9/10 Jack: 219@AMPS- cycle 4 on new 6u dose

Jack & Mopem'sMom

Member Since 2020
First, I'm sorry I haven't been online. Sage was diagnosed with aggressive lymphoma and had fluid around her heart so I had to let her go. This was totally out of the blue and I still haven't properly processed it all. The herd is being aggressive towards each other now, and I'm not sure if it's because her sweet calming presence is missing, or because I'm such a mess myself...probably both, but either way, it's just emotional chaos here.

Jack had earned himself two reductions on the same day (9/8), according to SLGS, and his new dose is 6 units. He's not as low as I'd like on it, but it's only the fourth cycle (we increased at the PM shot) and he did hit blue yesterday mid-cycle, so I'm hopeful. It kind of works out that he's higher today, I have to go to Mass for my cousin who passed away a few months ago, so I'll be out of the house for a while, and even though it's really selfish, I feel better leaving while he's higher. Patience is not one of my virtues, so this is wearing on my nerves, but the blue is helping.

Pumpkin (the guy who had the total urinary blockage a few months ago) is allergic to the urinary formula and has been losing fur on his ears, scratching his face, etc. We tried the allergy prescription diet, but he refuses to even go near the plate...can't blame him, it looks and smells disgusting....worse than baby diarrhea...truly. Went back to the vet with him yesterday, he had bloodwork taken, but the allergy panel takes about 2 weeks to get results from. I had a urinalysis and regular CBC-chem done as well, so hopefully those results show he is improving. He is acting better, peeing properly, so aside from the allergies, he's 'normal'. I'm just praying the crystals and sediment are finally out of his urine. It was pretty dilute, so although I normally wouldn't say it, I'm happy with that because it means he is drinking a lot of water and that's great for flushing the bladder.

Circling back to Jack, because he is such a beast about his diet, and because he and Pumpkin need special diets, and because Pumpkin currently needs anti-histamines to eat the urinary formula, after I get teh allergy panel results, I'm going to consult a nutritionist and have them come up with a formula that will work for the entire household of cats. Everyone can eat a high moisture, low mineral, low carb diet, so that's what we will be working on. I'm just praying I can use chicken or turkey for them. I don't know if I could handle venison...those guys are seriously my outside pets. Hopefully Jack will be willing to abandon the kibble if I cook for him, and that should eventually help his numbers. His diet is really the stumbling block we deal with.

Long post, I'm sorry if you all got bored. Just wanted to give everyone an update. I'm going to try to check in with all of you later this evening. Hope your kitties are being good to you.

Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/9-7-jack-96-amps-holding-7u.281305/
 
Hi Christine, I just wanted to say that you truly are doing great for your babies. Make sure you take care of yourself so you can keep taking care of them. I'm so sorry for your loss.
 
Hi Christine, I’m so sorry about Sage. That’s so heartbreaking. It’s so hard to lose them. I’m sending you a big hug of support.
You’re such a great cat Mom and doing all the hard work for your gang.
I admire you and your love for all of them.
Take good care of yourself :bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Christine , I'm so so sorry about Sage, my heart is breaking for you.
You are such an amazing mom to all of your furbabies
I hope the nutritionist can come up with something they all can eat.
Fly high sweet Sage , you will be missed but never forgotten.cat_wings>o:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Oh Christine,
I'm so sorry about Sage. Sometimes these things happen so quickly we don't have time to process everything immediately. Make sure you take care of yourself and feel all the feels. I'm thinking of you and the rest of the gang :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Christine, I’m so sorry about Sage. That’s so heartbreaking. It’s so hard to lose them. I’m sending you a big hug of support.
You’re such a great cat Mom and doing all the hard work for your gang.
I admire you and your love for all of them.
Take good care of yourself :bighug::bighug:
Thanks so much :bighug:
 
Back
Top