some cats just are not as carb sensitive as others and you don't know until you go through this diabetic treatment and are testing. I mean who knew?

I hope the MC gets Checkers surfing the nice greens. You are doing great.
 
Re: 9/11..Checkers +3/202..+4/102..+5/87.. +5.5/73

I was just going thru others' posts to see how they feed surfs. Am I supposed to feed a little at every test?
Can you tell I almost never get to green? :lol:
 
Re: 9/11..Checkers +3/202..+4/102..+5/87.. +5.5/73

Barb & Checkers said:
I was just going thru others' posts to see how they feed surfs. Am I supposed to feed a little at every test?
Can you tell I almost never get to green? :lol:

Yes. A little bit every hour or so might help keep Checkers surfing. Green is so exciting, yes!
 
Re: 9/11..Checkers +3/202..+4/102..+5/87.. +5.5/73

Checkers looks like he's a kitty that drops low, early in the cycle and then bounces. Gabby does this, as well, although not as badly since with Jill's guidance, I changed how I've been feeding. Take a look at Gabby's SS beginning on April 30th.

The idea here is to use food to manipulate the curve. It takes a good amount of perseverance since the changes are not instantaneous. It took about 2 mos. for Gabby's SS to start changing - although I was also working on how I was shooting at the same time. The first thing I would try is dividing up Checkers' usual amount of food into 4 portions. Feed those at pre-shot, +1, +2, and +3. In this way, you are front loading the cycle to help even out the numbers and so there is sufficient food on to offset the drop to a point in the cycle when the Lantus is kicking in. I'd suggest starting here so you can begin to collect more information on how Checkers responds to these mini-meals and whether the timing of these meals needs to be adjusted for your cat. Remember, ECID.

The other aspect of what I'm doing will mean a lot of dedication to testing and isn't for everyone. You need to keep increasing insulin until you see the cycle flattening out and you get more mid-cycle green with blues at pre-shot. I would wait until you see how Checkers responds to mini-meals before being aggressive with insulin. It may be that if you can slow the drops, the bounces won't be as extreme.

Jill can give you more detail about how to use food. She's very good at looking at a SS and making suggestions regarding how to use food to optimize a cat's response to insulin.
 
Re: 9/11..Checkers ..+4/102..+5/87.. +5.5/73..+6/85

Considering you increased his dose, yes, the LC didn't do a lot to hold him after +4 if that's what you fed him. LC and tuna. But, back at +4, you had no idea he was going to drop. Hindsight is 20/20.
The data you are collecting is good for the future. He dropped 100 points between +3 and +4.
You now know that with that steep a drop after the +1 snack too, he will need MC to keep him up in the future.

With the added insulin, you will watch how he does tonight too. Maybe consider doing the mini meals tonight too. Feed half of the normal (depending on his PMPS of course) Then feed a little more at +1 and +2 and see how he does with the LC with feeding that way. If he is dropping fast, you will know that LC won't do it for him and go right to MC. :roll: That's Plan A. Be prepared for Plan B and maybe a Plan C...it's all up to
Checkers.

You are doing great Barb...keep checking and feeding...I see that +6 is a nice rise. Check him at +7 and maybe LC then if he is in the same general area as the +6.
 
Re: 9/11..Checkers ..+4/102..+5/87.. +5.5/73..+6/85

Hi Barb - for what it is worth - take a look at Mannie's SS as well, as I am on the same path that Sienne has described. I had to go up in dosage, after starting the mini meals , to get Mannie to maintain the blue PS, and the green surf. We are just now starting to see results. I am with Sienne - the results are not instantaneous, and do take perseverance. Good luck - start with the mini meals - that alone really helped control Mannie's bounces.

I'd follow what pat describes for tonight. You'll know if LC is not enough. Good Luck!

and yes - you are doing great - just look at that nice green surf going on. Excellent!
 
Re: 9/11..Checkers ..+4/102..+5/87.. +5.5/73..+6/85

Sienne, this is so frustrating to me, because I value your opinion, and have always fed snacks/mini meals in the morning especially. I swear, I am not ignoring your advice. When he was at 411 ps....he ate breffis 1
An hour later, he was still at 411...fed again. Then dropped to 259 for +2.
I don't see how food is affecting him.
I always feed LC for these snacks/minis.
At +5.5, he got one teaspoon 10%, and rose 12 points.
I want to cry right about now.

Sienne thank you so much for your time and concern.

back after +6.5.......96, that is just nuts. He could raise that much from one teaspoon of 10% food?
 
Re: 9/11..Checkers ..+4/102..+5/87.. +5.5/73..+6/85

Hi Barb, You are doing great! And Checkers sounds like he knows you're doing great. Keep it up. I missed the early drama (got home just a little while ago), but it sounds like you've gotten terrific advice.
Carry on!!

Ella & Stu

p.s. This post crossed with yours. Don't be discouraged. Those 12 points don't mean anything: they are well within the range of meter differential. In other words, the 73 and the 85 are so close they are basically the same number. You are collecting data right now, and those data will begin to show a pattern as you keep on collecting. (And if there doesn't turn out to be a "pattern", you'll find that out, too!!!).
 
Re: 9/11..Checkers ..+4/102..+5/87.. +5.5/73..+6/85

Hi Michelle. I didn't see your post before I hit submit to Sienne.

I have been giving mini meals all along. Since the first time I got that advice.


I just raised his dose this morning. I don't know what I can possibly do differently regarding meals. I wish I had not given any food with the +5.5. The little bit of MC raised his bg that much????
I have got to be missing something here.

Am I not giving minis at the correct time? I give them right after test.
 
Re: 9/11..Checkers ..+4/102..+5/87.. +5.5/73..+6/85

Thank you , Ella. I take so long to compose replies, that someone posts and I am still typing. :roll: :-D
 
Re: 9/11..Checkers 5/87.. +5.5/73..+6/85..6.5/96

Hi Barb, YOu're not missing anything. You are doing it correctly. Check out the postscript in my post above (written while you were writing)!!

Ella
 
Re: 9/11..Checkers 5/87.. +5.5/73..+6/85..6.5/96

I can't express enough, my gratitude for the help and kindness I find on this board. :smile:
Now I am going to DD's, to bring extra cube and DVD of Checks and Clancy fighting over cube.
She bought them for me.
Annnnnnd, I'm gonna buy CHOCOLATE!! :lol:
 
Re: 9/11..Checkers 5/87.. +5.5/73..+6/85..6.5/96

Barb, you're doing good, don't stress! It takes some experimentation to figure out what food to feed when for your cat. The only way is to try something and keep notes, then try something different and keep notes, etc... Don't be so hard on yourself, there are no instruction manuals...you have to write your own and it's not easy! Those numbers are beautiful, keep surfing, Checkers! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/11..Checkers 5/87.. +5.5/73..+6/85..6.5/96

Back with the chocolate. :-D . DD's cats didn't like cube, so she made me take it back home. Sheesh, what's one more toy in her house, with 5 cats and a big drooler. :-D
I'm very pleased with today, so far, even after all my whining.
411 amps
411 +1
259 +2
202 +3
102 +4
87+5
85 +6
96 +6.5
115 +7
203 +10.25
Mama came home with roasted chicken, his fave, so he had a little at +10
 
Re: 9/11..Checkers 6.5/96...+7/115..+10/203

Hi Barb - I think you did great - you didn't miss anything - you got a green surf (!!) - and agree completely with what Ella wrote. Don't be discouraged - I know how you feel, I spent well over a year and a half in your shoes, and there dare days that I still do. This all takes an incredible amount of patience, and time. And you can whine anytime you want! :-D
 
Re: 9/11..Checkers~pmps/408

Here we go again. :-D
Gave 1oz LC fancy feast. He ate half. So now he should have another little bit at +1, +2, and +3. Is that right?

I will be testing during the night. I don't need sleep.......I have chocolate. :lol:
 
Re: 9/11..Checkers~pmps/408

Barb I just now saw your post. What a day you've had. ohmygod_smile That checkers has hold of the bungee cords and he doesn't want to let go. I have no advice, just encouragement. You really did great today! I hope you can get some sleep. It would take a lot of chocolate to keep me awake all night. :lol:

Hi Checkers, you might want to try surfing instead of diving & bungee jumping. You don't want to scare your bean - you love those treats. See you, Blackie
 
Re: 9/11..Checkers~pmps/408

Hi again, Barb, You don't need to get all your data on one day (or night). If he's in safe numbers, do a spot check or two before you go to bed and then get some sleep. Keep in mind that every day can be different from every other day. That's what makes it so much fun!! Enjoy your chocolate!

Ella
 
Re: 9/11..Checkers~pmps/408...+1/320~+2/214

Ella, I've been kind of a testing nut today, 'cause I just raised his dose this morning, and wanted to see what he would do.
He changes so fast. I'm being diligent tonight with the small amounts of food at 1,2,3. So far, so good.

I gave 1 oz at pmps. He ate only half, than acted like I was starving him, at +2, when I gave him the other half; so I gave a little more and a couple freeze dried chicken pieces.
Almost time for +3. Gonna give the rest of can.

170@+3....ate only a bit......will get up for a +5.
 
Re: 9/11..Checkers~pmps/408...+1/320~+2/214...+3/170

what a crazy day you and Checkers have had. No advice here just a cyber hug and a keep going.
 
Re: 9/11..Checkers~pmps/408...+1/320~+2/214...+3/170

That was a beautiful surf for Checkers today Barb.
As I said, you cannot know sometimes that they will drop....but if you do the mini meals as you did today and as you are doing tonight, you will be doing all that you possibly can to manage the numbers!
You did great today! really! :mrgreen:

Thank you for posting those great pictures of Checkers in my condo tonight. Boy..he really loves that nanner, eh? And what shiny fur he has...he looks so healthy and happy! I had ordered them today online finally...since I have never seen them anywhere. I am so excited to be waiting for them...you'd think it was for me or something! LOL...but so many kitties love them! Thank you for sharing those pix with me though...

If he drops again, a little HC and retest will help you raise the numbers again, right? You learned how to surf today Barb! Great job!! :thumbup
 
Re: 9/11..Checkers~pmps/408...+1/320~+2/214...+3/170

Thanks for the comments on the pictures, Pat. I wondered if I shouldn't have put the link in your condo, but you're such a sweetie, you wouldn't complain anyway. :YMHUG:
We got a 160 at +4. Checks is eating now, and that's it for the night. I'm certain he isn't going to drop much after this. Famous last words, huh?
Need sleep. zzzzzzzzzzz , as I sit here.
Nitey Nite. Thanks for all the entertainment today. :lol:
 
i'm too new to give advice either, barb...but you are doing a wonderful job! i have trouble figuring binks out too...but everyone's really good about coaching and guidance here.

binks is thinking bout keeping me up tonight too...

hang in there, i think it gets easier as we go along!

celi
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top