9/1 Doodle AMPS 158 +10/165 PMPS 139/126

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 9/1 Doodle AMPS 158

I'm about to give his PM dose. He is at 139. He is decreasing, it is still ok to give insulin, correct?
 
Re: 9/1 Doodle AMPS 158 +4/195 +7/216 +10/165 PMPS 139

let me go take a look at his ss - be right back.

do you have plenty of strips, high carb food, and can you monitor tonight, jenn?
 
Re: 9/1 Doodle AMPS 158 +4/195 +7/216 +10/165 PMPS 139

Yes, I have everything-strips, food, etc.
 
Re: 9/1 Doodle AMPS 158 +4/195 +7/216 +10/165 PMPS 139

how did he arrive at the 3.5u dose? I'm thinking he needs less insulin, based upon how many skipped shots he's had in the past few days.

i know you were following another protocol before - when was he diagnosed and how was the dose increased?
 
Re: 9/1 Doodle AMPS 158 +4/195 +7/216 +10/165 PMPS 139

I retested for the heck of it and 20 minutes after PMPS of 139 he is 126
 
Re: 9/1 Doodle AMPS 158 +4/195 +7/216 +10/165 PMPS 139

I knew you'd given some of his story and found this from yesterday:
So now about "Doodle". He was at the FL Humane Society for 5 years (I volunteer there when I am in FL and when I lived there). Last year he was diagnosed with diabetes. They were only giving him Lantus once a day and he was up to almost 4 units. I flew him with me up to NY this past February. I changed his food to Tiki Cat puka puka and had him on just 1u. His BG's barely get to 300. He hovers in the higher 200's but was getting some 70, 50, 90 and then those stopped and he went back up into the high 200's. I currently have him on 3.5u of lantus, twice a day and am seeing some better BG's in the low 200's and 100's. Oh and Doodle is very special because he is also FIV+

My concern is that if he was increased in too large of increments, he may be getting too large of a dose. You want a dose you can consistently give twice a day, pretty much every 12 hours.

I'm confused from his spreadsheet. Did he have 12 hours from the shot you gave last night at +37 until this morning's shot? and has it been 12 hrs since this morning's shot til now?
 
Re: 9/1 Doodle AMPS 158 +4/195 +7/216 +10/165 PMPS 139

He was diagnosed last year Feb. 2013. He was in a shelter getting insulin ONCE a day and RARELY tested. Of course the vet down there kept saying increase insulin but based on getting it once a day. I got him Feb. 2014 and he is rarely out of the 200's regardless of how much insulin he gets, however I did notice the more he gets the higher in the 200's he goes. He's been under 100 only a few times, never under 50. He was in the higher 200's 2 weeks ago and getting 3.25u I went to get a dental done and my vet said he wanted better BG's #'s before he would do the dental (it was not a necessary dental, Doodle is not uncomfortable) so I increased to 3.5u on 8/22/2014
 
Re: 9/1 Doodle AMPS 158 +4/195 +7/216 +10/165 PMPS 139

The first 3 days of the SS are confusing because I was not here and the other protocol doesn't mesh into the SS well. He got 3.5u at 10am this morning (now 12.5 hours ago) Prior to that he got insulin at 10pm last night (12 hours )before this shot he didn't have insulin until 9am on 8/30/14 which was a 37 hour difference.
 
Re: 9/1 Doodle AMPS 158 +4/195 +7/216 +10/165 PMPS 139

ok, so it sounds like you've had him on that dose for long enough - it's probably fine since you're going to be able to monitor. I'd just keep in the back of your mind that he may need less once he's getting his shots regularly every 12 hours.

i'm not worried about the preshot in the 120's-130's at all - just that 37 hr interval makes me wonder if it's too high.
 
I think it's too high. I think I missed an opportunity with him. there was a time in March he was getting just 1.75u and had a BG of 57 and was staying below 250 and another time in March getting under 100 a few times and getting a shot just once a day. I think the once daily shot messes him up?

How will I know if the 3.5u is too much?
 
was his dose increased by 0.25u or 0.5u increments, and not too often? per the protocol it would've been not more often than every 3 dyas, depending upon the nadirs you were seeing.

If the dose is too high he'll either have low numbers, or have sustained high numbers. He doesn't have sustained high numbers, but being able to sustain numbers under 200 for 37 hrs, including a 51 after 24 hrs, seems to me like it is saying that it's a little too high.

But overall, his BGs look pretty good. I'm not sure what to suggest. I'm thinking you could either stay with this dose and just monitor - if he goes low, you know how to raise his BGs. Or you could reduce the dose a little bit, maybe to 3u, and see how he does with that.

what do you want to do? We could have some others take a look too, but i know you want to shoot now.
 
I shot the 3.5u.

His dose was increased by by .25u each time but after much more than 3 days. He was usually at the same dose for weeks, however depending on what the BG was at the time of the shot he either got 3.25u or 3.5u. So it was not necessarily the same dose each shot time.
 
Ok that sounds reasonable then. It could be a good dose.

By the way, its going to be clearest if you always put the preshot number in the preshot column next to dose, then make notes about timing in the comments section.
 
Re: 9/1 Doodle AMPS 158 PMPS 139/126 +4/48 +5/49

Did he qualify for a dose reduction with the +4 of 48?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top