9/1 Chino|AMPS=270|bounce|PMPS=358|+2=355|+4=312

Status
Not open for further replies.

Adrian and Chino

Member Since 2016
Last post: 8/28

Day 14 on cabergoline. Still not seeing an improvement. To taper him off of it, my plan is to reduce the dose by half on day 26, give that for 5 consecutive days, then give a dose every other day over the next 10 days. (I'll run that by the vet before implementing it to make sure it's reasonable.)

We went up to 14 units this morning. There's enough Lantus left for the next 20.5 days if 14 units turns out to be an effective dose. I have 1 unopened Lantus pen left, but the Levemir is supposed to arrive today. The vet suggested to start with 11-13 units, but I'm going to go with the advice I've seen here to start with 70% of the Lantus dose.

I'm also going to try to hold off on giving R unless his BG is over 400. I don't want to risk keeping him at an ineffective dose that appears to be effective because the use of R lets him reach a lower nadir than he would've reached without it.
 
Last edited:
Out of curiosity is there a protocol on how many days you are to wait to see if the Carbergoline has any effects before weening off? Did Chino have any known side effects?
I hope you see some improvement with Levemir.
 
No. It's anyone's guess how long it might take to see results, and if I start to see lower readings that can't be explained by dose increases before the 26th day, I'll definitely continue with it. But I'm not expecting much at this point. I knew from the start that the majority of cats who tried this (either in the official trial or here on FDMB) did not show improvement.
 
No. It's anyone's guess how long it might take to see results, and if I start to see lower readings that can't be explained by dose increases before the 26th day, I'll definitely continue with it. But I'm not expecting much at this point. I knew from the start that the majority of cats who tried this (either in the official trial or here on FDMB) did not show improvement.
I'm with you I have very little expectations so that I'm not disappointed if it does nada. We try because there is always that chance and Chino has only been on for 13 days so Beenie and I are still rooting for you:bighug:
 
Darn!!! I was hoping that you would see results by now! Tiffany has had a few rough weeks with a UTI and a URI, so everything is on hold until she is completely feeling better. Her BG numbers have been in the blues and yellows (sometimes green) at 14 U, so not sure I want to do the Cabergoline just yet, but watching you closely. No side effects for Chino?

Still keeping our paws and fingers crossed for you guys.
 
Don't give up on cabergoline just yet. Remember, this is the endocrine or hormone system we are talking about. As in diabetes, you can't expect immediate results.

Work it Chino!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top