9/10 DC AMPS=275 QUESTION???

Status
Not open for further replies.

Noreen&DC&Frisky

Member Since 2010
DC was back in the pink last night. This morning he is down to yellow.
He is still eating only wet food. I'm wondering if the carb % isn't totally right on the food chart for Canada?
He is eating a different flavor of Fiskies wet food this week than what he ate on the weekend.
On the weekend he had the Seafood and the Salmon. During the week he is eating the Chicken and Chef which is supposed to be lower in carbs than what he ate on the weekend.

I need to change the time for DC's shots. I am going on holidays for 12 days, starting on September 21st.
My good friend who has looked after my cats before will be taking care of them. They will be going to her place.
They are both comfortable there. I have 2 problems, the first being DC gets his shots at 11am & 11pm,
but she will have to give the shots at 8am & 8pm.
I have 11 days to change the time, I'm just not sure what the best way to do it is.
Should I move the time back by 15 minutes each day until I am at the right time, or is it better to move it back by more on less days?
If I move his pm shot back 15 minutes each day he will be at the right time for her by September 20th.
The other problem is she doesn't know how to test BG and is very unsure about doing it. I am going to try to teach her while I am there.
I will be with her for 24 hours. If she is unable to do it, her neighbor, who has also given DC his shots before can do the BG test, but only once or twice per day.
Will that be enough? I test a minimum of three times a day.
The last time she looked after my cats, DC was on Humulin and was on the same dose for almost 2 years with no issues and I wasn't testing regularly at that time.
I'm not sure what information I should leave her with while I am away. Is there a cat sitter list any where that I could print off?
Any help is greatly appreciated.
 
Hi Noreen...I am not sure about the food charts in Canada...maybe others will know...(I am thinking/guessing that the seafood might be lower carbs?) Not sure about that unless I looked at the chart myself...

Moving his shot back 15 minutes a day sounds like a good plan...

Maybe you will have luck with teaching your friend how to do the testing....we all had to learn at one point and since DC is used to it, he will probably cooperate nicely. Good luck with that! It would be ideal if she could learn to do the testing. I know you would probably feel more at ease if you knew she was testing him.

Why not let folks know how it goes after you spend time with her and she gives testing a try. I know that most times when people go away and leave the shots to someone else, they do lower the dosage a bit to keep the kitty safe. When the time gets closer repost your question about the dose and discuss it then. by then you will know if she will be testing as much as you do and you will be able to make a good decision.

I would begin by marking the cans of HC ad explain what they are for and describe how to give just the gravy to bring up the numbers. Write down the dose you decide on and what times you need the insulin to be given. the kind of food, how much and how often...and maybe your vet's number and address just to be safe with instructions about any unforseen emergencies...
Discuss snacks and what is acceptable...stressing the low carb aspect...
not sure what else...others will add to the list I am sure...
 
Thanks for the info. DC will be about 3 hours away from his normal vet.
My friend has a good vet that she uses, so if an emergency happens, she will take DC to her vet.
I will be sending HC wet food all marked and freeze-dried treats.
Her cat, Buddy, will eat the same food that DC eats and have the same treats.
Every time we visit, Buddy follows DC and Frisky and he only eats what DC is eating.
He must think it's a treat, he won't eat his own food when my cats are there. So his food just gets put away.
Frisky on the other hand is still only eating dry food. Hopefully I have some success with him before I leave.
That would make things so much easier.
 
it would definitely be easier if they're all eating the same thing. I hope your friend can learn to test, for your peace of mind.
 
I agree that the best solution is if your friend can learn to test. That will give you the greatest peace of mind. That said...

I have a vet tech who pet sits for me. Gabby will not allow anyone except me to test her. Anyone else who tries is met first with hisses and then with growls and it goes downhill from there. I lower Gabby's dose to a safe level so I'm not completely frantic when I travel. If you look at Gabby's SS, you'll see the gray areas where there are no tests. I can't tell you how much I hate that my DPS has to shoot blind. But, there's no alternative given Gabby's personality. If your friend can't get the hang of testing, reducing DC's dose is an alternative.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top