9/10 Buster AMPS 146, +2 108, +5 113 - starting Adequan

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tara & Buster

Member Since 2012
PMPS 74
+4.5 65
AMPS 146
+2 108

Took Buster in to visit the vet this morning. I was worried the Adequan shots would have to be IM, but she said they can be Sub Q. Even though the needle looks like a whale harpoon in comparison to the insulin needle, I am comfortable giving the injections. Fingers and paws crossed it helps Bu feel like a kitten again! I didn't give the Tramadol last night or this morning and it didn't appear he did any licking - yay! Vet said to continue with the Dasuquin as well as the Adequan. Kinda seems like overkill to me but we'll see how it goes.

He was trembling at the vet, poor little thing. I expected his numbers to be higher when we got back, but he's evidently headed for the lagoon! Vet said Adequan might make his numbers higher? Seems like if he's in a bit of pain in his joints and you make that go away, his numbers should go lower. I think Rhiannon said Adequan helped Shadow bring down her numbers, so I hope that's the case (not that we have far to go). The magical spreadsheet will tell the tale...

Hope you're having a great day! Good health to you and yours!

Previous Condo
 
Re: 9/10 Buster AMPS 146, +2 108 - starting Adequan

Good luck with the Adequan! My GA civvie, Mario, was on it for almost two years, and it totally turned his world around...he still had some arthritic symtpoms, but it was still like night and day for him. We also did his shots as SubQs, and they worked just fine. I never tried the dasuquin, but Mario was on the cosequin for a while, and it didn't do much for him.

We have at least one kitty on Lantus here, (Champ, of Patty & Champ) who is on Adequan, and Patty has said that the Adequan has not had a negative affect on Champs numbers.
 
Ultimately, when it becomes more plentiful, you'll want to buy it by the vial. Drs Foster and Smith has the best price - somewhere aroudn $49 per vial, and for us, a vial lasted a good 8-9 months.
 
Good idea, Amy. We wanted to see if it helps him for starters. I will look into it if it works - thanks! Why is it so hard to get?
 
I don't know the finer details, since my kitty who was on it crossed last December, but from what I understand, the FDA shut down production of the entire manufacturing plant. To the best of my knowledge, the drug in question was a human drug, not the Adequan, but everything was put on hold. I heard that they finally started releasing Adequan again in the end of August. There was a big scare that it would be available until next year!

What loading protocol does your vet have you following? We did the following for Mario:
Twice a week for 4 weeks
Once a week for 4 weeks
Every other week for 4 weeks

After that, we dosed him when needed, which usually ranged from every 3-4 weeks. We could tell when he needed a shot...he would start "bunny hopping" down the stairs. It was a miracle for him...made his last couple years much more comfortable, and he even started running aroung the house again! He was almost 18 when he crossed...and was still playing a couple days before.
 
I think we're just doing twice a week for 4 weeks, then once a month. Maybe I should call and ask about that again. Sounds like there's more loading to do before you go once a month? My vet admitted this is her virgin voyage with this medication and a diabetic kitty. I will do some more research...
 
My vet liked to taper the dose down, and I could literally see the benefit with Mario...it was obvious when he needed a "booster". We were ultimately supposed to be once a month, too, but there were times when I could tell he was hurting, so we did shoot a week early - and I know others who did dose according to need rather than according to a tight schedule.
 
Interesting. I will have to see what happens. Buster isn't really showing a lot of discomfort. Mostly, he's hiding a bit and licking one of his arms a fair amount. Oh, and his shoulder "clicks" when he walks or sometimes when he shifts his weight. I will have to watch for subtle changes. Thank you so much for the info, Amy!!
 
Shadow is on the Adequan and has dasuquin altho' she wasn't liking it added on her food so I quit but I should add it back.
It accumulates in the system which is why they have you give it often for the first month and then once a month.
Ours was once a week for a month... and currently it's once every 3 weeks....
And I do think it helped lower our numbers. ( at least something did)

The syringes are indeed horrible.
I even went and bought a box of terumo's tuberculin syringes which were still awful harpoons... not sharp at all....
Dyana told me that she uses the insulin syringes for it ... and I started doing that too.... much easier to use... and I'm more used to those....
you just have a much long push on the plunger.... ;-)

I have read online that one needs to be careful giving it too often so you might ask your vet to look that up since she has you giving 2 shots a week....instead of one.
It's been given to dogs and horses.... but cats are newer to it, so there 's not much out there about using it with cats.
The company itself isn't endorsing it for cats yet.

I sure hope it helps Buster.
You should know in a month if it makes a difference.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top