? 9/10 Ivy AMPS 223, +3 158, +6 175, +9 197, Pmps 258, +3 152 Libre (oral B12 question)

Staci & Ivy

Member Since 2022
9/7/26
AMPS 223 Libre

Ivy had her 6th and "final" B12 shot this morning. The past 2 weeks went very well and she didn't need it earlier than scheduled.
Poops are good and appetite is very good (she's also still taking Mirataz full dose daily and Cerenia 8 mg daily).

One of my vets spoke with the lab at TAMU about her B12 levels (they were low last month when she had loose stools so we added B12 injections) suggested oral B12 supplements after the 6 weeks of B12 shots.
My vet is suggesting 250 mcg of methylcobalamin daily, but when I read on the IBD groups (Facebook) they seem to suggest Cobalamin B12 is a better oral supplement for GI and IBD and low B12 issues (not methylcobalamin).
B12 Supplementation – IBDKitties

I am gently questioning and challenging the vet about the methyl form question to make sure we are giving the right oral B12 going forward as we stop the shots to see if she can maintain a better B12 level😬

The vet mentioned that when I used to give Ivy methylcobalamin for her neuropathy, we were able to maintain B12 levels, they were never low, so she was absorbing it (however, I was giving a much lager dose of the Vitacost product than I should have been giving accidentally).

When I look at product reviews on Chewy, people comment positively on using both forms of B12 for IBD (and low B12 levels), so that seems interesting.
https://www.chewy.com/nutramax-coba...Vj4DeeInGFoO4EV5DOX3n0qUAqToUCgxoC61gQAvD_BwE

https://www.chewy.com/jackson-galax...ZCISrkQhj79uV9X6lofiFUXU7OFptARBoC7DgQAvD_BwE

I am perplexed and trying hard to figure out the correct supplement for her.

I am still a bit too afraid to stop the Cerenia and/or Mirataz since every time I reduced the Mirataz dose, she crashed and had loose stools (could have been due to low B12 levels though).

Sigh, research continues....

Have a safe day everyone!
😻🐈🐈‍⬛
IMG_6162.jpeg
 
I’m curious to hear from more experienced voices but we give the Nutramax Cobalequin and have had good results. If I’m honest, I’m still not sure about the pros and cons of oral vs injectable B12 or the optimal form of B12 (though I think I’ve heard the same about methyl being more for neuropathy and cyanocobalamin for IBD).

I’m so happy to hear about the good poops and even better appetite! And Miss Ivy looks as beautiful and regal as always on that chair 😻🐈
 
I’m curious to hear from more experienced voices but we give the Nutramax Cobalequin and have had good results. If I’m honest, I’m still not sure about the pros and cons of oral vs injectable B12 or the optimal form of B12 (though I think I’ve heard the same about methyl being more for neuropathy and cyanocobalamin for IBD).

I’m so happy to hear about the good poops and even better appetite! And Miss Ivy looks as beautiful and regal as always on that chair 😻🐈
Have you had her B12 tested? Curious. How long have you been using this product?

I can't figure out why the vet is pushing the methyl form.
Thanks, Connie! 💕
 
Have you had her B12 tested? Curious. How long have you been using this product?

I can't figure out why the vet is pushing the methyl form.
Thanks, Connie! 💕
We haven’t. That’s on our list of things to do. We preemptively started the B12 when we found out about her IBD from an abdominal ultrasound, and then just kept going when we saw significant improvement. Moonie would often eat random things like grass when she was feeling nauseous, throw it up, and it would kick off a cycle of nausea - pica - vomit.

For whatever reason she stopped doing this when we started B12 supplements and her bowel movements also became much more regular with better consistency.

She’s now been on this for 5 months. We’ve been reluctant to change something that’s working but I’ve always wondered if this is the best B12 supplementation for her or if I should be doing something else.
 
We haven’t. That’s on our list of things to do. We preemptively started the B12 when we found out about her IBD from an abdominal ultrasound, and then just kept going when we saw significant improvement. Moonie would often eat random things like grass when she was feeling nauseous, throw it up, and it would kick off a cycle of nausea - pica - vomit.

For whatever reason she stopped doing this when we started B12 supplements and her bowel movements also became much more regular with better consistency.

She’s now been on this for 5 months. We’ve been reluctant to change something that’s working but I’ve always wondered if this is the best B12 supplementation for her or if I should be doing something else.
At the moment it sounds like it's working well!! Paws crossed for continued success :bighug: :bighug: :bighug:
 
Im giving B12 (pet cobalamin) injections for Karamelle 250mcg once a month. We started at once a week for 6 weeks then went to once a month. I havent had her B12 retested but it was really low to start with. I also am giving Oscar B12 injections once a month now. I was doing it every 2 weeks. I havent had his tested. I just thought it might help. Hes 18 with stage 2 CKD and Pancreatitis.
I have used Cobaliquin on a cat a few years ago that had really low B12 and low Folate and that supplement has both. It brought both up to normal and this cat had severe IBD.
Ive tried the oral liquid methyl cobalamin a few years back but I dont have any data to back up whether it was helpful. It probably was. I think the cat just didnt like the taste so I stopped it.
I take liquid methyl cobalamin for myself for neuropathy. No idea if it is helping.
 
Im giving B12 (pet cobalamin) injections for Karamelle 250mcg once a month. We started at once a week for 6 weeks then went to once a month. I havent had her B12 retested but it was really low to start with. I also am giving Oscar B12 injections once a month now. I was doing it every 2 weeks. I havent had his tested. I just thought it might help. Hes 18 with stage 2 CKD and Pancreatitis.
I have used Cobaliquin on a cat a few years ago that had really low B12 and low Folate and that supplement has both. It brought both up to normal and this cat had severe IBD.
Ive tried the oral liquid methyl cobalamin a few years back but I dont have any data to back up whether it was helpful. It probably was. I think the cat just didnt like the taste so I stopped it.
I take liquid methyl cobalamin for myself for neuropathy. No idea if it is helping.
Thanks for that info Jo. It seems you've also used the cobalamin type as well. :bighug:
I guess I need to push for that form since many here have had success with it (instead of methyl form).

I will see what the vet comes back to me with probably today.
 

Thanks, Wendy,

I've read it before, do you also interpret this as Cobalamin, not the methyl?


For Oral Cobalamin Supplementation​


Daily administration of cyanocobalamin for a total of 8 to 12 weeks and re-check the serum cobalamin concentration 4 weeks after stopping supplementation. The need for continued supplementation (and if so, the dose and frequency) can be reassessed at this time.

Dose: 250 µg in cats
 
Thanks for that info Jo. It seems you've also used the cobalamin type as well. :bighug:
I guess I need to push for that form since many here have had success with it (instead of methyl form).

I will see what the vet comes back to me with probably today.
This is a good read, created for the IBD Kitties page. B12 Supplementation Its discusses both cyanocobalamin and methylcobalamin.
 
This is a good read, created for the IBD Kitties page. B12 Supplementation Its discusses both cyanocobalamin and methylcobalamin.
Thanks Jo❤️
it is a good read. It seems to support cyanocobalamin injections. It doesn’t really discuss oral supplements but perhaps it’s the same theory based on the form of B12.
 
Back
Top