9/10 Skunky AMPS 58 +2 45, +12.4 63

Status
Not open for further replies.

Skunky's Mom

Member Since 2014
Hi all.
Well. . . we're having a really low day.
I didn't think I'd have to worry about a hypo on .1 u but her +1.5 (ish) was 47. I gave her some crunchies and a little high carb and gravy and tested again 40 minutes later and she was at 45. I had to go to work :-( I'm about to head home in a few and test her again.
AMPS was 58. Which was very surprising considering it was a: an hour and a half late and b: after she ate quite a bit.
I almost didn't even get that +1 test. I didn't figure I needed to worry about low numbers on such a low dose. I mean, it's a drop of insulin!! So glad I decided to get that test.
I guess she's trying to tell me something. . .
 
Re: 9/10 Skunky - can a cat hypo on .1 u???? +1, 47

Sarah, the answer is YES! She can hypo on any amount. Did you leave food out for her? I do think she is telling you something! I'm done, Mama!

I'm sure someone more experienced will be along shortly, but it looks to me like you might be ready for a trial! Please post when you get home and check her. I'll be praying that she's okay!
 
Re: 9/10 Skunky - can a cat hypo on .1 u???? +1, 47

Thank you Tricia!

Ok, she was 51 just now. Which was right at +3.5

I'm kinda surprised she didn't go up a little more.

I gave her more of the high carb food and some crunchy treats. She's not a big fan of the high carb which, this time, is Friskies Tasty Treasures. When I got back home the food was still there. All the gravy licked off though.

I have another can of something I'm guessing is really high carb, from reading the ingredients. It's a new variety and not on any list. Sauce Sensations. I'll use it if I have to. but i'm glad she's rising. a little bit anyway.

all hell has broken loose at work :-x
Luckily I live like 4 miles form the office.
 
Re: 9/10 Skunky - can a cat hypo on .1 u???? +1, 47

I just tested again, it has been like 20 minutes, and she's 54. a little better.
 
Re: 9/10 Skunky - can a cat hypo on .1 u???? +1, 47

I'd leave some food out while you're gone, too. It doesn't have to be HC - MC will be okay, too. Glad she was okay and came up a little.
 
Re: 9/10 Skunky - can a cat hypo on .1 u???? +1, 47

I'm so glad Skunky was okay when you got home. Do you have to go back to work today? If so, make sure you leave out plenty of food.

I think it was Julie who mentioned (in a long-ago post) that a member had reduced down to a small dose (like .1u), stopped testing thinking all was okay, and his kitty died of what they thought was a hypo. Hopefully someone can confirm or deny that. I wasn't a member when it apparently happened.

Yep - looks like an OTJ trial is on the way. Yay! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/10 Skunky - can a cat hypo on .1 u? +1, 47+4 54

Thanks y'all. there was still plenty of food on her plate but now I wish I had put down some fresh. Dangit. I also fed her a few more crunchies. She wasn't hungry, but when I put it right in front of her face she will eat it!
 
Re: 9/10 Skunky AMPS 58 +2 45, +4 54

she probably will be ok just using canned low carb food at this point. i'm not sure what you mean by crunchies - usually i think of dry food as crunchies. if that's what it is, i'd get rid of it. i can't tell you how many cats we see come out of remission because they got into dry food. i don't even trust the Young Again.

what time do you shoot tonight? Some of us are chatting about skunky's new dose . . . :mrgreen:

and yes, Shelly's right. it's one of the saddest stories i've seen. we don't know that the kitty died of a hypo, but even on one drop you can't get complacent. any amount of insulin injected is still insulin injected.

for now, she is looking ok.
 
Re: 9/10 Skunky AMPS 58 +2 45, +4 54

Thank you Julie!
The crunchies are some treats I bought a few days ago when she was so low. I was using them to keep her BG up during those long long nights.
But I will toss them when I get home.

I was a little late with her shot today, so her dosage time would be midnight Eastern.

I figured she earned a reduction today though!
 
Re: 9/10 Skunky AMPS 58 +2 45, +4 54 +7, 70

Well, looks like she's just fine this evening but my oh my I had a scare when I got home earlier.

She tends to hang out at the top of the stairs, which is right in front of the front door. She was laying there like always but when I spoke to her and started walking up the steps she didn't move or blink or anything. So I started running up the stairs and she sat up like - WHAT???

Then I did her test and it read 23. Somehow, I didn't freak out. because she seemed just fine. Retested, 70. Phew. Retested again, 73.

Dang crazy meter!!!
 
Re: 9/10 Skunky AMPS 58 +2 45, +4 54 +7, 70

What a welcome home! :shock: It always gets your blood pumping when the meter gives you a wonky reading, doesn't it?

I figured she earned a reduction today though!

I thought she did, too. I would ask for confirmation on this before shooting anything tonight - and personally wouldn't shoot anything if I didn't hear back from someone before shot time. I may have missed something, but I thought you would start your OTJ trial after the low numbers this morning.
 
Re: 9/10 Skunky AMPS 58 +2 45, +4 54 +7, 70

What a day for Skunky! I think she's at that phase where you pull out the syringe and wave it over her head. :mrgreen: :-D OTJ trials are normally started on a green AMBG or PMBG - looking good so far.
 
Re: 9/10 Skunky AMPS 58 +2 45, +11.5 84OTJ Trial??

Evening folks!

Well, since Skunky went below 50 today, she earned a reduction, right? And since she's only on a drop of insulin that means. . . OTJ trial?
I don't know how those work, by the way. . .

She was 84 just now at 11.5. She found one single dang crunchy treat just now and ate it :-(. I gotta throw that crap away.

She was 86 at 10.5

One other thing. . . I only have like 7 strips and can't get anymore until tomorrow evening. I'm not sure how that happened but. . . it did.
 
Re: 9/10 Skunky AMPS 58 +2 45, +11.5 84 OTJ Trial??

Hopefully one of the more experienced members will be along shortly to advise you, but I'd think with Skunky still being green at +11.5, and with only having 7 strips to make it through tomorrow night, you may want to go ahead and start the trial with tonight's PMBG. Fingers crossed that she's still GREEN at your normal shot time! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/10 Skunky AMPS 58 +2 45, +11.5 84 OTJ Trial??

Hi Sarah, we think it's time for Skunky's new dose. :-D Here are the OTJ trial instructions:

Start the trial on her next green preshot.

If she is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time, just feed small meals and go about your day. If she is blue, feed a small meal and test again after about 3 hours. If her number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then her pancreas is working!

Post every day so we can monitor your progress and see if any tweaks are needed. It is not unusual for cats to get lots of blue during their trial, especially at first. Don't panic and don't shoot unless we tell you to.

After 14 days of no insulin, we have a party!

Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens, we just give her the support she needs. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.

Good luck!

If she gets through the trial successfully, you enter a new phase. Your cat is still diabetic, but has now become diet-controlled. Continue feeding low-carb food and small meals for the rest of her life. Avoid medications with sugar in them and steroid medications unless they are medically essential. Continue testing blood sugar weekly for the next few months and then monthly forever. It's a good idea to weigh her monthly. Her weight should remain stable. If she seems "off" or sick, or is showing symptoms of diabetes (excessive drinking, eating, urinating, weight loss) test her blood sugar right away. Keep the teeth clean; dental issues can bring a cat out of remission.

If you see rising blood sugar numbers, post here before you restart insulin and ask for advice on how to proceed.
 
Yay!
Thank you Wendy! I want to learn how to make those cute dancing cats. . if i could, i would make them now :-D

Her PMBG was 63. Woot! And that was actually about 45 minutes after her shot time would have been.

Thanks for the instructions!!!

Do I get to use the OTJ icon or is that only once it's "official" ?
 
You can start the post tomorrow with 9/11 Skunky OTJ Trial Day on AMBG xx. The OTJ icon comes after 14 days after the trial is over.

Here ya go - the first dancing cat.

dancingcat-2.gif
 
I love it! Thank you Wendy! And everybody!

I don't know what I'd do without you guys! I wouldn't be doing an OTJ trial I know that's for sure! :cool:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top