9/1 Emma AMPS 337, 248@+2

Manuel

Member Since 2022
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-29-emma-pmps-238-47-3-33-67-4-20.267749/#post-2995090

Good morning, folks! Very surprised at such a high AMPS; the initial reading was in fact 349 so I re-tested. Could this be a bounce?

Last night, PMPS was 232; 153 @+2, 86 @+4. I wasn't sure whether a drop from 232 to 153 in two hours signalled an "active cycle"; I figured it's still less than 50 per hour so not that big a drop. Just in case she dropped further, I kept her snack as a hc dry food at +5. Was that a mistake? Should I have gone with the with the LC wet food, even though she was 86?

The other factor here is probably the pred, which I fed yesterday morning and usually goes into effect for two cycles. Typically I give it to her at night time EOD but we simply forgot and so gave it to her the next morning.
 
Since onset is around +2 and that bg was lower than the pmps it did signal an active cycle. She might have gone a bit lower after +4 but chances are the prednisolone raised the bg this morning.
 
Since onset is around +2 and that bg was lower than the pmps it did signal an active cycle. She might have gone a bit lower after +4 but chances are the prednisolone raised the bg this morning.
Thank you! BG is just about always lower at +2 for Emma, so I suppose she almost always has active cycles. It's only a matter of whether it's drastic or not. Recently, it hasn't been, which I guess is good.
 
Thank you! BG is just about always lower at +2 for Emma, so I suppose she almost always has active cycles. It's only a matter of whether it's drastic or not. Recently, it hasn't been, which I guess is good.
If lower it ‘might” be active but if a lot lower it’s very likely. Today is a big drop. If that continues you might want to feed a little higher lc at +1.5 to prevent the big drops which can cause bounces.
 
If lower it ‘might” be active but if a lot lower it’s very likely. Today is a big drop. If that continues you might want to feed a little higher lc at +1.5 to prevent the big drops which can cause bounces.
What I do now is:

shot-time: mostly LC wet (55% of calories) and some HC dry (16.7% of calories)
+2: HC dry (16.7%)
+5: usually LC wet (16.7%)

What I hear you saying is that I should move up the first snack a bit if I see more big early drops. No problem doing that!
 
I see that you are following SLGS which means that 86 at +4 a couple cycles ago should have earned a reduction to 0.5u. With SLGS when you get a BG test under 90 you reduce the dose by 0.25u immediately.

Dosing Methods
 
Thanks for the reminder! For some reason 86 didn't register to me as lower than 90.

A question, though, in a peculiar instance. In a week, I will have to be away for the weekend, and will have a catsitter. As such I am thinking of bringing up the amount of HC dry food a bit in the meantime, back closer to what it was (maybe 40 or 45% of calories, as opposed to 33%). It was assuredly the reduction of HC dry food that has caused the last two reductions, and that only now appears to be stabilizing. Would you still recommend a reduction to 0.50 if I will be reversing a bit on dry food? While the catsitter is here the snacks will be timed HC dry food, so 50%-50% calories.

Thanks for any thoughts.
 
I would not add more hc while away. Continue feeding as you are because she’s responding to the food changes well. Take the reduction and let’s see how she does. When do you leave? We can look again at what to do next weekend a couple days before you leave. What do you think?
 
I would not add more hc while away. Continue feeding as you are because she’s responding to the food changes well. Take the reduction and let’s see how she does. When do you leave? We can look again at what to do next weekend a couple days before you leave. What do you think?
Thank you. I'll reduce for now and keep her current diet until before I leave.

I'll be gone for 4 cycles:
PMPS (Friday)
AMPS (Saturday)
PMPS (Saturday)
AMPS (Sunday)

Right now Emma's been on 66% wet (lc) and 33% dry (hc), mainly because I try as hard as possible to feed wet at +5. The problem is that I can't count on my catsitter being able to feed wet at +5. I could get him to give all wet food at shot time, with dry food as snacks at +2 and +5. I guess I'm scared of that early drop, but maybe I shouldn't be at just 0.50U.

Also, just want to remark how generous it is for you to even think ahead and re-consider options with me in a week or so.
 
My pleasure. See what happens the next few days as she adjusts to the new dose. We can also lower the dose if necessary to .25. The depot can effect 4 or more cycles but there’s plenty of time to figure this out. Post daily until you go.
 
Back
Top