9/10 Ozy PMPS-104,+2-83,+3-60,+4-54,+5-54,+6.5-63,+8-86

Status
Not open for further replies.

donaleen and Ozy

Member Since 2013
Gulp.... more than a little afraid of this 122.

And I fed him. Not supposed to do that if I want to stall. Forgot that piece.
 
Re: 9/10 Ozy AMBG-122 Shoot THIS?

Only you can decide for sure, because you are the one there with him. But you handled yesterday's cycle really well so this will just be more of the same (and hey at least it's daytime!). You have the tools to keep him safe, and the support of people here. If you shoot and he starts dropping faster than you like, you can always give him high carb and don't have to try for the low greens yet.

If you are really uncomfortable, you can hold off on feeding and wait half an hour to see if he's come up a bit, and then shoot a bit higher number. It will just throw your next shot time off a bit if you do that. Oops sorry I missed that you'd already fed him.
 
Re: 9/10 Ozy AMBG-122 Shoot THIS?

Amy,

I was just looking at Papaya's SS...scary TO ME. Wow, what a range Papaya has. Nice name.

I am on the fence. Feeling like he might need a reduction. I guess go ahead and see what happens. As you said, it IS day time....
 
Re: 9/10 Ozy AMBG-122 Shoot THIS?

I hope Papaya's spreadsheet at least gave you the feeling of whew, at least I don't have to deal with THAT cat :lol:

I'm sure you'll get in some early tests if you do go ahead and shoot, so just keep us updated with how it's going and shout for help if you need it!
 
Re: 9/10 Ozy AMBG-122 Shoot THIS?

Thanks Amy. I DID shoot.

And I am thankful he isn't as wild as Papaya... however do you do it?
 
Re: 9/10 Ozy AMBG-122 Shoot THIS?

One more thing about Papaya - even with some of the lows she has pulled out of her had when I was least expecting them, the most "extreme" symptom I've ever seen was just FEED ME NOW OR I WILL EAT YOU hunger. Early in treating her, I shot a 108 (bravery or stupidity? not sure :lol: ) and had to be out of the house until +4. Silly me, I put food on her plate but then left it on the counter instead of putting it on the floor! I came home to a ravenous 38 and I kind of freaked out, but she came back up just fine. Clinical hypos on Lantus are very rare, and when you're home-testing and know how to bring up low numbers you are in control.
 
Re: 9/10 Ozy AMPS-122 I did shoot this...

Ozy is looking GREAT!! Paws crossed for a nice safe pancreas healing cycle. Whenever you shoot your lowest yet PS, we recommend a +1 and a +2 test to see how the cycle is shaping up.
 
Re: 9/10 Ozy AMPS-122 I did shoot this...

Wonderful numbers. Gotta shoot low to stay low! If he keeps these numbers up......

Looking forward to a +1.

Wendy
 
Re: 9/10 Ozy AMBG-122 Shoot THIS?

donaleen and Ozy said:
I am thankful he isn't as wild as Papaya... however do you do it?

I guess the biggest thing is I can see how much better the insulin and the diet change is making her feel. The bounces don't even last a whole cycle most of the time now, so I just sigh and wait for the next cycle because chances are it will be better. The lows - well, there's always high carb. And she always seems to feel so good even when she's really low . . . she just sits there smiling and waiting for me to bring her more gravy!

I'm always happy when people who have heard that my cat is diabetic come over and see her and go wow, she looks so healthy! I think they're expecting some miserable looking creature, but she's shiny and sociable and really feeling pretty good most days. So it gives me confidence that I'm doing the right thing for her. I can't stop the crazy bounces, but I'm learning things that help reduce them a bit, and even with all the going up and down she is working her way down in dose.

I'm glad you shot! Every time you shoot a bit lower number and realize you can handle it, it gives you confidence (and data) for next time.
 
Re: 9/10 Ozy AMPS-122 I did shoot this...

Thanks Wendys' and Amy. I will try not to hyperventilate or poke so many holes in Ozy that he has no blood left.


SUPER VAMPIRE!
 
Re: 9/10 Ozy AMPS-122 I did shoot this...

:lol: Not long after I joined FDMB, I saw someone had posted a picture doctored to look like the cat was wearing earrings. I so didn't get the joke at that point but I sure do now - all those earpricks!
 
Re: 9/10 Ozy AMPS-122 I did shoot this...

Nice shooting! You may want to give him a snack at +1 and +2 to make sure he doesn't drop too fast if he's prone to the drop and bounce. Safe surfing Ozy!
 
Re: 9/10 Ozy AMPS-122,+1-160,+2-160

Thanks Wendy and Nikki's Moms. I did give him a little something to eat...but, he keeps gaining weight. It seems hard to control his glucose and his food intake at the same time. He is up to 17.6... maybe the scale isn't quite accurate but that is nearly a pound in less than a month. We are seeing the vet on Thursday. Probably get some trouble about the weight.

Today is Caturday at our house. That is when we do the weekly stuff. Weighing. B12 injection. Hairball remedy.

And today we are going to try subq fluids again. We did it two days ago and only managed 50 ml before he freaked out. He growled almost the whole time and wanted to get away and then he was insistent. People say it is SOOOO good for pancreatitis. Gotta try something that highly recommended. Maybe I need to watch more videos on how to do it.

I've done it with cats before but both of them were dying and were not at all difficult about it. And it's been more than four years since the last time.
 
Re: 9/10 Ozy AMPS-122,+1-160,+2-160,+3.5-146

Wonderful blues! I'm glad you're having a little more relaxing day than you were bracing for!
 
Re: 9/10 Ozy AMPS-122,+2-160,+5-128,+6.5-101,+11-110

Well here we are at +11 with a 110....

He has been blue all cycle, which is pretty cool. In fact he has been in normal range for three cycles now. WOW.

I guess I'll do a lot of testing tonight.
 
Re: 9/10 Ozy AMPS-122,+2-160,+5-128,+6.5-101,+11-110

I just love seeing all those blues today with Ozy.
jazz_cat_by_if_not_for_gravity-d5p80qv.jpg


Looks like you are doing so much better.
And Ozy is too. :thumbup cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 9/10 Ozy AMPS-122,+2-160,+5-128,+6.5-101,PMPS-104

Thanks, Dale. That picture was taken in June when he could still get on the counter. His neuropathy got bad rather suddenly. He is a little better now. He doesn't wobble so much but he doesn't like to walk around much and he walks like a raccoon (back arched, legs stiff). Something hurts. Arthritis? Or something in his belly?

And Rhiannon, yes, I am doing better. I guess I just needed some reassurance and some questions answered. I feel more confident now. I am thankful for the support.

Time to shoot that 104.
 
Re: 9/10 Ozy AMPS-122,+2-160,+5-128,+6.5-101,PMPS-104

Great photo and really nice cycle today! he's giving you plenty of experience shooting low!!
 
Re: 9/10 Ozy AMPS-122,+2-160,+6.5-101,PMPS-104,+2-83

Love that video! Both amazing cats. :cool:

The 83 looks good, might slow it down a bit with LC?
 
Re: 9/10 Ozy AMPS-122,+2-160,+6.5-101,PMPS-104,+2-83

Good idea... I gave him a little food and some bacon with a drop of maple syrup... he is down to 72 at +2.5
 
Re: 9/10 Ozy AMPS-122,+2-160,+6.5-101,PMPS-104,+2-83

Doing good. You know the drill. This is much like before, only the drop isn't quite as fast.
 
Re: 9/10 Ozy AMPS-122,+2-160,+6.5-101,PMPS-104,+2-83

Well thanks for hanging around with me. Good that you reminded me to feed him a bit.... the numbers are almost identical at +2 tonight and yesterday.
 
Re: 9/10 Ozy AMPS-122,+2-160,+6.5-101,PMPS-104,+2-83,+3-60

I think so...the trick is to let him get to the reduction but not too low. Hard to know how much to feed him.
 
Re: 9/10 Ozy AMPS-122,+2-160,+6.5-101,PMPS-104,+2-83,+3-60

As soon as he gets to 49 you can feed him up and get some sleep.

Or if you can let him surf longer around 60 or so, those are really healing numbers.

I saw the video of him playing on 8/4/13 in that album. He looks really healthy and happy there. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/10 Ozy AMPS-122,+2-160,+6.5-101,PMPS-104,+2-83,+3-60

If I prop him up and keep him above 50, he won't "earn" a reduction. I wish he had a constantly running read out of his glucose, no poking involved.

He had one day, no ten minutes, when he played like that. A little catnip was involved. But he doesn't play much or move around much. He is better with his glucose lower but something still hurts him and he doesn't like to walk very much.

He is a special boy.
 
Re: 9/10 Ozy AMPS-122,+2-160,+6.5-101,PMPS-104,+2-83,+3-60

Correct just let him earn the reduction now if he wants it since he's descending gently.

He's a very special beast!
 
Re: 9/10 Ozy AMPS-122,+2-160,+6.5-101,PMPS-104,+2-83,+3-60

Yes beast is a better word. Down to 54 now. You are really kind to still be here.
 
Re: 9/10 Ozy AMPS-122,+2-160,+6.5-101,PMPS-104,+2-83,+3-60

Donaleen, I'm still lurking as well. You are doing a great job slowing him down and easing him into what we hope is a reduction.

Could I ask a favor? Could you update the subject line of your first post. You can probably remove the AM numbers, but it would be good to see the most recent PM data.
 
Re: 9/10 Ozy AMPS-122,+2-160,+6.5-101,PMPS-104,+2-83,+3-60

Sure. Will do. It's so kind of you to be here. I don't mean to keep you up. I think we will be okay. He isn't dropping fast. Pretty much holding for almost two hours now. The 60 at +3 was an hour earlier than yesterday. That gave my heart a turn but okay now.

Okay, I did. Ozy is doing great. I am going to need some sleep before real long.

donaleen
 
Re: 9/10 Ozy AMPS-122,PMPS-104,+2-83,+3-60,+4-54,+4.5-57

Looking good! I guess Ozy wants to surf here for a while. If you need to sleep, you can always add some more syrup to his food and make sure he has something to snack on should he need it.

I was up anyway getting a +5 test but now I'm off to nap myself.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top