9/11, Binie AMPS 375, +3 135, +6 169

Heike & BInie

Very Active Member
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/9-10-binie-amps-460-3-337-6-303.293891/#post-3205579

Good evening,

after another high cycle at night, Binie had suddently a big drop at +2.5 today. I gave a tsp. high carb and she had a long stretch of blue numbers. :cool::cool::cool::cool::cool: Unfortunately she was shooting up from +7 on. :(

Today is day 7 on this dose. Yesterday I wanted to ask about increasing tomorrow but after this cycle I feel, that the dose might be good for some more days.

Hope everyone has a relaxed day! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
First thing, you didn't need high carb at that big drop, I would have tried somewhat lower carb.

Second, I'd still consider that increase. On the night of the 9th, the 95 Libre tested over 150 on the Accucheck, so it's possible today's blues were also over 150. With SLGS, you want to increase if she's not seeing nadirs (note the plural) in the 90-149 range on a BG meter.
 
First thing, you didn't need high carb at that big drop, I would have tried somewhat lower carb.

Second, I'd still consider that increase. On the night of the 9th, the 95 Libre tested over 150 on the Accucheck, so it's possible today's blues were also over 150. With SLGS, you want to increase if she's not seeing nadirs (note the plural) in the 90-149 range on a BG meter.

Hi Wendy, thank you so much for checking on us and your feedback! :) Seems like I still don't really understand how to handle the food in way that makes sense. My idea was to slow the drop a bit so she can slide down more gently. :rolleyes: Should I have given her the normal low carb (below 6 %) or something lower than the 20 % Sheba, which I gave today? Can I read about it somewhere in the forum?

About the numbers: The libre seems to be not linear in how the numbers differ to the handheld. I tested some blue libre numbers with the handheld in the past and they are most of the time quite close while the higher green numbers on the libre are sometimes blue numbers on the handheld. Strange, but I saw that in other ss as well. So I think she likely had three cycles with numbers below 150 on this dose. My thought was also to give her a bit more time because of the heavy bouncing. All these red numbers concern me. Does this makes sense?
 
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/9-10-binie-amps-460-3-337-6-303.293891/#post-3205579

Good evening,

after another high cycle at night, Binie had suddently a big drop at +2.5 today. I gave a tsp. high carb and she had a long stretch of blue numbers. :cool::cool::cool::cool::cool: Unfortunately she was shooting up from +7 on. :(

Today is day 7 on this dose. Yesterday I wanted to ask about increasing tomorrow but after this cycle I feel, that the dose might be good for some more days.

Hope everyone has a relaxed day! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Heike, glad Binie is seeing blue streaks. Now we just need to get some of the reds to disappear.
Wishing you lots of good luck when you do increase Binie’s dose.
Maybe if she does a drop like today you could try 10 or 12% to see how that would work to slow her down??
You will have to experiment and see what works for her.
Just keep good notes as you do on the SS so you can see what works best for her.
Sending you both hugs for a cozy and calm night :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Heike, glad Binie is seeing blue streaks. Now we just need to get some of the reds to disappear.
Wishing you lots of good luck when you do increase Binie’s dose.
Maybe if she does a drop like today you could try 10 or 12% to see how that would work to slow her down??
You will have to experiment and see what works for her.
Just keep good notes as you do on the SS so you can see what works best for her.
Sending you both hugs for a cozy and calm night :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Thank you so much Staci! The challenge is to find a medium carb wet food Binie likes enough, so I can be shure she will eat it. She is still picky with wet food. :( The last ten years I really tried so many brands and flavours. So this is work in progress but I will experiment. And yes, the ss is so important. I'm not really good at that.

I hope you and Ivy have a relaxed and good day today! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
20% seems like a lot of carbs to feed. 6% might be too low. More information in this post:
The way to get reduce the red numbers is with an increase. Ignore the bouncing, it is not a factor when deciding what to do about the dose.

Thank you so much Wendy! :bighug::bighug::bighug: I will have to experiment more with different foods. I appreciate your adivce so much but I have to admit, that I am struggling with the idea of an increase this time. Curious what you think about our update I will write.
 
Back
Top