9/10 Jetta PMPS 101 +1 89 +2 98 +4 127

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jacspets

Member Since 2011
Yesterday Jetta 9/9

dancing_cat What a fantastic start for Jetta today. dancing_cat This is the first time she has ever started the day in blue! No bounces to be seen from yesterday's skydiving adventures. She was super happy this morning. Very purry, chirpy, and yodely waiting for breffis. And no pukus, so the pepcid did it's job ;-) And this bean got 6 uninterrupted hours of sleep! I haven't done that in over a month. Hoping the day continues on this lovely path and that everyone else in LL has an equally promising morning!
 
Re: 9/10 Jetta AMPS 189

That is a nice report on Jetta, and congrats on starting the day in blue. I love it when they are chirpy and happy in the mornings. Great with no more pukus, too. Enjoy the weekend.
 
Re: 9/10 Jetta AMPS 189

Hi Jacspets, I posted this answer to your question in my condo, but just in case you didn't see it -

Hi Jacpets, for some reason Maggie is really carb sensitive. Some kitties do fine on the FF turkey & giblets, but for others it seems to raise their bg. Yes, according to Janet & Binky's chart, it has three carbs. Purina some time ago changed the formula on FF,and since then the Turkey & Giblets and also the Salmon flavor seem to affect some of our kitties' bg's. Here's the link, but someone may have a more up to date. It's on the "Old Can List": The list isn't up to date. There is a new list that Jill & alex posted up in the stickies up on top page. Scroll down til you find the food charts. It's the sticky entitled:

"STICKY: LANTUS & LEVEMIR - NEW TO THE GROUP? PLEASE READ...

http://binkyspage.tripod.com/canfood.html
 
Re: 9/10 Jetta AMPS 189

Good for Jetta and so glad to hear you got some uninterrupted sleep - a month is a long time so I'm sure you're feeling on top of the world today. Really nice numbers and congrats on the reduction yesterday!
 
Re: 9/10 Jetta AMPS 189 +2 121 +4 120

Woohoo, Jetta!! You rock girl!!! Love the blue AMPS....wait for the green ones :mrgreen: Keep up the good work, Jetta.

Have a great day, Jaclyn.
 
Re: 9/10 Jetta PM DOSE???!?!!

I just did our PMPS test. She's 101. Never ever ever been that low at shoot and has a history of dropping like a stone, especially at night. What do I do> Feed and stall is my vote, but figured the experts would weigh in.

Editing to say I read the sticky on shooting and handling low numbers, and I think I'm right to skip the shoot. And really I'd be so terrified if I did, I think we're both better off to skip.
 
Re: 9/10 Jetta PMPS 101 PM DOSE???!?!!

If you stall, you DO NOT feed. Otherwise, your next several tests will reflect a food spike. It looks to me like Jetta's numbers are going up. I do think if you want to get Jetta to remission, you're going to have to get more comfortable with shooting lower numbers. a 101 isn't really low but you also need to be comfortable.

Get a test in 20 - 30 min. without feeding and if the numbers are heading up, shoot.
 
Re: 9/10 Jetta PMPS 101 PM DOSE???!?!!

Yowsa! That is very low for Jetta and she is the diving queen. I sometimes read your condo but haven't posted anything. I'm interested to see what others say since I'm not qualified.
Liz, filling in for Anne
 
Re: 9/10 Jetta PMPS 101 PM DOSE???!?!!

Well, crap. I fed her. :oops: She didn't eat much (about an ounce -FF Classic) and I've never seen her food spike ever. I guess I'll still test in a few minutes and see what you think.
 
Re: 9/10 Jetta PMPS 101 PM DOSE???!?!!

One thing to keep in mind... while, of course, ECID, when you start with lower numbers, there's generally less of a dive. Sienne is right... if the 101 is rising, it would be okay to shoot... if you're concerned, you could also feed some medium carb food at +1 if Jetta is headed downward faster than you'd like... would allow you to raise the numbers via carbs prior to onset.

We've all been there!! You'll figure out what you're most comfortable with!
 
Re: 9/10 Jetta PMPS 101 PM DOSE???!?!!

Hi Jaclyn,

I'm not qualified to give advice either, but wanted to send you and Jetta some flat-blue vibes. :YMHUG:

Hoping for good results! nailbite_smile

Michelle, Jetson and the girls
 
Re: 9/10 Jetta PMPS 101 PM DOSE???!?!!

25 minutes stall plus 1 ounce of food I gave her before I knew I wasn't supposed to=106.
 
Re: 9/10 Jetta PMPS 101 Stall=106 PM DOSE???!?!!

One saying around here - shoot low to stay low. I know ECID, however, when I shoot Zoe when she is low, she doesn't dive down.....she just kinda surfs along......you can feed her MC food to start and early in her cycle if she starts dropping. However.....you have to be comfortable. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/10 Jetta PMPS 101 Stall=106 PM DOSE???!?!!

You can continue to stall if you want. Can I tell you how much I hate stalling? Sometimes Jetta drops; sometimes she doesn't. Green is good. You can steer the curve with food. Generally, when you are shooting lower numbers, you don't get a plummet. Further, you will have some time before Lantus onset begins. In addition, like Christie pointed out, you can always use a bit of higher carb food early if you see numbers are trending down.

It's entirely up to you. At some point, though, you are going to have to start to shoot lower numbers.
 
Re: 9/10 Jetta PMPS 101 Stall=106 PM DOSE???!?!!

Am I too late now to give her a little teeny dose? Her normal shoot is 730 est. It's now almost 810.
 
Re: 9/10 Jetta PMPS 101 Stall=106 PM DOSE???!?!!

Nope.....you can shoot now....adjust dose time back tomorrow. I would shoot regular dose, because shooting late is like a reduction.
 
Re: 9/10 Jetta PMPS 101

:YMHUG: :YMHUG:


Good job, Jaclyn......you did it. I know how scary it is, believe me, I do.....and believe it or not it will get easier.
 
Re: 9/10 Jetta PMPS 101

Thanks Sherry! I'll believe it gets easier when I see it. Some parts of this have gotten easier, while other aspects are harder.

I've got 3 cans of higher carb food lined up. She's hungry now, so I'm trying to decide, giver her a little lc now, but not much so she's not too full, or go MC just to be safe..
 
Re: 9/10 Jetta PMPS 101

What a lovely day, Jaclyn and great shooting tonight.

We all have to take that first step of shooting low. It is scary but remember you have the ability to test and see where she is going and then manage the curve with food.

You'll do great!!
 
Re: 9/10 Jetta PMPS 101

Just coming in on this now...
FWIW I too feel shooting was a good move.

Everything's just lined up nicely; the numbers, the dose, your availability to monitor and manage if needed... Way to Go!
(the first step in developing BOS :lol: )
 
Re: 9/10 Jetta PMPS 101

BTW - How much time did you stall? You'll want to make note of it on the ss. I used to put it in the same cell as the PS. for example +12.75/123 shot so it's easy to see the amount of time stalled. Same thing with shooting early. You don't want to accdentally do too much early shooting.
 
Re: 9/10 Jetta PMPS 101

Thanks Sandy. I added the note to her SS. How much can I move the shoot each cycle to get back on track?

I don't know about BOS, I need a stomach of steel or maybe a stiff drink. Getting ready to get a +1..
 
Re: 9/10 Jetta PMPS 101

You can shoot 15 min. early at each shot time until you are back on schedule. Alternatively, you can shoot 30 min. early once a day.

Also, was the 101 the BG# at the time you shot? Whatever that number was, is your PMPS.
 
Re: 9/10 Jetta PMPS 101

The general rule of thumb for safety is 15 min each cycle, or 30 min once a day (at least 24 hours apart). Shooting 30 mins nearly twice in a row could sneak up on you.
Remember an early shot is like a dose increase.

Under some circumstances you can shoot an hour early, it depends on the numbers and if you are available to monitor and guide if needed.
 
Re: 9/10 Jetta PMPS 101 +1 89

Thanks Sienne and Sandy. And I fixed the SS for the actual pre-shot number.
 
Re: 9/10 Jetta PMPS 101 +1 89

good job jaclyn! i also think it was a good choice. it does seem like shooting low keeps you low - and it is part of the process. somebody yesterday said they "put on their big girl pants" and shot - i thought that was really funny!

just have confidence that you can steer her with food. you'll both do fine.

besides, you slept last night. you don't need 2 nights in a row or you might get spoiled! ;-) :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top