9/11/13 Jerry AMPS 326 +9 488 PMPS 311 +5 81 +6 136

Status
Not open for further replies.

HappyCat

Member Since 2013
Jerry's my bouncer so I've been trying to get a variety of testings to try to narrow things down. It's kind of seeming to me that he used to be high at the shot time low in the middle and back to high numbers for the next shot. Now he seems to maybe be bouncing more frequently 4 times a day instead of 2. Maybe I'm misinterpreting it but he's always getting less predictable losing out on what could have been considered his constants like when he's usually at his lowest and how often. Always hoping the best for him though.
 
HappyCat said:
Jerry's my bouncer so I've been trying to get a variety of testings to try to narrow things down. It's kind of seeming to me that he used to be high at the shot time low in the middle and back to high numbers for the next shot. Now he seems to maybe be bouncing more frequently 4 times a day instead of 2. Maybe I'm misinterpreting it but he's always getting less predictable losing out on what could have been considered his constants like when he's usually at his lowest and how often. Always hoping the best for him though.
Hello Sarah and welcome to Lantus Land! I may be a little lay saying that as I don't think I've introduced myself. I'm Kat from Ohio, and Gobbles is my diet-controlled sugar cat; a very handsome 11 year old neutered gray tabby; he was on Lantus for six months, then went into remission. Bouncing can go on for some time--I see Jerry's a tad bouncy--Gobbles was the same way his first couple of months. Each Lantus cycle usually starts at a higher number, then about 5-7 hours past shot time (for most, but not all, cats) kitty will dip to lower numbers, then back up again at the next shot time. As far as these kitties being predictable--they're just being cats--always having us guess what the heck they're up to. I note that your SS isn't up to date--is everything okay?
 
Thank you for the introduction. :) I'm Sarah owner of Jerry the Happy Cat. Always happy to meet fellow cat lovers nonetheless someone who can relate to the diabetes.
Things have been okay with Jerry, thanks for asking. He's always in high spirits which I absolutely adore. I'm trying not to be frustrated but even as a bouncer he had been somewhat predictable now I'm not sure of when the best time to test him is. His nights seem much more normal than his days which are very erratic. Spreadsheet is updated through yesterday, AM 367 today. Haven't made a new post for him yet as not even sure when to test him for most accurate AM mid-readings as his curve seems to have changed. Thank you for checking up on us we appreciate it. :)
 
Welcome to Lantus Land!

Personally, I wouldn't be worried about the bouncing. Jerry is bouncing off of the blue numbers during your PM cycle and then clearing the bounce within 24 hours. Given that it can take up to 72 hours for a bounce to clear, Jerry is doing great!

It looks to me like you may be holding on your doses a bit longer than you have to. If you opt to follow the Tight Regulation Protocol, we evaluate the dose after 3 days/6 cycles. If your nadir isn't in the range you want, then it's time to increase Jerry's dose. Sticking with a dose that isn't bringing numbers into the desired range, can set up a situation whereby Jerry's body gets used to the higher numbers. This makes it more challenging to get the numbers to come down and can contribute to bouncing.
 
HappyCat said:
...He's always in high spirits which I absolutely adore. I'm trying not to be frustrated but even as a bouncer he had been somewhat predictable now I'm not sure of when the best time to test him is. His nights seem much more normal than his days which are very erratic. Spreadsheet is updated through yesterday, AM 367 today. Haven't made a new post for him yet as not even sure when to test him for most accurate AM mid-readings as his curve seems to have changed....
High spirits is good~usually means they're feeling better :-D

You can make a post each and every day if you'd like, and can include a link from the prior day's post plus what we call a "WCR" (whole cat report), with information regarding the 5 P's (peeing, pooing, preening, playing, purring) and which ones he haves (or lacks). Also, you can include (now this is all in your beginning day's post, any questions you have and additional information like vet visits and maybe a cute antic or two--once in a while if you'd like, post a picture! If you have a question, click the "?' icon and put a "?" in the subject line.

'm glad you aren't real frustrated with the bouncing. Eventually, he will bounce in lower numbers and the bounces won't last as long. Patience, patience, patience. I was basically pulling my hair out with Gobbles for the first few months...LOL. As for the best time to test him: If time allows, always before each and every shot (has anyone told you yet that you really need to remove all his food two hours prior to test time? You don't want a "food influenced" pre-shot test). I always liked to get a +2 test with each cycle. Now if the +2 is lower than the pre-shot BG, he will most likely be having an active cycle. Here's how Lantus USUALLY works (though ECID):

Example of a typical Lantus curve:
+0 - PreShot number (AMPS or PMPS).
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.


A lot will depend on where you see a drop in numbers. When you see numbers dropping, you need to get some tests to tell you if it's safe to leave your kitty.

Please continue to ask any questions you have :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top