9/10, Bell, AMPS 123, +2 52, +2.5 44, +2.75 58, +3 61, +4 62, +5 87, +6 106, PMPS 237, +2 235

Seth&Bell

Member Since 2024
Yesterday

Bell finally earned her reduction. Going to be testing again 15 min after that 44. Any advice on when to intervene with a few drops of maple syrup would be appreciated. Just as a reminder, Bell won't eat anything except the low carb fancy feast pates, but will take maple syrup in them.

AMPS - 1/4 can fancy feast
+2 1 tsp fancy feast
+2.5 1/4 can fancy feast
 
Congrats on the reduction Bell! Enjoy your three-pillow throne

upload_2024-9-10_10-5-41.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-9-10_10-5-41.png
    upload_2024-9-10_10-5-41.png
    438.2 KB · Views: 79
Congratulations on the reduction! Safe surfing Bell.:bighug:
She really doesn't like those gravy foods? I didn't think that was possible!
Poor Ivy only eats her homemade diet and doesn't get the gravies either :smuggrin:
 
Congratulations on the reduction! Safe surfing Bell.:bighug:
She really doesn't like those gravy foods? I didn't think that was possible!
Poor Ivy only eats her homemade diet and doesn't get the gravies either :smuggrin:
Oh wow Ivy is sure a particular girl :D

I admittedly haven't tried a lot of varieties of higher carb food. It was a miracle that I could transition Bell directly from her kibble to the fancy feast, which I didn't think would be possible. So we went right into the low carb stuff at the start of her diabetes diagnosis. I haven't wanted to experiment with high carb food because I didn't want to drive her numbers up. The only time I've tried is during a low BG event. I tried with the fancy feast chicken in gravy, and she refused (i think the chunks of meat through her off). She is really picky. I've been trying to get her to eat some "healthier" LC canned food and she only wants the fancy feast. I may be able to mix in some of the gravy into her normal pates to fool her, but she doesn't like the chunks. Might be worth experimenting on some of her lower days with different kinds of food, I just hate to push her numbers up!

Is a tiny bit of maple syrup in LC food different from the MC/HC stuff? Is the difference that any syrup will raise the BG quickly but also wear off quickly, where as MC/HC food last longer?
 
Oh wow Ivy is sure a particular girl :D

I admittedly haven't tried a lot of varieties of higher carb food. It was a miracle that I could transition Bell directly from her kibble to the fancy feast, which I didn't think would be possible. So we went right into the low carb stuff at the start of her diabetes diagnosis. I haven't wanted to experiment with high carb food because I didn't want to drive her numbers up. The only time I've tried is during a low BG event. I tried with the fancy feast chicken in gravy, and she refused (i think the chunks of meat through her off). She is really picky. I've been trying to get her to eat some "healthier" LC canned food and she only wants the fancy feast. I may be able to mix in some of the gravy into her normal pates to fool her, but she doesn't like the chunks. Might be worth experimenting on some of her lower days with different kinds of food, I just hate to push her numbers up!

Is a tiny bit of maple syrup in LC food different from the MC/HC stuff? Is the difference that any syrup will raise the BG quickly but also wear off quickly, where as MC/HC food last longer?
It's probably good to just test to see what foods would help spike her glucose, just in case you need it. I do believe the complex carbs (food) will last longer than the syrup.
I cook Ivy's food for her to give her the healthiest possible food. I prefer doing that to feeding commercial food (been doing it about 8 years now I think).
But, it's certainly more convenient when you can open a can and know if will bring them up if needed!
It's all very complicated :)
 
I cook Ivy's food for her to give her the healthiest possible food. I prefer doing that to feeding commercial food (been doing it about 8 years now I think).

Oh woah, you are a rockstar! Once I'm not completely overwhelmed by all of this, I might pick your brain a bit about what this entails. I'm not a meateater, so that would be... an adjustment. But I'd be willing to give it a try if Bell would actually eat it. I'm sure it is much better for her than the fancy feast she is eating, and I could for sure source it a lot better than Purina does. I'm still amazed I got her to switch. She would never touch any wet food and then when she started losing weight from the diabetes she really stopped wanting dry food and started eating the fancy feast. That is one hurdle I am so thankful I didn't have too much issues with. I know a lot of folks struggle with it.
 
Back
Top