9/10 Charlie PMPS 346+3 248+4 176+5 131+6 117+7 148+8 202

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 9/10 Charlie AMPS 434

I know what you mean. I wish I could work from home so I could spend more time with my kitties. I'd worry less about Furball that way. I'm sure Charlie will be okay. At least with that high AMPS you shouldn't have to worry about her so much.
 
Re: 9/10 Charlie AMPS 434

I hope you have a good day and Charlie enjoys her alone time today.
I'll look for that update to see how she's doing when you get home.
 
Re: 9/10 Charlie AMPS 434

Jill, Its hard to leave them alone I am sure you and Charlie miss each other. She gave you an AMPS that you wont worry about all day. She is a cat, in between snoozing and naps she will figure out some way to entertain herself then fill you in when you get home. And she will probably want to hear all about your workday too along with feeding and petting and poking. Both of you have a great day and happy reunion after work.
 
Re: 9/10 Charlie AMPS 434

It is very hard to leave them but you will get a schedule down soon. Hope your day was a good one and you have a great night!!
 
9/10 Charlie AMPS 434 +10 355 PMPS 346 +3 248

Hi guys,

Very very long day at work to make up for missed time, then had an evening appointment tonight so I wasn't able to be there for Charlie's PMPS, and I didn't get to check on her until 10 tonight. Thank God my partner took care of the PMPS shot and testing earlier today. Balance is such a good thing. I really am so thankful we are 2 people managing this. I often think how lucky I am that even though it was my cat to start with, my partner takes on full responsibility with me. It's never just my task to do the dirty work. We really are completely in this together, and for that, I am lucky. Charlie is also lucky because she's got 2 people looking after her and making sure things get done properly and on time every day.

I have a LOT of respect for those of you who handle all of this on your own. You are wonderful, tremendous human beings whose cats are lucky to have you! Since your cats can't tell you that, I will. It's true. This whole thing takes patience, commitment, diligence, care and all sorts of heart. So many of you do this each day like it's totally normal, but I tell you. There are a lot of human beings on this planet who would not take on this commitment if they knew even half of what was required. Once you get the hang of it, it's true that it's not a big deal, but still. It takes a lot out of you both emotionally and physically. It also takes the place of many other things because you have to be home so frequently (or up during the middle of the night at weird times, etc). So for all that, I think it's great what everyone on the board is doing for their little kitties. It really is.

Interestingly, when I finally got home late tonight, Charlie was hiding behind the couch. She was there from the moment I got home until I pulled her out to give her a blood test at 10pm. From the results of the test, it seems she's starting to come down from the bounce now. It also seems she's not feeling so well, as hiding behind the couch is a new routine that she picked up only since she started on insulin and usually during her bad moments when she wants to be left alone.

This gets me thinking. Sometimes I really wonder how all of this diabetes makes our kitties feel.

At times, when I watch Charlie, I feel like I've lost the sweet cat I once knew. She used to seem so happy all of the time. Now, most of the time she's either sleeping or hiding, and I hate that because it makes me worry that she may not be feeling well most of the time. Cats are such stoic animals. It really is hard to know when they are in pain and when they are just aloof or not interested in being social. Still, after 12 years of living with the same cat, you get to know their routines, and because of that, I've figured out that when Charlie hides in weird places, it's because she's not well in some way. It's just what my gut tells me. I'll never know for sure.

We keep working diligently away at this in the hopes that Charlie's numbers will one day stabilize and we'll see some semblance of our old cat back. Occasionally we'll get a little snuggle. That's reassuring because I love this girl dearly. She brings me so much happiness and she really brings so much soul to our home. She helps me unwind after a long day at work, and she makes me realize that life is so much more than working. It's also so much more than just accomplishing goals and doing more, striving for more, etc. Sometimes the happiest moments in life are found for me just in being, and I realize that when I'm at home hanging out with Charlie, I can just be.

The sad part is that it's never really the same as it used to be. Charlie's good moments are almost ALWAYS shorter than they used to be. Still, when we see glimpses of seemingly healthy moments, we see the old Charlie back, and that makes us think she's doing OK. That makes us feel better. Like all of this is worth doing.

It's nights like tonight that make me worry a bit. Three days straight of high numbers during the day, and little progress from what we can tell.

It may sound strange, but every single time we celebrate anything, I hesitate (like the happy green face I put on the board 4 days ago). The minute I celebrate any "little victory", I immediately gasp and think, "Oh wait a minute. Maybe I shouldn't celebrate just yet. The minute I do, Charlie's going to shoot back into the red zone and I'll have to start all over down this marathon road". It's hard on the emotions because it gives you so many ups and downs.

If these really are bounces that Charlie is so frequently experiencing, I'm wondering something that maybe some of you can help answer:

- If a cat's blood glucose is running high due to diabetes and a need for insulin, it's bad for her body and hard on her organs.

My question is then:

- Is it the same if a cat bounces? For example, during a bounce, the cat is "theoretically" getting enough insulin. If it's true that counter-regulatory hormones just have the effect of shooting the numbers up because the body's liver needs training, then is this also still unhealthy for the cat? The cat is still in high BG numbers so does that automatically mean it's unhealthy on the organs? Or does it not still have the same unhealthy effect if it's a false positive? Meaning, if it's just the cat's own "counter-regulatory hormones" shooting the numbers up falsely, is that more healthy? Or is it the exact same effect, and ANY time the cat's numbers are in the pink or red, it's not good on the animal's system and puts a strain on the organs?

The reason I ask this question is that over the last 4 months, Charlie's blood glucose has very often been in the high numbers no matter what dose we give her. Even if the dose we give seems right" for her system, she still shoots up into the clouds. So I must ask myself, are we doing all of this and is it having the positive effect we are looking for? Or are we doing all of this, and we're still seeing actual harmful moments on Charlie's system (since her BG is still so frequently so high)? And then I wonder, what can we be doing more to get this figured out faster?

Bit sad tonight when I consider that maybe still, Charlie's not making so much progress.

Can someone help me out in the reassurance department, while also heavily weighting the answer towards fact-based answers and telling me the "straight dope"?

Still want to learn more about this and clearly haven't got it all figured out yet.

Thanks friends,
Jill
 
Re: 9/10 Charlie AMPS 434 +10 355 PMPS 346 +3 248

I have to laugh. Just about 20 minutes after I posted that last thread, I look up from my laptop on the couch, and this is the face I see.

It's as if she's saying, "REALLY, JILL? Ye of Little Faith! Can't you SEE me sunbathing and chill-axing here? I'm GOOD."

:smile:

I love this old girl. Really, for every worry, she gives me one of these sunbathing poses and I just feel 1000 times better.
 

Attachments

  • Charlie Sunbathing Ye of Little Faith SMALL.jpg
    Charlie Sunbathing Ye of Little Faith SMALL.jpg
    27.4 KB · Views: 505
Re: 9/10 Charlie PMPS 346+3 248+4 176+5 131+6 117+7 148+8 20

Hi Jill - what a heartfelt post.... I wish I knew how to answer it all. Mannie and I have been on this journey 4.5 years - a long time. I have felt every emotion you describe. and then I get those moments like the one in your picture, and I know. Yes the boy is good, yes he feels good, and yes - it is worth it.

Eventually they even out, the bounces become less severe, things even out. In time they are the kitty they used to be, before DX. I am sure that these hard bounces are a little tough on them - all we can do is try to stay on top of what they show us, follow their led, care for them the bestt we can. I can tell that you have a special bond with Charlie - I am certain that you, and your partner, will get there. Hang in there! That photo is worth a thousand words.
 
Re: 9/10 Charlie PMPS 346+3 248+4 176+5 131+6 117+7 148+8 20

I wish I had answers, too, but I'm still learning all this stuff just like you. But I do know how you feel when you look at that cute cat and all your problems go away. Life seems a little more bearable with her around. Keep the kitty faith and love on that girl every chance you get and I feel certain you'll start having more good days with a happy, healthy Charlie (those are my wishes for you, your partner and Charlie!) ((hugs))

p.s. I LOVE that picture!!! SUCH a CUTIE PIE!
 
Re: 9/10 Charlie PMPS 346+3 248+4 176+5 131+6 117+7 148+8 20

I, too, have had the same thoughts and feelings, wondering if I'm doing right by Poopy. Having to find him under the bed, hiding under my night table, or in the back of the closet for yet another poke session, I get that guilty feeling of "am I doing this for him or for me?"

Then he jumps up on my bed, walks the length of me to headbutt my face, plops down on my chest and demands his goodnight kiss and snuggle, purring the whole time. How can we not love them? cat_pet_icon

Sometimes I think cats are just cats, solitary individuals that chose when to be social. They may not like having their wishes (alone time) interfered with, but I do believe they know we are caring for them. :smile:

Charlie is blessed to have not only you but also your partner caring for her. :-D
 
Re: 9/10 Charlie PMPS 346+3 248+4 176+5 131+6 117+7 148+8 20

Actually, I think Charlie is making a lot of progress, she just isn't where you want her to be. You are testing her and keeping her safe. I know she's doing a lot better than if you weren't treating her at all. FD is a very difficult disease, so give yourself a ton of credit for taking it on. On New Year's Eve, when Zener wasn't doing so great after a dental in mid-December, he told me "more petting and less worry". So that became my New Year's Resolution. I think cats are much more philosophical about these things. I totally agree that it sure helps to have 2 beans. I dont know how one person manages.
Liz
 
Re: 9/10 Charlie PMPS 346+3 248+4 176+5 131+6 117+7 148+8 20

Hi, Jill

What a very lovely post you wrote. Thank you. :YMHUG:

I don't have any answers for you with regards to the question that you posted. You may want to put "Question" in your subject line, and click on the question mark so that the more experienced folk can find your condo quickly to answer your question.

Having a diabetic kitty who was diagnosed over 2 years now all I can say is that when she was in the higher #s, she was very lethargic, and didn't want to interact with anyone, aside from coming to me for her next meals. Her play is gone, may or may not come back. I have noticed that once her #s started coming down, I began to see some of her old self come back... in very minute bits. Now, as she's becoming more stable, she's almost back. I don't think she'll be 100% like her old self, but she'll be close enough. She hardly groomed herself in the beginning, now she grooms much more frequently, and regularly.

You're lucky to have another person help you with testing. I do all the testing, shooting, and feeding. I have 9 cats in total, but only 1 is diabetic. My husband tried to test her 1 evening, and ended up nearly testing himself, instead. :lol: I highly doubt he'd be able to medicate her, however, I'm sure in a pinch he would. I think she'd let him. I think... :lol:

This does take a lot of time, and a lot of patience. We all have been where you're at now. I know it's frustrating as all get out, but it does work. You're going to go through a lot of trial and error... Finding the right amount of food, and the right amount of insulin to help bring those #s down. You may go through 2 or 3 or maybe 4 or 5 or more different kinds of foods to find out what works for Charlie. Some of us have done just that. I've gone through about 2 or 3 different foods before I found out that Blackie does well on no carb food instead of a low carb food. It took me a very long time to figure out her amount of food in order to manage her weight. Now, she's at a perfect weight (11.33-11.36 lbs.), and now I'm working on bringing down those slightly higher PS #s by following the protocol. It's working. You WILL get there. Hang in there, and keep asking questions.

Her #s look great this evening, too. Good job!!! I love those blue #s!!!
 
Re: 9/10 Charlie PMPS 346+3 248+4 176+5 131+6 117+7 148+8 20

After 4 yrs & 7 mths here, I can honestly say that I am blessed with the most wonderful sweet loving cat in the world that I would do anything for in the universe...I have given up many things for her, vacations, times with friends, events, dinners, and many times most would say they would never miss...
But I dont want to miss any more time away from my sweet girl, than I possibly have to, because every moment I am in her company is a moment I will always treasure..
Our time here has been difficult sometimes, our path wasnt easy, but compared to how she was when we came here all those years ago, it was like night & day...
Life is NEVER a straight line, nor are our cats' numbers, and that is a fact--FD is a difficult disease, not for the faint of heart..To be able to manage this illness, to keep some semblance of order, to have some kind of handle on it, that's what we are all after--
Your kitty may never be exactly the same as she was before she got FD, but she is going to be a new , improved version of her former self-Loving, happy, huggy, purry, Kitty you have always known..

Our journey here has been my privilege,my honor, my most difficult task, my most loving time of my life, and my Moonie means absolutely everything to me---That's why we are here-To keep them well, happy and
to have pictures like the one you just took of Charlie to have & to hold.
You are doing a great job..It will all come together...Hugs & Love from us!
 
Re: 9/10 Charlie PMPS 346+3 248+4 176+5 131+6 117+7 148+8 20

Thanks for these sweet and thoughtful messages that I read this morning when I woke up. As you can see I got hardly any sleep last night due to testing. I just wanted to see how Charlie was doing to be sure she didn't crash down in the middle of the night.

Now, it is me who will crash and burn upon arrival at work.
Coffee! I MISS you. For a complete coffee fan and fiend, 3 weeks without coffee is killing me.

Green tea, I will stick with you, but I don't know how much longer this can go on.

Have a great day everyone. Will post a thread tonight after 7pm after work.
Jill
 
Re: 9/10 Charlie PMPS 346+3 248+4 176+5 131+6 117+7 148+8 20

I broke down and had a cappucino, and WOW, was it good. ~O)
 
Re: 9/10 Charlie PMPS 346+3 248+4 176+5 131+6 117+7 148+8 20

Good for you! You deserve it!!! We all deserve it every once in a while! ~O) ~O) ~O) Blessing!
 
Re: 9/10 Charlie PMPS 346+3 248+4 176+5 131+6 117+7 148+8 20

I too have had the same concerns and questions. At first it didn't seem like what I was doing made any difference with Furball, but now I can see she feels better and her fur looks so much better. There are still days that are hard and she bounces on me, but I remind myself that it is worth it because she is much better off getting treated. If she wasn't getting treated she would feel horrible and I don't want to think about that. She is a much happier cat now so to me it is worth the difficult times. Hang in there and don't feel bad about being happy about the little things as you go along. Celebrating the little triumphs does help me get by.
 
Re: 9/10 Charlie PMPS 346+3 248+4 176+5 131+6 117+7 148+8 20

The short answer to your question is that the longer a cat spends in higher numbers, the greater the potential for organ damage. If you've read other threads where those of us who post a lot are pushing someone who's been holding a dose for too long, we're concerned about glucose toxicity. This isn't the same as bouncing but, we want to see everyone's cat in numbers that are below renal threshold as much of the time as possible. The difficulty is that bouncing is the body/liver's protective mechanism. Despite it producing less than desirable numbers, it's a sure way to know that Charlie's liver can help protect her from hypoglycemia. Unfortunately, cats bounce until they don't.

A couple of observations after 3+ years here. You need to take care of Charlie -- and you're doing a great job on that front. You also need to take care of yourself. Not ALL of your life should revolve around diabetes management. From that perspective, you probably can test less than you are. I test a lot. I would have stopped testing at your +5 or stopped earlier and set an alarm and gotten a "sleep" test. It's possible your anxiety regarding making sure Charlie is OK is communicating itself to your cat.

I don't know why Charlie is hiding so much. You're the best judge of how she's feeling. I do have concerns that your vet care doesn't seem as thorough as it is in the US. We've had a number of European members who have been frustrated with the state of veterinary care in their countries, the difficulty in getting tests that we view as routine, or medications, including Lantus, are hard to have prescribed. I don't know if there are alternatives.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top