9/1 - KT AMPS 258 +5-320 +9-355

Status
Not open for further replies.

Squeaky and KT (GA)

Member Since 2011
Good Morning LLand! Happy September. Yesterday's mountain climb HERE

KT's AMPS was 258, shot 2.0u at 8:30am CST. We're now on day 6 with a 'no shot' hiccup on 3rd day. Please review his ssheet - should we increase?

We're suddenly having a kibble war. I've had to move the hard food bowl out of their bathroom as ShuShu has started guarding it now that hard isn't down often. The LB's are in there too so he was also keeping KT and Nuisance from the LB....we started having to go to the bathroom with them. KT's not caring for it nearly as much as he used to, he'll eat a few pieces then walk away. HOORAY!!!

THANKS!
 
Re: 9/1 - KT AMPS 258 +5-320 Dosing advice please

Looks like we're gonna climb the mountain again today....please review ssheet and provide dosing advice, good bad or ugly....on second thought, pitch 'ugly' out the window....

+5 - 320
 
Re: 9/1 - KT AMPS 258 +5-320 Dosing advice please

Is there any way you can get a spot check or two during the PM cycles? I'm wondering if KT's numbers are running lower overnight given that you're seeing yellow numbers at AMPS. Also, are you feeding the same way during the day and evening cycles?

Was the "coughing fit" that KT had the other day the first time this has happened? It might be nothing. However, cats with asthma cough. They don't wheeze the way people do.
 
Re: 9/1 - KT AMPS 258 +5-320 Dosing advice please

Sienne and Gabby said:
Is there any way you can get a spot check or two during the PM cycles? I'm wondering if KT's numbers are running lower overnight given that you're seeing yellow numbers at AMPS.
I can do +2 some nights and am going to TRY to do later ones when I can.

Also, are you feeding the same way during the day and evening cycles?
No, he eats much more often during the day. He actually SLEEPS at night most of the time. I leave out a bowl of soft food with an ice cube in it. I don't know which one of the three eat it or when but it's usually mostly gone in the morning.

Was the "coughing fit" that KT had the other day the first time this has happened? It might be nothing. However, cats with asthma cough. They don't wheeze the way people do.
It wasn't an asthma 'cough' - Civvie ShuShu has asthma so know that one too well. It was more like a combination of that cough and a hairball. It woke me from a sound sleep and had me running for one of our dogs that swallows her tongue sometimes. I thought it was her gagging then ran BACK thru the house tracing the sound, thought it was our elderly ShihTzu with throat muscle problems so was then shaking her. I FINALLY found it was KT....just outside my bedroom door. ....I don't wake up very bright... :roll:
 
Re: 9/1 - KT AMPS 258 +5-320 Dosing advice please

Whenever you can get a test in during the PM cycle would be great. Personally, I'm a big fan of the +2 test. It gives you an idea of where the cycle is going. (Your +2 should be roughly the same as your pre-shot. If it's a lot lower, you know it's likely to be an active cycle, in which case, put on a pot of coffee!)

When do you feed during the AM cycle? Are you feeding past the nadir? If so, you may want to move the food to the earlier part of the cycle. If you feed past nadir, there's less insulin available to counterbalance the effect of the food.
 
Thanks Sienne and Gabby!

I'm not sure I can tell WHEN his nadir is from the info gathered so far. He does eat more in the late afternoon from +7 forward.

I'm taking him in to see vet tomorrow - am now fairly certain he has a UTI. Only time he pees outside his LB is when he has one - I've cleaned up 2 puddles today. Not because he can't make it there, he just chooses to go in one of the puppies food bowls instead.

9+ - 355
 
in the puppies' food bowl? oh my. are you certain it's not a statement about how KT feels about the puppies? :lol:

actually punkin used to get rather frequent bladder infections. i always knew because the chosen pee spot was in the center of our bed. i love you punkin. :roll:

most of us try to get most of the food in the first 3-4 hours following the insulin, just giving something no carb like a piece of chicken for a poking treat. it might improve the numbers - you could try it and see if it makes a difference.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top