9/10 Ollie AMPS 165 PMPS 167

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ollie(GA) & Patsy

Member Since 2011
Good morning everyone :-D :-D :-D Loads of ~O) ~O) ~O) for me today!

Yesterday got away from me...one of those days. :?

Recap 9/9
AMPS 180
+2 198
PMPS 220

Ollie's doing well today. All 5 P's in place. Today I intend to get more mid cycle tests. I want to see what he does during the day when he starts out in the blue.

I'm cat sitting this weekend for some people in my building so I'm off to the 2nd floor to see Raj and Franny....and then up to the 4th floor to see Luna. When I get back to Ollie he smells me from head to toe!

Have a great day :-D :-D
 
Re: 9/10 Ollie AMPS 165

The nerve! Of course Ollie gives you a good sniff. You've been cavorting with other kitties!

I want to encourage you to not hold on to doses for quite so long. With the protocol we use, the goal is to get Ollie into good numbers as quickly as possible. The longer a cat spends in higher numbers, the more their body adjusts to those high numbers and regards them as "normal." Now that you're seeing more blue, it's going to be doubly important to get PM spot checks -- you'll want to know if bounces are breaking so you can raise the dose and, most importantly, you want to know if numbers are dropping so you can make sure that Ollie is in safe numbers over the PM cycle.
 
Re: 9/10 Ollie AMPS 165

Thanks Sienne! My plan is to get a weekend full of tests and then work PM tests into the mix during the work week.

What amount do you think would be a good increase? I really want to do this right and I know there is wisdom and experience in your words....I respect all the help that has come to our condo and welcome it . Please guys...let me have it if you think I need to iinclude something more. I have thick skin!

I figure it is somewhere between fattening up the 5 units or going up a full 0.25 units...am I thinking along the right lines? I feel I lost a lot of time in the beginning of dx.
 
Re: 9/10 Ollie AMPS 165

If it were my cat, I'd increase by 0.25u. See how the cycle goes today but based on the protocol, the increase is by 0.25u.
 
Re: 9/10 Ollie AMPS 165, +4 93, +5 95

Surfing in a green mankini :shock: Go Ollie dancing_cat High green but still green. Will see what +6 brings :o
 
Re: 9/10 Ollie AMPS 165, +4 93, +5 95, +6 75

Wow....nice day so far.

I fed him a little LC (1/2 can FF Chicken). Major face cleaning happening after a clean bowl. Off to run a quick errand and back for a +7.
 
Re: 9/10 Ollie AMPS 165, +4 93, +5 95, +6 75

Lovely!!!! Like Sienne said....see how he does today before you decide on that dosecrease.

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: So the mankini has already started making the rounds!!! And we thought we kept that to us late night girls and Brent!
 
Re: 9/10 Ollie AMPS 165, +4 93, +5 95, +6 75, +8 88

I missed +7 by 15 minutes so I waited out for a +8 and he was 88. :mrgreen:

Yes Marjorie...green mankini has been spotted on Ollie. He certainly looks better surfing in the green instead of the pink one he wore for weeks! I hope Sienne will weigh in with her thoughts again. I'm totally confused now! My gut tells me his liver may kick in any time now. Seatbelt is buckled!
 
I wasn't comfortable increasing with such a great cycle (I'm pretty sure it was great?). nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile He had a nice curve and if he did this everyday I think I could be very happy. :-D Not holding out much hope of remission....just nice healthy cycles in healing range is fine with me. ;-)

This evening's cycle is starting out just as nice as this morning's. I plan to stay awake and get mid cycle readings. ~O) ~O) ~O) Hard to believe it's a big deal for me to stay up past midnight....oh...I am so showing my age! Limiting wine intake even though it's Saturday night. :lol: Don't need a "PWI" (poking while intoxacated)...and neither does Ollie.

Just so my thoughts are out...if I had gotten a PMPS in the high 200's...or higher, I would have been fine raising his dose 0.25 units. That bothers me because I should be looking at nadir...and I thought his nadir was great...so I should base increase on that instead of if I had gotten a higher PS. It's my beginnings in PZI that pop out...but this time am I thinking like lantus...or just a chicken?
 
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

when did you say you were having the acro/iaa tests done?

even with today's nadir of 88 you could've increased. but tomorrow is a new opportunity! basically you're either

reducing the dose because the cat went under 50 for a newly diagnosed or 40 for a long-term diabetic cat;
holding the dose because you've just changed it and are waiting out bouncing or New Dose Wonkiness, or you're
increasing the dose.

makes me think of a dance step!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top