Adrian and Chino
Member Since 2016
Last post: 8/28
Day 14 on cabergoline. Still not seeing an improvement. To taper him off of it, my plan is to reduce the dose by half on day 26, give that for 5 consecutive days, then give a dose every other day over the next 10 days. (I'll run that by the vet before implementing it to make sure it's reasonable.)
We went up to 14 units this morning. There's enough Lantus left for the next 20.5 days if 14 units turns out to be an effective dose. I have 1 unopened Lantus pen left, but the Levemir is supposed to arrive today. The vet suggested to start with 11-13 units, but I'm going to go with the advice I've seen here to start with 70% of the Lantus dose.
I'm also going to try to hold off on giving R unless his BG is over 400. I don't want to risk keeping him at an ineffective dose that appears to be effective because the use of R lets him reach a lower nadir than he would've reached without it.
Day 14 on cabergoline. Still not seeing an improvement. To taper him off of it, my plan is to reduce the dose by half on day 26, give that for 5 consecutive days, then give a dose every other day over the next 10 days. (I'll run that by the vet before implementing it to make sure it's reasonable.)
We went up to 14 units this morning. There's enough Lantus left for the next 20.5 days if 14 units turns out to be an effective dose. I have 1 unopened Lantus pen left, but the Levemir is supposed to arrive today. The vet suggested to start with 11-13 units, but I'm going to go with the advice I've seen here to start with 70% of the Lantus dose.
I'm also going to try to hold off on giving R unless his BG is over 400. I don't want to risk keeping him at an ineffective dose that appears to be effective because the use of R lets him reach a lower nadir than he would've reached without it.
Last edited:
