Deb & Yahtzee
Member Since 2012
Hello everyone. I need some dose advice going forward.
Profile and spreadsheet are current, but here's a quick recap:
FD DX 6/15/12
Pancreatitis DX 6/22/12
Started to home test BG 8/15/12 (this was a learning process because Yahtzee was not very cooperative and getting blood was difficult)
Previously BG curves at vet every 2 weeks since DX (included on spreadsheet)
Currently 0.5 unit Lantus SID (started 1.5 units BID, increased to 2 units BID, then gradually decreased to 0.5 unit SID)
Wet food only since DX; only FF Classics for past 5 days + freeze dried chicken treats after BG tests
The past 2 days we've had a nice flat BG curve mostly in the 200s for the 12 hours post shot. The #s seem to rise into the 300s in the next 12 hours but then decrease back to high 200s PMPS. I'd really like to see the flat curve in the lower numbers though. The vet is hesitant to recommend changing the dose, but I think BID is the next step before increasing the dose. We had a green # of 85 on 8/29/12 at +7.5, which I thought was great but this scared the vet from recommending switching back to BID.
With all the info I've learned from this site and other research, I'm starting to realize the vet is being too "careful" with recommendations. I'm aiming for remission here (with lots of luck and prayers) and am fully prepared (hypo kit ready) to do whatever it takes, especially since we are in the early months of DX. I could really use some advice from the experience of LL before I increase to BID. Should I change the dosing schedule to BID and continue testing for reaction? Or do you all think the BG numbers warrant more testing before switching?
Any and all advice is MUCH appreciated!!
Profile and spreadsheet are current, but here's a quick recap:
FD DX 6/15/12
Pancreatitis DX 6/22/12
Started to home test BG 8/15/12 (this was a learning process because Yahtzee was not very cooperative and getting blood was difficult)
Previously BG curves at vet every 2 weeks since DX (included on spreadsheet)
Currently 0.5 unit Lantus SID (started 1.5 units BID, increased to 2 units BID, then gradually decreased to 0.5 unit SID)
Wet food only since DX; only FF Classics for past 5 days + freeze dried chicken treats after BG tests
The past 2 days we've had a nice flat BG curve mostly in the 200s for the 12 hours post shot. The #s seem to rise into the 300s in the next 12 hours but then decrease back to high 200s PMPS. I'd really like to see the flat curve in the lower numbers though. The vet is hesitant to recommend changing the dose, but I think BID is the next step before increasing the dose. We had a green # of 85 on 8/29/12 at +7.5, which I thought was great but this scared the vet from recommending switching back to BID.
With all the info I've learned from this site and other research, I'm starting to realize the vet is being too "careful" with recommendations. I'm aiming for remission here (with lots of luck and prayers) and am fully prepared (hypo kit ready) to do whatever it takes, especially since we are in the early months of DX. I could really use some advice from the experience of LL before I increase to BID. Should I change the dosing schedule to BID and continue testing for reaction? Or do you all think the BG numbers warrant more testing before switching?
Any and all advice is MUCH appreciated!!