9/11, Bell, AMPS 142, +11.5 40, +11.75 69, PMPS 68, +0.5 76, +1 72 +2 68, +3 111, +4 119

Seth&Bell

Very Active Member
Yesterday

Bell bounced last night and then returned this morning with an active cycle, even with her reduced dose. Currently juggling work and trying to keep Bell safe and losing my mind a little :D. Super happy with her progress!
 
upload_2024-9-11_11-16-19.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-9-11_11-16-19.png
    upload_2024-9-11_11-16-19.png
    479.1 KB · Views: 92
Lol, nothing like drawing blood from her ear while running conference call.

She's still dropping. Got 1/8 can of fancy feast in her for the +4.5. I'll get a +5 and see where she is at. I'm assuming if she gets below 50, I reduce again, even though she's just 2 cycles into her previous reduction?
 
Bell just hit 47. I'm 90% sure the answer is "yes", but should I reduce her next dose to 2.25 tonight? She just earned a reduction yesterday from 2.75 to 2.5.
 
Bell just hit 47. I'm 90% sure the answer is "yes", but should I reduce her next dose to 2.25 tonight? She just earned a reduction yesterday from 2.75 to 2.5.
No. You would not reduce again. What you're seeing is still the effects of the 2.75U depot. You would give the depot at least 4 cycles to adjust. If on the 4th cycle of 2.5U (or after), she drops below 50, you would reduce.
 
What Bhooma said. The larger depot can influence 4-6 cycles after a reduction. The good news is that she's breaking bounces really quickly and looks like she's not going to fail this reduction. :D
 
Thank you! Glad I asked.

I think I may have messed up today: I really needed to go into work and put it off as much as possible. I got a +5.5 at 47, so I fed her and grabbed a +6 and +6.5 which were 68 and 67... Fed her again at the +6.5 and loaded up her automatic feeder for when I was at work. I got home in time for the +10, which turned out to be 53. Ugh. She is fine, but hadn't touched her food from the feeder. I figured she was on the rise after her nadir, but I'm guessing the depot was still strong and the +6 and +6.5 were food influenced. Feel really bad about that. I can't work from home all day/everyday so I need to figure something out here...

Tonight's shot should be interesting :nailbiting:. Bhooma walked me through a shot on 9/6 at 66, and advised to shoot anything above 50 without stalling. Might be a no sleep kinda night...
 
Lantus double dip is a mini curve that sometimes happens at the end of the cycle, but not as low as the main cycle. Could be that.
 
Welp, her PMBG is 40... I had not fed after the +10. I skipped the shot and fed 1/8 can of fancy feast
 
Just measured 15 min after feeding that 1/8 can of fancy feast and got a 61.

I'm going to measure her again in 15 min (30 min after the PMBG). If anyone sees this, I'm assuming I still won't shoot a dose since I fed her that 1/8 can of fancy feast 30 min prior?
 
I didn't feel comfortable stalling with her sitting at 40... Maybe that was a mistake, but better to error on the safe side without me being an expert in what I'm doing
 
Yeah for sure, I guess my debate was should I stall without food (with no shot) for 30 min or not. I chose to feed a bit instead of stalling without food.
 
Like if I measure her again at +0.5 after PMBG and she is high, I'm wondering if I should still shoot. Or just call it a night and treat it like a fur shot
 
I did add the question at +11. I don't think anyone was on in that hour, which is no worries at all. I didn't want to use the 911 tag because she seemed ok, just low
 
I'll grab the +0.5 in a couple minutes here. That might make the decision easy (if it was just a food bump vs a real bounce/insulin wearing off)
 
I did add the question at +11. I don't think anyone was on in that hour, which is no worries at all. I didn't want to use the 911 tag because she seemed ok, just low
I would add “help, shoot?” In your title.
It is advised that you post and ask for help in these cases so an experienced person can help you.
Especially since Bell really is racing down the dosing ladder.
 
Ok yeah I think I forgot to post the "help" at the end. But I did add the question mark and asked for advice in the thread.
 
Ok yeah I think I forgot to post the "help" at the end. But I did add the question mark and asked for advice in the thread.
Sometimes if there’s no info in the title I think you may get skipped over when they are looking for problems to help with. You want to make it easy for them to find you quickly. (I don’t think they have time to read all posts hunting for a problem buried in your thread).
Just trying to help. Not telling you what to do :)
 
I can get a 0.75, I did that a couple cycles ago when I was stalling and shot 45 min after her normal time. I then slowly moved her shot time back over multiple cycles. I am thinking she may be on the rise here
 
Last edited:
Sometimes if there’s no info in the title I think you may get skipped over when they are looking for problems to help with. You want to make it easy for them to find you quickly. (I don’t think they have time to read all posts hunting for a problem buried in your thread).
Just trying to help. Not telling you what to do :)
Oh no didn't take it that way at all, definitely forgot the context at the end (and ran out of room for it). I just thought you meant I wasn't asking for advice. I just don't think someone was online during that hour where I was debating. You can tell me what to do any day, Staci :D
 
I think I'm going to shoot this, I can monitor this tonight and have plenty of supplies on hand for her. I'll wait a few minutes for someone to yell "NOOO" at me :)
 
I ended up shooting the full 2.5 dose 45 min late. I'll leave the question in for now because I would like input if this was a mistake or not. Gah this is stressful. Really appreciate you jumping in, Staci
 
I ended up shooting the full 2.5 dose 45 min late. I'll leave the question in for now because I would like input if this was a mistake or not. Gah this is stressful. Really appreciate you jumping in, Staci
She may be rising from the carbs, or just naturally rising. She could drop again possibly. I know you will watch her very closely.

I would leave the question up until you get an answer. That will help for the next time you have an issue.
I’d just rather you get some expert guidance (not from me as I’m not a trained advisor).
:bighug:
 
Oh no, I completely understand and I am aware that you are not comfortable giving dosing advice. I think I tend to post and ask questions a lot just because I want to get all the relevant information on what is going on. I also am not expecting experts to be on call round the clock, everyone here is so amazing in what they are doing. If my tone was off at all in this thread, it was just because I was in a big rush to get info here and make sure that Bell was ok.
 
Oh no, I completely understand and I am aware that you are not comfortable giving dosing advice. I think I tend to post and ask questions a lot just because I want to get all the relevant information on what is going on. I also am not expecting experts to be on call round the clock, everyone here is so amazing in what they are doing. If my tone was off at all in this thread, it was just because I was in a big rush to get info here and make sure that Bell was ok.
No tone at all. I would encourage you to post often. There’s so much to learn to help your kitty.

You did the right thing by posting so you got some help. I just wish I had all the answers :)
 
I for one am curious at how the experts here got all the answers. But that is a question for another time :D. I am picturing them taking a long, hard journey up a mountain, and at the top is a shrine full of cats where they learn all the secrets.
 
Bell's +0.5 (readjusted based on her late shot time) is 76. So she's continuing to rise. She has food in her system so I am aware I need to be careful of that dropping off and her numbers tanking.
 
Last edited:
I didn’t want to mess around with that 40 (lowest I’ve ever read for her). But since she hadn’t had food in 2 hours (since the +10), I was betting that the low carb fancy feast would be enough to get her out of trouble.
 
As far as shooting after feeding, I don’t know if that was the right move at all. :(. But I wasn’t going to shoot the 40 and I wasn’t comfortable just stalling without food in case she dropped lower.
 
Feeding a little lc in this situation and stalling was a good idea although I likely would have said a teaspoon if it. There was definitely a strong depot. Had you stalled without food at pmps the bg could have dropped under 50 again.
 
Ok I appreciate the feedback. Yeah her true time PMPS was 40. I adjusted my spreadsheet to reflect the time when I shot her, which was 45 minutes after that. I clocked her at 68 then and shot.
 
As far as shooting after feeding, I don’t know if that was the right move at all. :(. But I wasn’t going to shoot the 40 and I wasn’t comfortable just stalling without food in case she dropped lower.
It was fine because it was lc. You never want to shoot a bg under 50.
 
Such a busy day Bell gave you! :bighug::bighug:

I for one am curious at how the experts here got all the answers. But that is a question for another time :D. I am picturing them taking a long, hard journey up a mountain, and at the top is a shrine full of cats where they learn all the secrets.
A - I love the imagery! B - Some of them have been here a long time, and learned from others before them. Some might not have been around as long, but it might be that they can cover an area of the world that isn't as well managed/give more eyes in more time zones. And some folks never really get comfortable giving advice - I can about some things, but dosing is one I'm still not super comfortable with.

Lol, nothing like drawing blood from her ear while running conference call.
Those are my fave! Some of my colleagues have asked to pause the meeting so I can show them what I'm doing. It always amuses me.
 
A - I love the imagery! B - Some of them have been here a long time, and learned from others before them. Some might not have been around as long, but it might be that they can cover an area of the world that isn't as well managed/give more eyes in more time zones. And some folks never really get comfortable giving advice - I can about some things, but dosing is one I'm still not super comfortable with.
This thing you have going here is really amazing. I am getting a feel for everyone's role here. The way you have people of all experience levels just playing a part to triage new members and get them emotionally settled and also provide the information they need is really something. It is so overwhelming and you are drinking from a firehose when you start this journey. Once I'm not completely overwhelmed, I hope to be able to offer a little bit of the morale support to folks just starting out.

Those are my fave! Some of my colleagues have asked to pause the meeting so I can show them what I'm doing. It always amuses me.
I showed a co-worker my spreadsheet today, and they were like... "woah". I'm sure a lot of them think I'm nuts :). And they're right, just not about the cat stuff:D
 
Looks like you had an exciting evening! :eek::eek::eek:

Like Elise said, you don't want to deny food at 40. She might have dropped lower. Feeding a little LC was fine. I don't know if you have seen this sticky on handling lower preshots?
Tight Regulation: Becoming Data Ready to Shoot / Handle Lower Pre-shot Numbers

Next time you get a lower number at +10 or even +10.5, you want to feed a little LC so that she doesn't drop too low to shoot. If you feed at +10.5, you can always delay the shot by 30 mins so that you get a clear 2 hour window without food.

 
Thank you Bhooma, I read it early on but it is time for a refresher! I did feed her at the +10 when she read a 53. That propped up her numbers to a 66 at 10.25. But then she dropped to 51 @ +11 and to 40 @ +12.

This is prolly wishful thinking, but is there any chance she is partially regulating herself? I find it interesting that the last few nights while she was bouncing, she returned to mid-blues at her AMPS. She's doing great whatever it is!
 
Back
Top