9/10 Bailey UK advise please -is he on too much insulin?

Status
Not open for further replies.

BaileyUK

Member Since 2013
Bailey has been doing well up to 3 days ago when he started to get higher nadirs than his AMPS/PMPS test numbers.
I reduced him down yesterday from 4 units to 3.75 as his PM shot.I am concerned as the last 2 days his AMPS numbers have been for Bailey very low,could this inverted curve mean he is on too much insulin? It is difficult for me to get tests on his bg through the night,but if possible could you please take a look at his ss and give me your opinion as to what could be causing this change to his numbers ,this would be very much appreciated,many thanks Diane

forgot to say he has a vet visit last Friday and vet said he was doing well,he is happy in himself,doing his routine outside,and there has been no change to his appetite,food consumption or type of food he is eating.
 
Hi Diane - good to hear a Bailey update and that he is doing well. Inverted curves are one of those nasty things that can mean either too much insulin, or too little insulin. Or, in some cases, it just means the right amount of insulin. :roll: My Neko often does a pattern that looks like inverted curves during the day, but then she goes diving at night. She doesn't get too low, but low enough that her liver complains and she bounces during the day, clears the bounce and dives again at night.

If I look at Bailey's SS, I see a pretty yellow flat day on the 8th. Often flat yellows can mean an active cycle to follow, but there were no tests that night. If he had gone low (and a blue AMPS means he probably went lower than that during the night), then the inverted curve on the 9th AM could be a bounce.

I think I'd go back up to 4U, and try getting a few tests at night. Even a before bed test (from +2 to +4) will give some good clues as to how that dose is doing. He did get a nice green at 4U on the 7th, not too low but still in healing range so it looked like a good dose.
 
i agree - i think he looked better on 4.0u than now - it doesn't seem to me too much like an inverted curve. those are basically flat cycles, maybe even a mini-bounce. It's hard to be certain.
 
Thanks Wendy & Julie,your feedback is very much appreciated. I will set the alarm and test again around +6 or +7ish as you can see from his PM +4 of 12.5 (225) he doesn't look like he dropping low tonight,I would be very grateful if its at all possible for you take a look at the number he comes up with mid cycle,and let me know if you can see a clearer picture,and are still of the same opinion that he is not on too high a dose of insulin.Nice to hear from you both again.
Many thanks. Diane
 
Looks like you got that middle of the night test. He's not diving down into the lows so looks to me like he's not on too high a dose.

One thing you might want to thing about getting regularly at night is a +2 test. If the +2 is quite a bit lower than the PMPS test, that means you'll likely see an active cycle and those are the nights you may need to set an alarm for a later test.
 
AFter getting your pm, I took another look at Bailey's ss after you got some night cycle tests. As far as the dose goes, I guess it depends on what you want. You're not doing tight reg, so if you're satisfied with these occasional nadirs just under 100 then 3.75 is ok. he's got a lot more yellow numbers on this dose than he had on 4.0.

There don't appear to be any hidden low numbers anywhere in the past couple of days, but often when you see rising numbers, or wonky numbers, it suggests a cat is going lower at night and then bouncing during the days. I still don't think 4.0u was too much, but if you're not testing at night, it might be safer to let him run higher and stick with the 3.75u. As wendy mentioned, getting a pm+2 that is lower than his preshot would alert you to the likelihood that he might be headed into low numbers that particular night.
 
Thanks Julie & Wendy,I very much appreciate your comments.I thought we were coming out of this bouncing trend as yesterday his numbers for Bailey were good,I thought we were back on track,but today has been a flat high day again,I don't know what is going on with him,don't they like to keep us on our toes! Have put his insulin back up from 3.75 to 4 units so let's see where that takes us. Many thanks. Diane
 
they sure do like to change things up! just when you think you've got things figured out . . . ! :lol:

good luck with the 4.0. i hope it's just right.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top