9/1 RON AMPS 216, +6=144, PMS 122 (Advice, please)

Ronnon

Member Since 2018
Hi everyone.

Regarding to the values in the tittle and spreadsheet we need to know if we must shoot to Ron ( 0,25 insulin) because he has 122 ( in the last measure with glucometer) at 19.44 pm.

We are worried because with this value it would be possible a hypo.
We feed Ron with Barf diet. ( keep in mind, please)


Could we wait tomorrow to shoot? Or just now?

Thank you very much. :bighug:
 
Last edited:
I agree with Paula, please get a test at +2. Also, your spreadsheet indicates that you shot 0.25u but your note above says you shot 0.20u. Which is accurate?

You may want to decide on which dosing method you want to follow. There are sticky notes that describe the Tight Regulation Protocol and the Start Low Go Slow method. Picking a dosing method will give you guidelines about whether to shoot.
 
I have edited the spreadsheet with the right value of 0.20.
Test + 3 119, after test + 3 , wet food with 14% carbo.
 
Last edited:
You might want to get a text before you go to bed or +6 or +7. You want to be sure Ron is holding.

What is barf diet?
 
We have to go out an urgent trip during 3 days
With the Ron values would happen anything if we don’t shoot in 3 days?
My parents take care of him and feed him but they don’t know how to shoot insulin
Thanks
 
Hi.

Barf diet is Biologically Appropriate Raw Foods, as @Manu & Porto told us.

We used to mix the Barf with wet food.

Finally my mother will shoot Ron during 3 days, it´s easy and she has learned.
We are not going to risk without insulin.

Anyone had to leave the city some days and delegate the shoot in another people/family/friends?
 
Good news about him receiving the shots, in the end, at least you can maintain his levels and if she misses one, well, it is better to miss one than to not give him any.
I hope he eats well and doesnt cause any issues when you are gone.

There are carers for cats, cat nanny, that you can pay by day, when family can not help.
There are some in Madrid, also, although I never tried bringing one for Porto as I never really needed but in case of an emergency, it is an option. I know you are outside Madrid, in a smaller town, so maybe it would be harder to find but you can try looking for one or maybe for an extra fee they would come from Madrid?
 
Does she know how to test also so she won't be shooting without knowing the BG number? If not, please teach them to do that as well so that Ron is safe.

Bobbie is right.
She doesnt test, I have been talking to them and I dont think there is time to teach, they leave tomorrow.
Also, Ron can be a bit difficult with testing, even with his mom and dad, it costs them.
Would it be better for them to hold the injection? Or give a lower dose?
 
FWIW, Gabby would categorically not allow anyone except me to test. She threatened to take off my cat sitter's arm -- and my cat sitter was an experienced feline-only vet tech. When I travelled, I reduced Gabby's dose and the pet sitter shot without testing. If you look at my spreadsheet, the days I was traveling are typically shaded in gray.

 
Last edited:
If no testing is going to be happening while they are gone, a reduce dose is in order. I would not skip injections for 3 days as he is looking really good on this small dose. How about shooting 0.1 dose while you are gone. It is right under the zero line on the syringe.

Make sure your parents understand the symptoms of hypo and what to do for it.

Here is what 0.1 dose looks like.

upload_2018-9-3_8-27-58.png
 
Your family may have trouble shooting that small of a dose. Try the following and see if they can practice: Push really hard on the plunger of the syringe. While still putting pressure on the plunger, insert the needle into the Lantus. Release the pressure. This should give you about a drop of insulin. It's less than what Bobbie suggested. I'm just concerned that someone who is new to giving shots may have trouble drawing up a 0.1u dose. Whatever dose you decide on, I'd spend some time practicing with your mother.
 
Thank you very much for all the replies
My mother has tried to shoot Ron but his personality is a bit furious! Sometimes with her Ron is adorable but shooting time is really difficult!
So the dose is only 0,25.
Would it happen anything if my mother put in and take out the needle with 0.20 insulin inside Ron skin to be the faster possible?
Ron is a gorgeous cat but he hisses since he was a kitty when something dislike him.
 
I have been talking to them and I think there is an issue of being “lost in translation”.
They were meaning to say that the mother should dose 0,20 with the idea that she wont be able to shoot all the dose as Ron will pull or move or run. To dose a bit higher (0,20) to make sure some of it would enter under the skin.
They also couldnt understand very well what Sienne said about the drop, so I explained and told them they should pick one of those two lower doses (0,10 or the drop), stick with the one the mother finds easier to dose and try and inject every 12 hour after making sure Ron eats his food. Also to keep watch on the hypo signs and give honey in case he gets ravenous (which is how Ron acted during his previous hypo). Is that alright, Bobbie, Sienne?

Good thing its only for three days, hopefully he wont drop or rise much and stay within limits.
 
I have been talking to them and I think there is an issue of being “lost in translation”.
They were meaning to say that the mother should dose 0,20 with the idea that she wont be able to shoot all the dose as Ron will pull or move or run. To dose a bit higher (0,20) to make sure some of it would enter under the skin.
They also couldnt understand very well what Sienne said about the drop, so I explained and told them they should pick one of those two lower doses (0,10 or the drop), stick with the one the mother finds easier to dose and try and inject every 12 hour after making sure Ron eats his food. Also to keep watch on the hypo signs and give honey in case he gets ravenous (which is how Ron acted during his previous hypo). Is that alright, Bobbie, Sienne?

Good thing its only for three days, hopefully he wont drop or rise much and stay within limits.
Thanks so much Manu! I was hoping you would be able to help with translations. :bighug:
 
Back
Top