9/11 Butters PMPS 74/+1 85/+2 79/+3.5 88/+4.5 103/

Butters & Lyla

Member Since 2020
Yesterday I think I would've fed a smaller snack at +10 when she was sliding down toward PMPS time, if I had it to do over. I obviously don't know if giving her MC is why she stayed flat and blue overnight, or if this is the beginnings of the impact of the reduced dose (aka BCS) that I shot the evening of 9/9....or something else.

Have a lovely day/evening, all.
 
Good luck today Butters & Lyla! And only Butters has the answer to your questions and she's doesn't look like she's going to tell us :) FWIW, I don't think the MC snack would impact that late in the cycle, just for the next twoish hours.
 
She's looking great this morning.

You're learning what affects her...keep experimenting! A little more a little less...just keep working with her and keeping your notes :)
 
149 @+2.5
Butters gets a poke break for a few hours!
only Butters has the answer to your questions
I like to ask them out loud so I can refer back to them later. I'll add this to my thoughts: could there be a bounce in play. :)

She's looking great this morning. You're learning what affects her...keep experimenting! A little more a little less...just keep working with her and keeping your notes :)
Much as I'd like to see greens, I am pretty happy with how she looks this morning! It has been a challenge to get her out of high numbers and huge bounces. I hope she has turned a corner and that I can keep her on this path.
I'm reviewing all of my notes on what I fed and how she reacted, and use that info for next time. I feel very much like I am a student again.:D
 
Oops....I gave LC @+6 not MC:
76 @+6 Fed 1 tsp LC (NOT MC)
54 @+7 Fed 1.5 tsp HC
54 @+7.5 Fed 1 tsp MC
58 @+8 Fed 1/2 tsp MC....because she hasn't gotten that much of a rise in the past hour since I fed HC.
Let's see where this takes us!

Our kitties sure do like to keep us on our toes with their surprises! I hope Butters surfs it to pmps!
They do! I know 76 is an awesome number but it still made my heart skip a beat. I was almost going to wait another hour to test her. :facepalm:
 
So here's my suggestion - as it seems Miss Butters has an agenda. If you find that she's gone from 149 to 76 in a few hours although it's not 100 points, that's a fair drop for her - and that's her signal that she may like to go and visit the sharks...time for a little intervention.

Glad you caught up with her...she appears to love these late day nadirs doesn't she!
 
So here's my suggestion - as it seems Miss Butters has an agenda. If you find that she's gone from 149 to 76 in a few hours although it's not 100 points, that's a fair drop for her - and that's her signal that she may like to go and visit the sharks...time for a little intervention.

Glad you caught up with her...she appears to love these late day nadirs doesn't she!
So I probably should've gone with some MC at that point. Yeah, I was debating it and then went for LC. I'll keep that in mind for next time.

I've gotten into the habit of always getting a test around +2.5 thinking that's going to tell me how the cycle will go.I have to keep in mind that she's a late nadir kitty and so I shouldn't count on that as my barometer for whether I can leave home or not.:D
Or maybe she was in a bounce overnight last night and this morning, and now it is breaking in dramatic fashion. It is quite the drop.
 
58 @+9 Fed 1.5 tsp HC
Overdoing it a tad, perhaps. But I'd like to see if I can get her to surfing in the 60s for a change of pace. So I don't have to hover as much.

Oops....I gave LC @+6 not MC:
76 @+6 Fed 1 tsp LC (NOT MC)
54 @+7 Fed 1.5 tsp HC
54 @+7.5 Fed 1 tsp MC
58 @+8 Fed 1/2 tsp MC....because she hasn't gotten that much of a rise in the past hour since I fed HC.
56 @+8.5 Fed 1 tsp HC
 
That drop at +10:rolleyes:.
I gave 2 tsp HC and we'll see what she does with it. I'd hoped that the previous carb loading from +9.5 and earlier would have been enough to carry her through to PMPS, but that is not the case.
I have mainly been giving her just the gravy from the food. And I feel like I'm fighting her so hard to keep her up. I don't wanna delay shot time by too much today. On the other hand, my weekend plans look like they'll be up in smoke anyways if she's gonna pull these stunts, so it doesn't matter if things are delayed.
 
Odd...your message got posted in duplicate but 40 minutes apart.

I deleted the duplicate...I'm not sure what happened there.... I 'thought' I'd posted...had left for a bit...came back and my post was still sitting there - not posted??? So I hit 'reply' again...

Seems the forum is acting a little oddly lately..slow...

Forgive the duplicate! :facepalm:
 
Of course! That happens to me too.
72 @+10.5 I opted to give her another tsp of HC and move shot time ahead by 30 minutes, since it's okay to move it ahead by 30 minutes in a day anyways.
Let's see what happens from here. I'm not sure what I'd do if she falls back to the 50s in 30 minutes. I think I'd have to feed her but then we will start to get a big delay in between insulin doses.
 
One hour to go until insulin time...I sure hope she makes it without me needing to prop her up with more food. I'm not overly optimistic, but stranger things have happened. At this point, I won't intervene unless it really looks like she is heading for shark territory.
 
If you haven't shot yet, you may not want to shoot early. An early shot acts like a dose increase.
I delayed by 30 minutes to make sure that it was 2 hours from when I last fed Butters.:)
I am so tired I probably made a mistake somewhere that made you think I was gonna shoot early. Sorry!
 
Ha - that's how I felt about Jax! He had to work hard to get his :) I mean if these kitties are going to keep us up all night then they need to put in the work too ;)
Exactly! :D I'm not letting her off the hook that easily. Let's see what happens tonight. She may "reward" me with a PJ Party.
 
76 @+6 Fed 1 tsp LC
54 @+7 Fed 1.5 tsp HC
54 @+7.5 Fed 1 tsp MC
58 @+8 Fed 1/2 tsp MC
56 @+8.5 Fed 1 tsp HC
74 @+9.5 No food
56 @+10 Fed 2 tsp HC
72 @+10.5 Fed 1 tsp HC (and delayed shot time by 30 minutes)
68 @+11.25 No food
74 @PMPS Fed 1 tsp LC & 1 tsp MC
85 @+1 No food
 
Hey Lyla, Butter's is really putting you through the ringer
You must be so tired, you are doing an amazing job keeping up with her
Just stop these shannigans Butter and give your momma a break :bighug::cat:
 
Hey Lyla, Butter's is really putting you through the ringer
You must be so tired, you are doing an amazing job keeping up with her
Just stop these shannigans Butter and give your momma a break :bighug::cat:
lol, right! I love the green numbers....I also love sleep. I wanna know what the secret is to having both green numbers AND sleep. :D
 
I think she really wants that reduction....tonight will tell. You did great today. :)
Thanks. :)
I think she may be getting close to earning that reduction, too. She'll have to fight for it, though. She does make it clear when she really wants one, though: All of the carbs I gave her today would not have kept her out of the 40s. I think the August 7th is a good example of her really wanting a reduction. My mistake back then was taking a reduction August 6th because she hit 49 very briefly. Now I know that she'll really tell me when she wants it. :D
 
Thanks. :)
I think she may be getting close to earning that reduction, too. She'll have to fight for it, though. She does make it clear when she really wants one, though: All of the carbs I gave her today would not have kept her out of the 40s. I think the August 7th is a good example of her really wanting a reduction. My mistake back then was taking a reduction August 6th because she hit 49 very briefly. Now I know that she'll really tell me when she wants it. :D

For me personally, if I have to prop my girl up alllll day with higher carbs and she still persistently hangs close to the hypo line, I might consider that to count towards a reduction.
On TR for long term diabetics reductions are taken if they fall below 40, or below 50 three times. If I prop her up (like you did today all day) before she gets below 50, I’ll consider that as one of my three.

I hope you are able to get some rest tonight. I too have been exhausted lately! :bighug: Butters, please surf safely, thanks!!!
 
Fair point! It is a lot of work to keep her surfing but my girl just got some decent green numbers so I don't wanna give up on them that easily, even if it is probably to the detriment of my health and definitely my life. :)
When Butters wants a reduction, no amount of propping will keep her from falling below 50. But I don't see that as a dangerous thing. For me, falling under 50 is the point where a reduction is taken, not the hypo line. I believe Butters is safe; I'm just without a life. I wanna let her ride this dose a bit more if I can.
I hope you get some rest! This sugar dance, it is exhausting!:bighug:
 
Fair point! It is a lot of work to keep her surfing but my girl just got some decent green numbers so I don't wanna give up on them that easily, even if it is probably to the detriment of my health and definitely my life. :)
When Butters wants a reduction, no amount of propping will keep her from falling below 50. But I don't see that as a dangerous thing. For me, falling under 50 is the point where a reduction is taken, not the hypo line. I believe Butters is safe; I'm just without a life. I wanna let her ride this dose a bit more if I can.
I hope you get some rest! This sugar dance, it is exhausting!:bighug:

I already figured I exchanged a year or two of my life to keep Alice going for another year or two herself. Haha. It is definitely draining at times! Most all of us have sacrificed at least a bit of normal life for our sugarcats. I have literally left social outings to give my cat insulin. It’s maybe a little hilarious because to some people it sounds like an excuse... but it’s true!
I’ll take one less year of my life and give it to her, happily. It means more for her than it does me. :)
 
I already figured I exchanged a year or two of my life to keep Alice going for another year or two herself. Haha. It is definitely draining at times! Most all of us have sacrificed at least a bit of normal life for our sugarcats. I have literally left social outings to give my cat insulin. It’s maybe a little hilarious because to some people it sounds like an excuse... but it’s true!
I’ll take one less year of my life and give it to her, happily. It means more for her than it does me. :)
I couldn't agree more on all counts. I'm sleeping little, constantly forgetting to eat, and was so stressed about Butters' high numbers. lolol. So yep, I lose years off my life and she gains time.:joyful: When I try to make any kind of plan, I immediately throw out the caveat that I can only do it if Butters will let me. So ya, I get judged regularly by my family and my friends. :rolleyes: I completely understand what you're saying. I'd do anything for Butters; she is family.
 
Back
Top