9/10 Jubalee AMPS 221, 264/+8, PMPS 294...Dose Check???

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kadie (Juba's Mom)

Member Since 2015
Good evening everyone,

Well...For the last month Jubalee has been actually doing quite well on her 1.15 units of Levemir, until RECENTLY :(

Please check out her SS!!

I'm not exactly sure what's happened, but it looks like she's only wants to surf the yellow lagoon, so I decided to increase her to 1.5 units this evening.
I have a habit of just increasing in teeny tiny amounts, and need to remember to increase by .25 to actually see a good difference.

Any advice? Should I stick with the 1.5 units to see where it will get me, or continue with the micro 1.35 unit increase from 1.25?
 
You might want to bump yourself up if you don't get many eyes, looks a bit quiet on the board tonite and I'm no person to give dose advice, sorry..
I'm signing out now...hope Jubalee has a gentle cycle for you tonight and that your dosecrease brings her back to the beach..
Think Blue Jubalee!
 
Since you've increased to 1.5 instead of waiting 6 cycles at 1.35, I would hold the dose at 1.5, until she tells you otherwise.

How is Jubalee in general? She's gotten to the 30's and 40's on lower doses, but seems to be drifting upwards. Makes me wonder if she has a dental issue or something else going on.
 
Since you've increased to 1.5 instead of waiting 6 cycles at 1.35, I would hold the dose at 1.5, until she tells you otherwise.

How is Jubalee in general? She's gotten to the 30's and 40's on lower doses, but seems to be drifting upwards. Makes me wonder if she has a dental issue or something else going on.

Thanks for replying Wendy!
Jubalee has been acting great in general, eating normally, grooming, playing, etc.
She had a dental last February 2016, and her teeth look pretty good still.
She had a blood panel preformed in late June or early July, and everything came back decent levels, BUN was on the higher side, but not too concerning.

I'm not sure why she was doing so well on the lower dose for a while, but then stopped!

I'm hoping the 1.5 units will do something, and get her back down into at least decent blues.
 
February 2016 is quite a while ago. You say Jubalee's teeth look good, but is that your opinion or the vet's? If the vet hasn't looked at her teeth lately, it might not be a bad idea to have them checked.

Cats' insulin needs change for a variety of reasons. Some of them we never figure out. I agree with Wendy that you should continue with the 1.5 dose for at least 6 cycles, unless Jubalee tells you otherwise.
 
February 2016 is quite a while ago. You say Jubalee's teeth look good, but is that your opinion or the vet's? If the vet hasn't looked at her teeth lately, it might not be a bad idea to have them checked.

Cats' insulin needs change for a variety of reasons. Some of them we never figure out. I agree with Wendy that you should continue with the 1.5 dose for at least 6 cycles, unless Jubalee tells you otherwise.

When I had Juba's recent vet exam in either late June or early July the vet said her teeth looked good, just had some minor tarter on a few of them.

Her breath doesn't smell any different, and she is eating her food the exact same, and grooming the same. I don't notice any change with the amount of saliva either.

I may schedule a teeth cleaning for next February, if she does in fact need a teeth cleaning.

Juba has always been an extremely bouncy, very very unpredictable kitty unfortunately. This is the main reason I'm unable to find a job outside the home, and basically live a "normal " almost 30 year old life, lol.

But I love her, and that's all that matters. <3
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top