9/1 Naomi AMPS skipped dose +11 108 PMPS 120 +1 109 +2 79, +3,5 78, +4 80, +5 78, +6 97

Get another test in an hour. Is zofran helping at all? You might need to syringe feed her more until she feels better. Do you have a digital baby scale to weigh her? If not it’s something to buy. I know you are starting it 3 times a day today but has she had it before. Poor baby.
 
Get another test in an hour. Is zofran helping at all? You might need to syringe feed her more until she feels better. Do you have a digital baby scale to weigh her? If not it’s something to buy. I know you are starting it 3 times a day today but has she had it before. Poor baby.

She had it about two weeks ago, not sure if it helped it was for a couple of days if I remember well.

Yesterday she had two doses, today two doses already plus one more later. Tanya's site says 1mg twice or three times a day.

It's so frustrating not to get help from your vet. I can't believe i'm relying on sites and forums, on people at the other side of the world to get some help. And at the same time I'm grateful
 
I don’t think that’s a big enough dose. I’d try 2 mg if your vet agrees. When Max started in it I want giving enough so he needed an appetite stimulant. Once my vet increased the dose I didn’t need the appetite stimulant. Back then it was only given twice a day. They now know the duration isn’t very long. So if 3x at 1mg doesn’t help ask your vet about an increase. It’s so hard to manage CKD plus FD plus pancreatitis. :bighug:
 
Last edited:
I don’t think that’s a bug enough dose. I’d try 2 mg if your vet agrees. When Max started in it I want giving enough so he needed an appetite stimulant. Once my vet increased the dose I didn’t need the appetite stimulant. Back then it was only given twice a day. They now know the duration isn’t very long. So if 3x at 1mg doesn’t help ask your vet about an increase. It’s so hard to manage CKD plus FD plus pancreatitis. :bighug:

My vet had told me to give 2 mg once a day. Also had given her 200ml sq fluids.
Another thing she did is she asked me to give her the injectable form of vitamin B complex orally. And I did so. Then the flare started and she stopped eating. So, I don't know....

I'll try 2 mg twice a day starting tomorrow.

What about insulin? It's 120 now
 
Now we are in the PM cycle
I can stay home to monitor if u think she should have some insulin
 
Will she eat? Can you syringe if necessary? She has gone up so I would shoot if you can but you might need to be home for several hours.
 
Will she eat? Can you syringe if necessary? She has gone up so I would shoot if you can but you might need to be home for several hours.

Yes, that's not a problem

She just ate 1tbsp Sheba

Just to confirm 3.75, is that right?
 
The problem with twice a day zofran is it might only work to get her to eat about 30-45 minutes after dosing and will likely fade in a few hours.
 
It’s worth a try. Some need both cerenia and zofran but ask your vet. If okay you could try twice a day zofran and once every 24 hours cerenia. But again check with your vet. I do think 200ml fluids is a lot. Hopefully it wasn’t all at once. Check to make sure the pouch is totally gone before giving more.
 
It’s worth a try. Some need both cerenia and zofran but ask your vet. If okay you could try twice a day zofran and once every 24 hours cerenia. But again check with your vet. I do think 200ml fluids is a lot. Hopefully it wasn’t all at once. Check to make sure the pouch is totally gone before giving more.

Haven't started sq at home yet, but I will soon

Vet gave her 200 ml all at once
 
Are you adding the meds or any supplements to her food that might make her not want to eat it?

No I pop the pills in her mouth.

Zobaline, d manose, corn silk are given orally too.

Sometimes I put aluminum hydroxide in her food. Not every day because I don't know how much to give and if it interacts with Zofran and supplements. Vet had told me to give 2 caps a day. Each cap is 475 mg, but I don't give that much. When I use aluminum hydroxide that would be 1 cap maximum
 
Well, the injection works better and faster BUT IT STINGS! I gave it once to two cats and just couldn’t do it. With Max I tried. Once. I was afraid he would then run from insulin shots. If you start fluids and put it in the port I’m told it won’t sting. Or put it in the fluid pouch. Again I never tried. Call me chicken. The pills do work but at a larger dose usually. It can be dose .50-1 mg per pound I believe. Max was 17 pounds and my vet said 8 mg.
 
The binder needs to be given with every meal to work so you can open the capsule and add at each meal. If you pill it you can get empty gel caps and divide it that way. It needs to mix with the phosphorus in the food to work so must be given together.
 
The binder needs to be given with every meal to work so you can open the capsule and add at each meal. If you pill it you can get empty gel caps and divide it that way. It needs to mix with the phosphorus in the food to work so must be given together.

I mix it with her food but she won't eat all at at once which means every time she eats she will have some binder too. Is it OK with supplements and medications? Does it interact with them?
 
Can I ask sth?

I see that next to the title there's a pair of glasses. Other people don't have it. Does that mean something? Also Naomi's photo is next to Alice's photo? I watched that thread yesterday. Have I done something?
 
Yes. Is she eating? It will take about 20-45 minutes for zofran to start working.

No problem with zofran.
 
Can you syringe at least 10 cc please. Have honey and h.c Food on hand just in case. Offer her any food she likes. She must get food.
 
Can you syringe at least 10 cc please. Have honey and h. Food on hand just in case. Offer her any food she likes. She must get food.

Yes, I'll try again with something different. If I have no luck I'll syringe feed her
 
Please do. The insulin is working and she must eat. You might need to do this hourly or every half hour to keep her safe. Fidget right now about binder or any supplements. Food is more important right now.

She ate 1full tbsp sheba.
25 min after Zofran. I'll try again.
 
Update please. It’s very early in the cycle. If she continues to drop and won’t eat you will need to rub honey on her gums.
 
Thank you. It’s very important to get her to eat small amounts every hour and test hourly. I’m glad she ate on her own.

Not on her own. I spoon feed her. I grabbed one really large spoon, I don't know what u call it, we use for the soup, and put 1tbsp food mixed with water. I have to put in front of her and hold it there . She licks, then she bites, then she turns away. I have to repeat that again again so she can finally finish it
 
Haven't tried that. It's got some water in it. I'll try that and put a pad underneath
 
She loves it, she had some a few days ago, but it's bad for her kidneys, isn't it? Don't know if she would eat it now , I can buy some tomorrow
 
Some fish are high phosphorus that is true. But when insulin in on board and she's turning down food you need some go to foods she loves. If the appetite continues to be a big problem her insulin will likely need to be decreased. Her high phosphorus is one reason she feels yucky that is true. I never knew until a neighbor had kidney disease how high salmon is.
 
Some fish are high phosphorus that is true. But when insulin in on board and she's turning down food you need some go to foods she loves. If the appetite continues to be a big problem her insulin will likely need to be decreased. Her high phosphorus is one reason she feels yucky that is true. I never knew until a neighbor had kidney disease how high salmon is.

Do u think I should try with medications, or give up and give her fish?
 
Good she didn’t drop more. The site and/or my internet are sketchy. It would be great to test hourly and offer small amounts of food until past nadir. If she surfs here you can back off. I’ll keep checking back but wanted a game plan in case we can’t communicate.
 
Do u think I should try with medications, or give up and give her fish?
If the nausea medication works and you can bring down her phosphorus that would be best. You do need a few go to foods if you can find some to temp her for times like this. Remember that zofran takes about 20-45 minutes to work so space it out so it’s on board when she really needs to eat. Two times would be AMPS and PMPS. My go to foods were baby food and a few high carb ones. You could try boiling chicken and putting in a food processor or cook chicken livers. A little of that a couple times a week is good for her but not more than that.
 
I' m not going to bed until +5 or maybe +6. When I do I'll set the alarm like last night. I was up every hour. I only missed +10 and +11 I think
 
I’m hoping you won’t need to be up all night. Let’s see if we can keep her surfing and get you to bed by +5-6 and if necessary grab a +11.5. The site is super slow.
 
I’m hoping you won’t need to be up all night. Let’s see if we can keep her surfing and get you to bed by +5-6 and if necessary grab a +11.5. The site is super slow.

Do u think we could change the PMPS a bit earlier? It's 00:10 and in a little bit I'll do a +4.

My PMPS used to be 18:00, but after stalling and feeding one or two afternoons it moved almost 2hrs later.
 
You might need to with to SLGS or else just be less aggressive than TR. If you get sick you can't help Yanna. Just saying......
 
Back
Top