Staci & Ivy
Member Since 2022
9/7/26
AMPS 223 Libre
Ivy had her 6th and "final" B12 shot this morning. The past 2 weeks went very well and she didn't need it earlier than scheduled.
Poops are good and appetite is very good (she's also still taking Mirataz full dose daily and Cerenia 8 mg daily).
One of my vets spoke with the lab at TAMU about her B12 levels (they were low last month when she had loose stools so we added B12 injections) suggested oral B12 supplements after the 6 weeks of B12 shots.
My vet is suggesting 250 mcg of methylcobalamin daily, but when I read on the IBD groups (Facebook) they seem to suggest Cobalamin B12 is a better oral supplement for GI and IBD and low B12 issues (not methylcobalamin).
B12 Supplementation – IBDKitties
I am gently questioning and challenging the vet about the methyl form question to make sure we are giving the right oral B12 going forward as we stop the shots to see if she can maintain a better B12 level
The vet mentioned that when I used to give Ivy methylcobalamin for her neuropathy, we were able to maintain B12 levels, they were never low, so she was absorbing it (however, I was giving a much lager dose of the Vitacost product than I should have been giving accidentally).
When I look at product reviews on Chewy, people comment positively on using both forms of B12 for IBD (and low B12 levels), so that seems interesting.
https://www.chewy.com/nutramax-coba...Vj4DeeInGFoO4EV5DOX3n0qUAqToUCgxoC61gQAvD_BwE
https://www.chewy.com/jackson-galax...ZCISrkQhj79uV9X6lofiFUXU7OFptARBoC7DgQAvD_BwE
I am perplexed and trying hard to figure out the correct supplement for her.
I am still a bit too afraid to stop the Cerenia and/or Mirataz since every time I reduced the Mirataz dose, she crashed and had loose stools (could have been due to low B12 levels though).
Sigh, research continues....
Have a safe day everyone!



AMPS 223 Libre
Ivy had her 6th and "final" B12 shot this morning. The past 2 weeks went very well and she didn't need it earlier than scheduled.
Poops are good and appetite is very good (she's also still taking Mirataz full dose daily and Cerenia 8 mg daily).
One of my vets spoke with the lab at TAMU about her B12 levels (they were low last month when she had loose stools so we added B12 injections) suggested oral B12 supplements after the 6 weeks of B12 shots.
My vet is suggesting 250 mcg of methylcobalamin daily, but when I read on the IBD groups (Facebook) they seem to suggest Cobalamin B12 is a better oral supplement for GI and IBD and low B12 issues (not methylcobalamin).
B12 Supplementation – IBDKitties
I am gently questioning and challenging the vet about the methyl form question to make sure we are giving the right oral B12 going forward as we stop the shots to see if she can maintain a better B12 level
The vet mentioned that when I used to give Ivy methylcobalamin for her neuropathy, we were able to maintain B12 levels, they were never low, so she was absorbing it (however, I was giving a much lager dose of the Vitacost product than I should have been giving accidentally).
When I look at product reviews on Chewy, people comment positively on using both forms of B12 for IBD (and low B12 levels), so that seems interesting.
https://www.chewy.com/nutramax-coba...Vj4DeeInGFoO4EV5DOX3n0qUAqToUCgxoC61gQAvD_BwE
https://www.chewy.com/jackson-galax...ZCISrkQhj79uV9X6lofiFUXU7OFptARBoC7DgQAvD_BwE
I am perplexed and trying hard to figure out the correct supplement for her.
I am still a bit too afraid to stop the Cerenia and/or Mirataz since every time I reduced the Mirataz dose, she crashed and had loose stools (could have been due to low B12 levels though).
Sigh, research continues....
Have a safe day everyone!