9/1 Tiny Sole AMPS 170, +1 224, +2 223, +6 252, PMPS 258, +2 254, +4 159

Joanne&TinySole

Member Since 2018
Condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...238-2u-given-2-271-7-151.201908/#post-2246467

2:30 AM through the night she tested at 151
This morning 7:05 AM AMPS 170
Tiny was fed at 7:15 AM and gobbled her food right up!

I am feeling a bit nervous about the drop to the blues, but I will give her 2 U this AM in a minute.
I have to get comfortable with the blues now, and I know the greens are coming!

I'm hoping the angels here will keep their eyes on us through the long holiday weekend...please and thanks.

XOXO, Joanne & Tiny Sole
 
+2 at 9 AM was 223
I'm currently at the Vet with one of our other cats. I'll test again at +6.

Love to all.
Joanne & Tiny Sole
 
Last edited:
Condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...238-2u-given-2-271-7-151.201908/#post-2246467

2:30 AM through the night she tested at 151
This morning 7:05 AM AMPS 170
Tiny was fed at 7:15 AM and gobbled her food right up!

I am feeling a bit nervous about the drop to the blues, but I will give her 2 U this AM in a minute.
I have to get comfortable with the blues now, and I know the greens are coming!

I'm hoping the angels here will keep their eyes on us through the long holiday weekend...please and thanks.

XOXO, Joanne & Tiny Sole
I'm with you there! I keep thinking he's going too low only to realize he's normal in blue.
 
9/1 Tiny Sole AMPS 170, +1 224, +2 223, +6 252, PMPS 258, +2 254
She's holding steady still.

I'll test before bedtime, perhaps at +4 or +5, if I can stay up that late, but I don't think she'll do much dramatic dipping.
Maybe in a few more cycles.

Are there any particular SSs that I might take a look at that show a number of blue and green numbers where I can see how low the kids go and see how people managed dosing with the low numbers? Any reference links would be appreciated.

Also, is there a place here on the forum where people discuss or recommend reasonably priced supplies?

Lastly, if I'm using a BG needle, is it ok to substitute a Relion needle or other less expensive needle and still have consistent dosing?
 
She has had two rather flat yellow cycles in a row since the increase. I would get a before you go to bed test and call it a night. She is likely to move downwards tomorrow AM or PM cycle.

As far as the SS goes for dosing and steering, it is a pretty much EVID sort of thing. You have probably heard on this forum, "know thy cat" By getting data at different times, you will start to see a pattern emerge or see trends with her.

As far as dosing lower numbers, we have a saying around here, "Shoot low to stay low" Lantus is notorious for it's nice flat curve when you shoot a green number. You can look at Bubba's SS to see how he is hanging in the same green numbers on his tiny 0.1 dose.


Besides the +2 test to see if it is going to be an active cycle, another good test to get to help you be data ready is the PM +11. If your AMPS is higher, then you will be confident that you are not shooting a lower falling number especially if you need to leave the house shortly after T/F/S.

What supplies are you looking for? For Lantus, many get theirs from Mark's Marine Pharmacy in Canada. I get mine from Alan in the Supply closet. He is in TX and he has the Lantus to me within 2 days of me paying using Zelle. I have never had a problem with him. He is very nice to deal with. Mark's can take a while coming from Canada.

Syringes, use Relion, always have. If you switch from BD to Relion there will likely a difference. A lot of us use calipers to help with consistency. Even using the same syringe there will be differences with the markings on the syringe from syringe to syringe. That is where the calipers help a lot. If you think you'd be interested in using caliper, yell and I or someone will link the site to get them from. They are fairly inexpensive if I remember correctly.
 
Last edited:
+4 before bedtime is 159

I'm going to try for a +6 and a +8 or 9.
I'm also going to see if she'll eat a small snack of FF before sleep.

I'm interested in the caliper, so will appreciate a link, and thank you.
Good to know about the insulin suppliers too - grazie!
I was thinking about test strips for the AlphaTrak2 which are pretty expensive, as I'm sure most are.
I'm also considering another BG meter as a backup - suggestions welcome, or should I stick with the AlphaTrak2 since that is what I'm using already?

I will endeavor to get more PM +11s! ...makes total sense.

THANK YOU @Bobbie And Bubba
 
She is likely to move downwards tomorrow AM or PM cycle.

As far as dosing lower numbers, we have a saying around here, "Shoot low to stay low" Lantus is notorious for it's nice flat curve when you shoot a green number. You can look at Bubba's SS to see how he is hanging in the same green numbers on his tiny 0.1 dose.

I think Tiny Sole has begun to move down.
I do love Bubba's SS! All those greens, and especially the "poop" and "big poop!" notations! :smuggrin:

I'll update Tiny's SS as I go!
 
I'm interested in the caliper, so will appreciate a link,
Here you go Harbor Freight 4" digital calipers

Once you order the calipers, then go to the stickie New to the Group, Start here. Scroll down where there is a lot of informational links and go to Dosing with Caliper. Marje did a great tutorial on using them. I have to admit, I had to get DH to set them up for me as he is much more inclined to that sort of thing. He made me a cheat sheet with all the doses so I could refer to it whenever I changed dose.

As far as the strips, personally, I would switch to a human meter. The cost of the AT2 strips are crazy expensive and you are testing a lot so you don't want to break the bank. I use the Relion Prime. It is the cheapest of all the Relion Meters because it take a little bigger drop of blood than the Confirm or the Micro. The strips are $9 bucks for 50. And the meter is around 25 bucks? It pays for itself in quickly.

Also, protocol is written for human meter use. If you go the route of a human meter , your SS color coding bar will need to change since its set up for Alpha Track.

Where in PA do you live? We are outside of Doylestown.
 
Back
Top