9/1 Hyde AMPS 535 PMPS 460 +3 243

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne & Hyde (GA)

Member Since 2015
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-31-hyde-amps-446-pmps-hi-2-470-4-356.143555/

feel like we are going backwards again. Will increase to 7.5u tonight.

Have vet appt on Saturday. Pulling together a packet of info (Hyde's BG since switching to Lantus on 7/20/2015, 2015 J Vet Internal Med article on DM and Acromegaly, and test info from MSU web site) for the vet to digest before we get there. Pretty sure that she is going to be the 1 in 4 that has the tumor. Not sure how I feel about that. Guess I will cross that bridge when/if we get there. :nailbiting:
 
I'm sorry Anne. That must be tough having to wait :( I hope you get some answers soon and whatever it is, it's something both you and Hyde can easily handle :) :) :) Sending vines and purrs your way :bighug:
 
Good luck with the increase. I hope it brings more blues your way soon.

While I wouldn't wish acromegaly on anyone (or IAA and I would get the test for that too), once you get the tests done we can help you put together a strategy. I found knowledge gave me power going ahead. :bighug: Just remember Hyde is the same sweet kitty, not matter the results.
 
Wendy said it all. My Polly is acro. We had the SRT. With or without the treament, knowing what you're dealing with does take away a lot of the unanswered questions. And having knowledge and developing a strategy does empower the bean.

Makes going forward with purpose easier.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Hi Anne, I just wanted to wish you the best of luck with your upcoming vet visit- I hope your vet will be supportive of you and do the acro testing with no issues. I didn't have an acro cat, but I can definitely relate to having to increase by .05 increments and not seeing good numbers, it is very discouraging. Sending vines and hugs and know that following the protocol, regardless of how the test turns out, will get you there, especially under the guidance of Wendy, Julie and Marilyn! Julie quoted a former long time member and it always stuck with me, with FD, you have to be a tank! The tank will get you where you need to go! Hang in there!
 
You'll be ok, Anne. We can see that something's going on with Hyde or she wouldn't need this much insulin. But now that we know that 1 in 4 diabetic cats is likely to have an acro tumor, that means you have a lot of company in the boat. Getting the test results gave me some peace of mind, and permission to plow on ahead with increasing the dose. This also tells you why ProZinc didn't work for Hyde - it wasn't that so much as the typical expectation that a cat "ought" to be regulated on less than a couple of units of insulin. It simply isn't true - and of course we see it a lot here. Each cat just needs as much as they need.

The quote Ruth is referring to is from Jojo, a vet tech who used to be one of the gurus of this site. She was leaving as I came on, but I saw her quoted as saying something like "be the tank. A tank always gets where it's going." It applies to any diabetic cat, of course. You just stay the course and keep moving ahead.

The good news is that she saw blue on 7.0u! That's fantastic! It does seem like keeping a cat's blood sugar as close as possible to normal numbers helps to keep the dose down in most high dose cats.

One other thing to bring up with the vet: when you get to needing a refill for your insulin, consider switching to Lev. It's ph is more neutral and Lantus' is more acidic. Punkin got up to 15.5u of Lantus and he never flinched from the shots, but many cats do react. Many high dose cats flatten out considerably on Lev. Supposedly they both last about 12ish hours, but it sure looks like Lev lasts longer. I think some of what you're seeing in Hyde is that she doesn't get a full 12 hour duration out of the Lantus. Switching to Lev might help her have better control simply because it seems like it lasts longer. Take a look here at the sticky on the insulin depot, and on there, click on the link that elaborates on the differences between Lantus and Lev. I think it helps if you understand how it works in the body. Many vets are less familiar with Levemir, but the Tight Reg Protocol specifically mentions Lev as being equivalent to Lantus. You adjust the dosing in the same way - the main difference is that some cats have a later nadir with Lev. Cats have nadirs all over the place, though, so I'm not sure that makes a difference.

Would it be helpful to see a couple of spreadsheets of high dose kitties showing the change when they switched from Lantus to Levemir?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top